Join our Mailing List

"As long as human rights are violated, there can be no foundation for peace. How can peace grow where speaking the truth is itself a crime?"

16th Tibetan parliament-in-exile sworn in at ceremony in Dharamsala

May 30, 2016

Central Tibetan Administration, May 30, 2016 - The newly elected members of the 16th Tibetan Parliament-in-Exile were sworn in at a ceremony held at the Parliament House today. The interim speaker, Mr Pema Jungney administered the oath to 44 MPs. The total strength of the parliament is 45. Prior to the swearing-in ceremony of the MPs, the interim speaker took oath from the Chief Justice Commissioner Mr Kargyu Dhondup.

The 45-member Tibetan Parliament is composed of 10 members each from the three traditional provinces of Tibet; two each from the five religious constituencies, two each from the Tibetan communities in North America and Europe and one from the Tibetan community in Australasia (excluding India, Nepal and Bhutan).

The full list of MPs can be viewed here: 

The new Tibetan cabinet (Kashag) will be announced on Wednesday, June 1, 2016.

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665
Developed by plank