Join our Mailing List

"As long as human rights are violated, there can be no foundation for peace. How can peace grow where speaking the truth is itself a crime?"

Tibetan Freedom Torch welcomed at Olympic Stadium

May 16, 2008

News Release
For Immediate Release
 
16 May 2008
 
Tibetan Freedom Torch welcomed at Olympic Stadium
 
(Montreal) – The Tibetan Freedom Torch reached Montreal’s Olympic Stadium on Friday, as it continues its voyage to more than 50 cities between March 10th and August 7th, when Tibetans plan to carry the torch to Tibet. The relay will finish on August 8th, the day the Olympics begin in Beijing.
 
The Torch was passed between local Tibetan bikers to runners to walkers along a 55km course across the island of Montreal, before arriving at the Stadium for a welcoming ceremony before Tibetans and their supporters. The Torch arrived at the Stadium held by two torch bearers as was done 32 years ago on the opening day of the 1976 Olympic Games. Before leaving Canada, the Torch will have visited Victoria, Vancouver, Calgary, Ottawa and Toronto.
 
“The Tibetan Freedom Torch represents the hopes and aspirations of a people and a 49 year struggle”, said CTC Executive Director Dermod Travis. “This flame for justice will not be extinguished on August 24th, but will burn brightly until freedom for the Tibetan people is achieved.”
 
The Torch visit was organized by the Canada Tibet Committee, Students for a Free Tibet and the Tibetan Cultural Association of Québec.
 
The Tibetan Freedom Torch symbolizes the hopes and aspirations of the Tibetan people for freedom and justice and the commitment of people around the world to helping achieve this dream. The Olympic torch should embody the ideals of peace and harmony for all, but this year, the Chinese government is trying to use the Olympic torch relay to cover up its brutal occupation of Tibet and abysmal human rights record, while the International Olympic Committee has refused Tibetans’ request to be represented at the Games.
 
The Tibetan Freedom Torch relay gives voice to the true ideals of Tibetans and reminds the global public of the need for action to bring an end to China’s occupation of Tibet.
 
The Canada Tibet Committee is an independent non-governmental organisation of Tibetans and non-Tibetans living in Canada, who are concerned about the continuing human rights violations and lack of democratic freedom in Tibet.
 
- 30 -
 
For more information:
Dermod Travis
CTC Executive Director
514.487.0665
 
 
 
 

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Nous, les Tibétains, aspirons à une autonomie légitime et véritable, un arrangement qui permettrait aux Tibétains de vivre au sein de la République populaire de Chine. »

La flamme tibétaine de la liberté accueillie au Stade Olympique

May 16, 2008

Communiqué de presse
Pour diffusion immédiate
 
Le 16 mai 2008
 
La flamme tibétaine de la liberté accueillie au Stade Olympique
 
(Montréal) La Flamme tibétaine de la Liberté est arrivée au Stade Olympique de Montréal ce vendredi, dans le cadre de son voyage à travers plus de 50 villes entre le 10 mars et le 7 août 2008, avant que des Tibétains l’emmènent au Tibet occupé, tel que prévu. Le relais prendra fin le 8 août, le jour où les Jeux Olympiques commenceront à Pékin.

 
La flamme a été échangée entre des cyclistes tibétains montréalais, des coureurs et des marcheurs, lors d’un trajet de 55km à travers l’île de Montréal, avant d’arriver au Stade Olympique pour une cérémonie d’accueil devant des Tibétains et leurs supporters québécois. La flamme a fait son entrée au Stade, tenue par deux porteurs de flamme, comme cela avait été fait il y a 32 ans, lors de la journée d’ouverture des Jeux Olympiques de 1976. Avant de quitter le Canada, la flamme aura visité Victoria, Vancouver, Calgary, Ottawa, Montréal et Toronto.
 
« La Flamme Tibétaine de la Liberté représente les espoirs et les aspirations d’un peuple et une résistance de 49 ans », expliquait Dermod Travis, le Directeur Exécutif du Comité Canada-Tibet. « Cette flamme pour la justice ne sera pas éteinte le 24 août, mais demeurera allumée jusqu’à ce que le peuple tibétain soit libre de déterminer l’avenir de son propre pays, de son devenir et de sa culture. »
 
La visite de cette Flamme a été organisée par le Comité Canada-Tibet, Étudiants pour un Tibet libre et l’Association Tibétaine Culturelle du Québec.
 
La Flamme Tibétaine de la Liberté est un symbole des espoirs et des aspirations du peuple tibétain pour la liberté et la justice, et de l’engagement des individus à travers le monde qui joignent également leurs efforts en vue d’atteindre cet objectif. La Flamme Olympique devrait incarner les idéaux de paix et d’harmonie pour tous, mais cette année, le gouvernement chinois tente d’utiliser le relais de la Flamme Olympique pour étouffer et camoufler son occupation brutale du Tibet, ainsi que son bilan épouvantable des droits humains en Chine et à l’étranger. Au même moment, le Comité Olympique International a rejeté la demande de représentation des Tibétains aux Olympiques.
Le relais de la Flamme Tibétaine de la Liberté donne voix aux idéaux des Tibétains et rappelle au public la nécessité d’agir pour mettre fin à l’occupation du Tibet par la Chine.
Le Comité Canada-Tibet est une organisation indépendante non-gouvernementale de Tibétains et non-Tibétains vivant au Canada, qui sont conscientisés quant aux violations des droits humains et au manque de liberté démocratique au Tibet.
-30-
 
Pour plus d’informations :
Dermod Travis
514.487.0665

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank