Join our Mailing List

"I believe that to meet the challenges of our times, human beings will have to develop a greater sense of universal responsibility. It is the foundation for world peace."

Tibetans and supporters call for action at Athens IOC meeting

June 04, 2008

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
June 4, 2008

Tibetans and supporters call for action at Athens IOC meeting
Demand media access, cancellation of Tibet Torch relay

(Montreal) – Tibetans and their supporters around the world stepped up pressure on the International Olympic Committee today, calling for media access to Tibet and cancellation of the planned Olympic torch relay through Tibet as the IOC’s Executive Board began a three-day meeting in Athens. The meeting – the last before the Beijing Olympics in August – comes just days before the Olympic torch is scheduled to makes its first stop in Tibet on June 11th.
 
Tibet support groups from Europe and North America are in Athens, calling for IOC President Jacques Rogge to meet with them and address concerns that the Tibet leg of the torch relay is encouraging increased repression of Tibetans in the wake of the recent protests and unrest that swept the region in March, while elsewhere around the world, Tibetans and Tibet supporters are phoning and faxing IOC members with the same message.

“It’s inconceivable that the IOC is blindly insisting on running the torch through Tibet when the area is so tense that journalists are still being refused entry to see what is really going on,” said Canada Tibet Committee Executive Director Dermod Travis. “By failing to remove the torch from Tibet, the IOC is endorsing the Chinese government’s crackdown and media blackout, and provoking more brutality from Chinese authorities desperate to keep the torch relay free of protests."

The situation inside Tibet remains critical as protests continue and thousands remain detained or missing as a result of the crackdown that has been sweeping across Tibet since March. Tibetans are being subjected to intimidation and harsh suppression of religious and other freedoms, as Chinese authorities carry out house-to-house searches, detentions, “patriotic re-education,” and force Tibetans to engage in other displays of “patriotism.” Most recently, on May 28th, three nuns were arrested and a 21-year-old female protester was fired on by security forces in eastern Tibet, following at least six protests by nuns in the area throughout May that resulted in more than 80 arrests.

"The IOC has already failed to keep its promises of media freedom in China before and during the Olympics, and now they are allowing the Olympic Torch to become a tool for further military build-up and crackdown in Tibet,” said Travis. “Every IOC Board Member has a moral obligation to stand up to China's politicization of the Olympics and find the courage to take action to prevent a humanitarian disaster in Tibet."

Tibetans and supporters worldwide have been pressuring the 15 individual members of the IOC Executive Board to withdraw authorization for the Beijing Organizing Committee of the Olympic Games (BOCOG) to parade the Olympic torch through Tibet, scheduled to begin June 11th in Gyalthang (“Shangri-la”) in Yunnan province, in the Tibetan area of Kham, and later June 18th or 19th to 23rd, through Lhasa and cities in the Tibetan area of Amdo, now Qinghai.

- 30 -
 
For more information:    
Dermod Travis
Executive Director, CTC
514.487.0665

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Je reste attaché au dialogue. Je suis en effet fermement convaincu que le dialogue et la volonté d’examiner clairement et honnêtement la réalité du Tibet peuvent nous conduire à une solution viable. »

Les Tibétains et leurs amis appellant à agir lors de la reunion à Athènes du CIO

June 04, 2008

Pour diffusion immédiate
4 juin 2008

Les Tibétains et leurs amis appellant à agir lors de la reunion à Athènes du CIO

(Montréal) – Les Tibétains et leurs amis partout dans le monde intensifient les pressions sur le Comité International Olympique aujourd’hui, en appelant à un accès libre des médias au Tibet et à l’annulation du relais prévu de la Flamme Olympique à travers le Tibet, alors que le Comité Exécutif du CIO a commencé une réunion de 3 jours à Athènes. Cette réunion, la dernière avant les Jeux Olympiques au mois d’août, intervient quelques jours avant que la Flamme Olympique fasse son premier arrêt au Tibet le 11 juin.
 
Des Groupes de Soutien au Tibet d’Europe et d’Amérique du Nord se trouvent à Athènes et appellent le Président du CIO Jacques Rogge à les rencontrer, alors qu’ils expriment leur préoccupation concernant la partie tibétaine du relais de la Flamme Olympique qui encourage une augmentation de la répression que subissent les Tibétains, dans le sillage des manifestations récentes et du soulèvement qui a balayé la région en mars, alors qu’au même moment partout dans le monde, les Tibétains et leurs amis téléphonent et envoient des fax aux membres du CIO avec le même message.

“Il est inconcevable que le CIO continue d’insister aveuglément et promeuve la parade de la Flamme à travers le Tibet alors que la situation dans la région y est si tendue que les journalistes continuent de se voir refuser l’entrée afin de voir ce qui s’y passe réellement. ” déclare Dermod Travis, le directeur du Comité Canada Tibet. “Par son incapacité à retirer le Tibet du parcours prévu de la Flamme, le CIO se fait complice de la répression menée par le gouvernement chinois et du blackout médiatique, et provoque encore plus de brutalité de la part des autorités chinoises cherchant désespérément à maintenir le relais de la Flamme à l’abri des protestations."

La situation au Tibet demeure critique alors que les manifestations continuent et que des milliers de personnes demeurent détenues ou ont disparu à la suite de la répression qui s’est abattue sur tout le Tibet depuis le mois de mars. Les Tibétains sont soumis à l’intimidation et la plus sévère privation de leur liberté religieuse et autres libertés, les autorités chinoises conduisant des fouilles maison après maison, procédant à des arrestations, des séances de « rééducation patriotique,” et obligent les Tibétains dans d’autres démonstrations de « patriotisme.” Plus récemment, le 28 mai, trios nonnes ont été arrêtées et une manifestante âgée de 21 ans a été abattue par les forces de sécurité dans l’est du Tibet, faisant suite à au moins six manifestations menées par des nonnes dans cette région au mois de mai et qui ont débouché sur plus de 80 arrestations.

"Le CIO a déjà échoué à tenir ses promesses concernant la liberté de la presse en Chine avant et pendant les J.O. , et maintenant ils autorisent la Flamme Olympique à devenir un outil de le pression militaire croissante et de la répression au Tibet,” déclare M. Travis. “Chaque membre du Comité Exécutif du CIO a l’obligation morale de s’élever contre la politisation des J.O. par la Chine et de trouver le courage d’agir afin de prévenir un désastre humanitaire au Tibet."

Les Tibétains et leurs supporters partout dans le monde ont fait pression sur les 15 membres du Comité Exécutif du CIO pour qu’ils retirent l’autorisation au Beijing Organizing Committee of the Olympic Games (BOCOG) d’effectuer la parade de la Flamme Olympique à travers le Tibet, prévue pour commencer le 11 juin à Gyalthang (“Shangri-la”) dans la province du Yunnan, dans la région tibétaine du Kham, et plus tard du 18 ou 19 juin au 23 juin, à travers Lhassa et d’autres villes dans la région tibétaine de l’Amdo, aujourd’hui appelée Qinghai.

- 30 -
 
Contact :
Dermod Travis
Executive Director, CTC
514.487.0665
 

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank