Join our Mailing List

"As long as human rights are violated, there can be no foundation for peace. How can peace grow where speaking the truth is itself a crime?"

Religious Freedom

Religious persecution in Tibet is not simply a matter of ethnic or religious conflict or even of discrimination by a majority against its minorities. Religious persecution in Tibet is a politically motivated and consciously constructed policy implemented with the idea that it might be possible to obliterate the distinctive characteristics of Tibetan culture and civilization in order to absorb Tibet into China.

What you can do to promote religious freedom in Tibet

The Canada Tibet Committee is directing its appeals for support to the Government of Canada’s Office of Religious Freedom, the UN Special Rapporteur on Freedom of Religion, and to various faith communities in Canada.

The Canada Tibet Committee will keep you informed about events in Tibet via its website, facebook pages, and twitter feed. When religious freedom is at risk in Tibet, please join our appeals for international support by taking the following actions:

  • Write letters of concern and outrage to your local newspapers;
  • Meet with your Member of Parliament and ask that s/he express concern directly to Canada’s Minister of Foreign Affairs;
  • Reach out to your faith community and request its public support.

What are the issues?

  1. Denigration of His Holiness the Dalai Lama;
  2. Interference in the transmission of religious learning and selection of religious leaders;
  3. Regulatory restrictions on the management of monastic institutions;
  4. Refusal to cooperate with any international mechanism.

What are the solutions?

Canada’s Office of Religious Freedom should make public statements about denial of religious freedoms in Tibet. The Office should make efforts to accurately document violations of religious freedom in Tibet and raise concerns whenever it meets with Chinese counterparts. The Office should promote interfaith dialogue between Tibetan Buddhist leaders and the leaders of various faith communities in Canada. In collaboration with Canadian Mission in Geneva, the Office should monitor China’s compliance with outcome commitment made by China during its 2013 Universal Periodic Review (UPR).

The UN Special Rapporteur on the Freedom of Religion should press China for immediate approval of a country mission as per his longstanding request. The Rapporteur’s mission must include a site visit to Tibet to investigate reports about the denial of religious freedom including the activities of Management Control Committees in religious institutions. The Rapporteur should ascertain the safety and well-being of the 12th Panchen Lama, Gendhun Choekey Nyima, who has been held by Chinese authorities since May 1995.

Faith Communities in Canada should invite representatives of the Canada Tibet Committee or Tibetan community associations to give presentations to their members about the denial of religious freedom in Tibet. Whenever possible, faith communities in Canada should make public statements in support of religious freedom in Tibet. Faith communities should launch solidarity campaigns in defence of religious leaders in Tibet who have been imprisoned or otherwise harmed because of their religious beliefs.

Resources

More information

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Le Canada peut, dans une atmosphère cordiale et constructive, demander au gouvernement chinois de résoudre la situation du Tibet. »

Liberté de la religion

La persécution religieuse au Tibet n’est pas simplement une question de conflit ethnique ou religieux ni même de discrimination d’une majorité vis-à-vis des minorités. La persécution religieuse au Tibet a des fondements politiques et vise sciemment à effacer les traits distinctifs de la culture et de la civilisation tibétaines pour permettre l’absorption du Tibet par la Chine.

Timeline_Tibet.jpg

Ce que vous pouvez faire pour promouvoir la liberté religieuse au Tibet

Le Comité Canada Tibet adresse ses demandes de soutien au Bureau de la liberté de religion du Canada au Rapporteur spécial des Nations unies sur la liberté de religion et à diverses communautés religieuses au Canada.

Le CCT vous tient au courant des événements survenant au Tibet par l’intermédiaire de son site web, de ses pages facebook et de son fil twitter. Lorsque la liberté religieuse est en péril au Tibet, vous pouvez nous aider en vous joignant aux appels que nous lançons en vue d’obtenir un soutien international. Pour ce faire, vous pouvez :

  • Envoyer des lettres faisant part de vos préoccupations et de votre indignation à vos journaux locaux;

  • Rencontrer des membres du Parlement et leur demander d’exprimer directement leurs inquiétudes au ministre des Affaires étrangères du Canada;
  • Vous adresser à votre communauté religieuse et demander qu’elle apporte publiquement son soutien.

