Join our Mailing List

"On my part, I remain committed to the process of dialogue. It is my firm belief that dialogue and a willingness to look with honesty and clarity at the reality of Tibet can lead us to a viable solution."

Election Commission of the Central Tibetan Admin declared results of the first round

November 15, 2010

Punjab Newsline       
By Arvind Sharma
12 November 2010
DHARAMSALA: The Election Commission of the Central Tibetan Administration today declared the results of the first round of general election of the 15th Tibetan Parliament-in-Exile and the 3rd election ofPrime Minister of Tibetan government in exile (Kalon Tripa). 
Lobsang Senge of USA leading in the 1st round of PM election with a total of 22489 votes, he is well followed by Tethong Tenzin Namgyal also residing in USA with 12319 votes. The deputy chairperson of the present Tibetan parliament ms Gyari dolma has been sliped to 3rd place with just 2733 votes. Dolma is the only women candidate left for the final round of voting scheduled on 20 March 2011. the other three candidates for the Tibetan PM seat are Tashi Wangadi (Europe) 2101 votes, Lobsang Jinpa (USA) 1545 votes and Khorlatsang Sonam Topgyal (Massoori) 605 votes in 1st round
Chief Election Commissioner Jampel Choesang and two other additional election commissioners of Tibetan government said in Dharamsala Today that as per Article 49 enshrined in the Election Regulation, the Election Commission has short listed a list of 50 candidates each from the three traditional provinces of Tibet and 10 candidates each from the four schools of Tibetan Buddhism and Bon religion, North America and Europe as the final candidates of MP’s elections for the 15th Tibetan Parliament-in-Exile.
In accordance with Article 67 in the Election Regulation, a total of 6 candidates are short listed for the final round of Prime Minister (Kalon Tripa) election.
The final round of election is scheduled on 20 March 2011. Commissioner Jampel Choesang said that In view of the many eligible voters who have failed to register, the election commission has announced fresh date of registration from 30 November 2010 to 17 January 2011.  The list of voter registration should reach the Office of Election Commission in Dharamsala on 24 January 2011,he said
Speaking of the election process in Nepal, Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Jampel Choesang said more than 1,000 votes were wasted on account of 18 ballot boxes seized by the Nepalese police at polling booths in two areas in Kathmandu.
The CEC said the Bhutanese government had ordered the Tibetan authorities not to send the voting lists and ballot papers to the election commission in Dharamsala. All 613 votes cast in Bhutan were wasted, he said.
CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665
Developed by plank