Join our Mailing List

"We Tibetans are looking for a legitimate and meaningful autonomy, an arrangement that would enable Tibetans to live within the framework of the People’s Republic of China."

Indian president honors Tibetan school teachers

September 20, 2007

Tuesday, 18 September 2007

Indian president Mrs Pratibha Patil presents the national award to Mr
Norlha Tsering, primary school teacher of Central School for Tibetans,
CVP Bylakuppe, Karnataka on 5 September in New Delhi
Dharamshala:Two teachers of the Central Tibetan Schools' Administration
(CTSA) were bestowed with the "2006 National Award to Teachers", by Mrs
Pratibha Patil, President of India, at a ceremony held in New Delhi on 5

Mr Norlha Tsering, a primary teacher of the Central School for Tibetans,
CVP Bylakuppe in Karnataka, and Mr. D.S. Bisht, woodcraft teacher of CST
Herbertpur in Uttarakhand were the recipients of prestigious national
award along with 314 teachers from across India.

The award carried a cash prize of Rs 25,000, a silver medal, and a
certificate of merit.

The national award, instituted in 1958 is celebrated in India as
teachers' day on 5 September, in honor of late Dr S. Radhakrishnan,
former president of India, and a great teacher and philosopher.

The CTSA teachers were included among other recipients of the award
since 2004, and two teachers of the CTSA are nominated for the award
every year.

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665
Developed by plank