Quels sont les enjeux?

  1. Dénigrement de Sa Sainteté le Dalaï Lama;

  2. Interférence dans la transmission de l’enseignement religieux et choix des chefs religieux;

  3. Restrictions réglementaires portant sur la gestion des institutions monastiques;

  4. Refus de coopérer avec quelque mécanisme international que ce soit.

Quelles sont les solutions?

Le Bureau de la liberté de religion du Canada devrait faire des déclarations publiques sur le déni de liberté religieuse au Tibet. Il devrait s’efforcer de documenter avec précision les violations de la liberté religieuse au Tibet et faire part de ses préoccupations lors de rencontres avec ses homologues chinois. Il devrait promouvoir le dialogue interconfessionnel entre les chefs spirituels bouddhistes tibétains et ceux des diverses communautés religieuses au Canada. De concert avec la Mission permanente du Canada à Genève, le Bureau devrait s’assurer que la Chine se conforme à l’engagement qu’elle a pris en 2013 dans le cadre de l’Examen périodique universel (EPU).

Le Rapporteur spécial de l’ONU sur la liberté de religion devrait faire pression sur la Chine pour qu’elle approuve immédiatement une mission de pays, comme il le demande depuis longtemps. La mission du Rapporteur doit inclure une visite sur place au Tibet pour enquêter sur les rapports dénonçant le déni de liberté religieuse, notamment les activités des comités de contrôle de gestion dans les institutions religieuses. Le Rapporteur doit s’assurer de la sécurité et du bien-être du 12e Panchen Lama, Gendhun Choekey Nyima, détenu par les autorités chinoises depuis mai 1995.

Les communautés religieuses au Canada devraient inviter des représentants du CCT ou des associations de la communautaire tibétaine à s’exprimer sur le déni de liberté religieuse au Tibet et, dans la mesure du possible, faire des déclarations publiques soutenant la liberté religieuse au Tibet. Elles devraient lancer des campagnes de solidarité visant à défendre les chefs religieux au Tibet qui sont emprisonnés ou auxquels il est porté atteinte de quelque autre manière en raison de leurs croyances religieuses.

Ressources

Affiche: Liberté religieuse au Tibet

Comment rédiger une pétition destinée au Parlement (http://www.parl.gc.ca/marleaumontpetit/DocumentViewer.aspx?Sec=Ch22&Seq=3&Language=F)

China’s 2nd cycle Universal Periodic Review: Recommendations for the Government of Canada, (http://tibet.ca/_static/ctc_submission_to_DFATD.UPR_2013.pdf ) Comité Canada Tibet, 2013 (en anglais)

Répression du bouddhisme tibétain par la Chine, Fédérationinternationale des droits humains (FIDH) et Campagne internationale pour le Tibet, 2013 (http://www.savetibet.fr/2013/10/les-autorites-doivent-mettre-un-terme-a-leur-repression-sur-le-bouddhisme-tibetain/#atop )

Comité Canada Tibet appeals for government action to secure release of Tibet’s Panchen Lama, (http://tibet.ca/en/newsroom/news_releases/329 ) Comité Canada Tibet, 2012 (en anglais)

Religious Repression au Tibet, (http://www.scribd.com/doc/120759145/Religious-Repression-in-Tibet-2012) Tibetan Centre for Human Rights and Democracy, 2012 (en anglais)

Enseignement du Dalaï Lama sur la compassion - “Four-Armed Avalokiteshvara Initiation”, juin 1993, Montréal, Comité Canada Tibet (http://tibet.ca/_static/Dalai_Lama_teaching_on_compassion.pdf)(en anglais)

NOTE : Booklet: « La compassion et l’individu » Tenzin Gyatso

http://data0.revolublog.com/esoterisme/perso/dalai_lama-compassion_fr.pdf

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank