Join our Mailing List

"As long as human rights are violated, there can be no foundation for peace. How can peace grow where speaking the truth is itself a crime?"

OTTAWA EVENT: Parliamentary Roundtable on Canadian strategies for Tibet (April 22, 2015)


Parliamentary roundtable will propose Canadian strategies for Tibet

Montreal - A special roundtable discussion entitled "Building Momentum for Tibet" will take place in Ottawa on Parliament Hill, April 22, 2015. The event marks the annual day of action organized by Tibet groups in Canada in collaboration with the Canadian Parliamentary Friends of Tibet.

The roundtable will be held in Room 362, East Block from 12:30-14:00.

Guest speakers include Mr. Tashi Wangdi, until recently a member of the Taskforce on Sino-Tibet Negotiations, Mr. Matteo Mecacci, President of Washington-based International Campaign for Tibet, and Mr. Alex Neve, Secretary General of Amnesty International Canada.   Speakers will offer insight into Chinese policy in Tibet as well as information about current Tibet initiatives in parliaments around the world.  Speakers will also provide analysis of China's latest "white paper on Tibet" released April 14, 2015.[1]

"The Canada-China relationship is an important one for this country." said Hon. Consiglio DiNino, former Senator and now Chair of the Canada Tibet Committee. "It is filled with economic opportunities but it also challenges our national commitment to human rights and democratic principles.  Nowhere is this dilemma more evident than in present-day Tibet."

This event is organized by the Canada Tibet Committee in collaboration with the Canadian Tibet Association of Ontario, Tibetan Women’s Association, Canadian Friends of Tibet, and Tibetan Cultural Association of Quebec.

More information:  Carole Samdup (514) 512-4665

[1] Full text of China's white paper is found here: http://news.xinhuanet.com/english/china/2015-04/15/c_134152612.htm

The Central Tibetan Administration response is found here: http://tibet.net/2015/04/15/chinas-white-paper-whitewashes-the-tragic-reality-in-tibet/






Upcoming Events

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Je reste attaché au dialogue. Je suis en effet fermement convaincu que le dialogue et la volonté d’examiner clairement et honnêtement la réalité du Tibet peuvent nous conduire à une solution viable. »

OTTAWA ÉVÈNEMENT: Table ronde sur les stratégies canadiennes pour le Tibet


Évènement table ronde sur les stratégies canadiennes pour le Tibet 

Montréal - Une discussion table ronde spéciale, intitulée Dynamiser le soutien au Tibet au sein du Parlement, aura lieu à Ottawa sur la Colline parlementaire, le 22 avril 2015.  L'évènement marque la journée annuelle d'action organisée par des groupes canadiens de soutien au Tibet en collaboraion avec le groupe des Amis parlementaires du Tibet.

La table ronde se tiendra au Bloc est, Chambre 362, de 12h30 à 14h00. 

Les invites incluent Mr. Tashi Wangdi, membre (jusqu’à récemment) de la Mission de négociations sino-tibétaines, Mr. Matteo Mecacci, Président de l’organisation International Campaign for Tibet, basée à Washington et Mr. Alex Neve, Secrétaire général d’Amnesty International Canada.  Les invités présenteront les politiques chinoises au Tibet ainsi que des initiatives parlementaires de partout au monde. Ils feront aussi l’analyse du livre blanc que la Chine a publié le 14 avril 2015 [1].

"La relation entre le Canada et la Chine est très importante pour ce pays" a affirmé l’Hon. Consiglio DiNino, ancient Sénateur et Président du Comité Canada Tibet. "Cette relation est riche en opportunités économiques mais en même temps elle met au défi notre engagement national envers les droits humains et les principes démocratiques. Il n’y a aucun autre cas où ce dilème soit aussi evident qu’au Tibet."

L’évènement est organisé par le Comité Canada Tibet en collaboration avec l’Association canadienne tibétaine de l’Ontario, l’Association des femmes tibétaines, Les Amis canadiens du Tibet et l’Association culturelle tibétaine du Québec.

Pour plus d’informations svp contactez:  Carole Samdup (514) 512-4665

[1] Le texte complet du livre blanc est disponible (anglais) à l’adresse: http://news.xinhuanet.com/english/china/2015-04/15/c_134152612.htm

La réponse de l’Administration centrale tibétaine est disponible (anglais) à l’adresse: http://tibet.net/2015/04/15/chinas-white-paper-whitewashes-the-tragic-reality-in-tibet/

 







Événements à venir

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank