Join our Mailing List

"On my part, I remain committed to the process of dialogue. It is my firm belief that dialogue and a willingness to look with honesty and clarity at the reality of Tibet can lead us to a viable solution."

Montreal events: TALK TIBET - film & culture

February 2017

ARTS IN EXILE: TIBETAN TREASURES IN SMALL TOWN AMERICA

Tuesday, February 21 (5:30-7:30pm).

Maison Jeanne Sauvé, 1514 avenue Docteur-Penfield, Montreal.

Free/registration required.  English

On International Mother Language Day, join us at the Jeanne Sauvé Foundation for a screening of Arts in Exile: Tibetan Treasures in Small Town America (2016), a film that explores the ability of arts and culture to unify communities across the world. The film uses the story of Tenzin and Yangchen Dorjee as a lens to explore the way Tibetans use the arts to keep their culture alive.

The film will be followed by Q&A session with guest speakers Yangchen Dorjee, Founder, Tibetan Arts Festival, and Thubten Samdup, former Director of the Tibetan Institute of Performing Arts.

To register for this event, click here.


TIBET, ITS CULTURE AND HISTORY

Thursday February 23 (6:00-8:00).

Coop Le Milieu, 1251 Robin St, Montreal

Free, bilingual

Tibet, its culture and history, social and political interests you?  Come learn more during this round table discussion where representatives from the Canada Tibet Committee and the Tibetan community in Montreal will speak from the heart of Tibet’s struggles and share their knowledge with you.

*This activity is being held as part of the "Indigenous Knowledge Sharing (IKS) project" which highlights 1st Nations and Tibetan language, food, spirituality, culture and the arts in Montreal. The project is in two parts and begins with monthly activities presented by an open studio cafe, Coop Le Milieu from Jan. 2016 to May 2017 and culminates in a three day event in June 2017.

Guests include:

Sangye Dhundup - Sangye was born and raised in the Nagchu Prefecture of the Tibet Autonomous Region of China of Amdo, Xizang, China. Amdo County is a county within the Nagchu Prefecture of the Tibet Autonomous Region of China. He studies at the College for Higher Tibetan Studies, Sarah School in Dharmshala, India. Sangye recently immigrated to Montreal one year ago and escaped from Tibet 17 years ago.

Thubten Samdup -
https://tsamtruk.wordpress.com/2014/09/01/an-unsung-heros-mission-for-tibet-an-interview-with-thubten-samdup/

Carole Samdup -
https://www.linkedin.com/in/carole-samdup-4b722917

Facilitator - Jimmy Ung has traveled in close to 30 countries and worked for the Canadian Commission for UNESCO, the Canadian Parliament, as well as for international charity Free The Children. His interests span over areas such as culture, education, community and civic engagement and the impacts of new technologies on them.






Upcoming Events

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Compassion et tolérance ne sont pas des signes de faiblesse mais de force. »

Évènements Montréal: PARLONS TIBET - arts et culture

Fevrier 2017

VISIONNEMENT DU LONG MÉTRAGE DOCUMENTAIRE “ARTS IN EXILE: TIBETAN TREASURES IN SMALL TOWN AMERICA

Le mardi 21 février, 17h30 à 19h30

Maison Jeanne Sauvé, 1514 avenue Docteur-Penfield, Montréal

Gratuit, anglais

À l’occasion de la Journée internationale de la langue maternelle, nous vous invitons au visionnement du long métrage documentaire « Arts in Exile : Tibetan Treasures in Small Town America » (2016), un film qui explore la capacité qu’ont les arts et la culture pour unifier les communautés à travers le monde, à partir du Tibet jusque dans une petite ville de l’État de New York. Ce documentaire met l’accent sur l’histoire de Tenzin et Yangchen Dorjee, deux Tibétains qui vivent aujourd’hui aux États-Unis et qui préservent leur culture grâce à l’art.

Ce film sera suivi d’une période de questions-réponses avec Yangchen Dorjee, fondatrice du Festival des arts Tibétains, et Thubten Samdup, ancien représentant de Sa Sainteté le Dalaï Lama.

Pour vous inscrire, cliquez ici.


LE TIBET, SA CULTURE ET SON HISTOIRE

Jeudi 23 février 2017, 18h00-20h00

Coop Le Milieu, 1251 Robin.

Gratuit // Événement billingue

Le Tibet, sa culture et son histoire, sociale et politique vous intéresse?  Venez en apprendre davantage lors de cette table ronde où des représentants d'organismes de la communauté tibétaine de Montréal et le Comité Canada Tibet (CCT) parleront du cœur des luttes tibétaines et partagerons leurs connaissances.

*Cette activité a lieu dans le cadre du projet de "Partage des connaissances indigènes" qui met en scène les langues, la cuisine, la spiritualité, la culture et les arts des Premières Nations et du Tibet, dans le quartier centre-sud de Montréal. Le projet débute avec les activités mensuelles présentées par le café studio ouvert de la Coop Le Milieu, de janvier 2016 à mai 2017; et se terminant par un évènement de trois jours en juin 2017.

INVITÉS:

Sangye Dhundup - Sangye est né et a grandi dans la préfecture de Nagchu de la région autonome du Tibet de la Chine d'Amdo, Xizang, Chine. Amdo est un comté au sein de la préfecture de Nagchu de la région autonome du Tibet de la Chine. Il fait ses études au College for Higher Tibetan Studies de l'école Sarah à Dharmshala, en Inde. Sangye a récemment immigré à Montréal depuis un an et s'est échappé du Tibet il y a 17 ans.

Thubten Samdup -
https://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thubten_Samdup

Carole Samdup -
https://www.linkedin.com/in/carole-samdup-4b722917

Facilitateur - Jimmy Ung a voyagé dans plus de 30 pays et travaillé pour la Commission canadienne pour l’UNESCO, le Parlement du Canada ainsi que l’organisation caritative Enfants Entraide. Il s'intéresse au confluent de la culture, de l'éducation et de l’engagement communautaire et civique ainsi que de l'impact des nouvelles technologies sur ces derniers.







Événements à venir

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank