Join our Mailing List

"For a happier, more stable and civilized future, each of us must develop a sincere, warm-hearted feeling of brotherhood and sisterhood."

Race for Rights launches in St. John’s

July 08, 2008

News Release
Immediate Release
 
Race for Rights launches in St. John’s
 
(Montreal, Tuesday, 8 July 2008) – Former Team Canada member and Pan American medallist David Kay will be cycling across Canada this summer to encourage Canadians to reflect on the Olympic spirit and China's responsibility to improve human rights as the host of the Games.
 
The Canada Tibet Committee is launching Race for Rights, a 42-day, 7,700 km cross-Canada journey to raise awareness of China's human rights record on Sunday, July 13 at 9:00 am in St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador.
 
"China made a commitment to improve its human rights record and it's highly questionable whether they've fulfilled that commitment," said Kay. "Race for Rights is meant to be as much a celebration as it is a demonstration. I'm hoping the attention my bike ride brings provides one more reason for China to uphold the commitment it made, commitments that contributed to its being awarded the Olympics in the first place."
 
Each provincial leg of David's journey will be dedicated to a Chinese human rights activist or victim of the recent Tibet uprising. In Newfoundland and Labrador, David will be riding in the memory of an unidentified Tibetan girl reportedly shot dead by China's People's Armed Police (PAP) outside the southern gate of the Tsuklakhang temple, in Lhasa, at about 12:00 noon somewhere around May 20 (source Tibet Custom, UK).
 
Additionally, for each 50km cumulatively pledged to Race for Rights, a metre of the Trans Canada Trail will be named in honour of a victim of the Tibet uprising or a Chinese human rights reformer by the Canada Tibet Committee.
 
Supporters can be a part of David's journey by donating to Race for Rights or by joining David for a leg of the trip. David's journey can be tracked online at www.tibet.ca/raceforrights, where information is posted about China's human rights record and the Race for Rights video.
 
David Kay is an avid cyclist and accomplished rower with a strong record in championing social and environmental justice. David has won medals in rowing at several international competitions as a member of Team Canada. In 2000, he made a round-trip cycle tour from Canada to Guatemala. At home in Kingston, David serves on various committees including the OPIRG Board of Directors and the Kingston Environmental Advisory Forum. David is also an Athlete Ambassador for Right to Play.
 
The Canada Tibet Committee is an independent non-governmental organisation of Tibetans and non-Tibetans living in Canada, who are concerned about the continuing human rights violations and lack of democratic freedom in Tibet.
 
- 30 -
 
For more information:
Dermod Travis                                                                                                                    
514.487.0665 / dermod@tibet.ca
 
 
“Mankind is crying out for help. Ours is a desperate time.
Those who have something to offer should come forward. Now is the time.”
His Holiness the Dalai Lama
 

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Compassion et tolérance ne sont pas des signes de faiblesse mais de force. »

La Course aux droits est lancée à St John’s

July 08, 2008

La Course aux droits est lancée à St John’s
 
 
Montréal, le mercredi 9 juillet 2008 – David Kay, ex-membre d’Équipe Canada et médaillé des Jeux Panaméricains, traversera le Canada à vélo cet été pour encourager les Canadiens à réfléchir à l’esprit olympique et à la responsabilité qui incombe à la Chine d’améliorer son respect des droits humains en tant qu’hôte des Jeux.
 
Ce dimanche 13 juillet à 9h, à St-Jean-de-Terre-Neuve, le Comité Canada-Tibet (CCT) donnera donc le coup d’envoi à la Course aux droits, une traversée de 7700 km en 42 jours visant à sensibiliser la population à la situation des droits humains en Chine.
 
“La Chine s’est engagée à améliorer son bilan au niveau du respect des droits humains et on peut très sérieusement se demander si elle a rempli cet engagement,” note M. Kay. “La Course aux droits se veut aussi bien une célébration qu’une manifestation. J’espère que l’attention générée par ma traversée à vélo fournira une raison de plus à la Chine de respecter son engagement, un engagement qui a d’ailleurs contribué à lui donner les Jeux.”
 
Chaque segment provincial du périple de David sera dédié à un activiste chinois pour les droits humains ou à une victime de la récente vague de répression au Tibet. À Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, David roulera pour la mémoire d’une jeune fille tibétaine non-identifiée qui aurait été abattue par les forces de police chinoises (PAP) devant les portes du temple Tsuklakhangm, à Lhasa, autour de midi vers le 20 mai (source: Tibet Custom, Royaume-Uni).
 
De plus, pour chaque 50 km en promesses de dons, un mètre du sentier transcanadien sera nommé par le CCT en honneur d’une victime du récent soulèvement tibétain ou d’un réformateur chinois des droits humains.
 
Il est possible d’appuyer David dans son aventure en faisant un don à La Course aux droits ou en se joignant à David pour une partie de son trajet. Le voyage de David peut être suivi en ligne à www.tibet.ca/fr/, dans la section “événements à venir”. On peut trouver là, en plus d’informations sur la question des droits humains en Chine, un vidéo sur la Course aux droits.
 
David Kay, cycliste passionné et rameur accompli, est un défenseur acharné de la justice sociale et environnementale. David a gagné plusieurs médailles en aviron dans des compétitions internationales en tant que membre d’Équipe Canada. En 2000, il a complété un aller-retour vers le Guatemala. À son domicile à Kingston, David fait partie de plusieurs comités, incluant le conseil d’administration d’OPIRG et le Kingston Environmental Advisory Forum. David est également un athlète-ambassadeur pour Right to Play
 
Le Comité Canada-Tibet est une organisation non-gouvernementale indépendante composée de Tibétains et de non-Tibétains qui vivent au Canada et qui sont préoccupés par les violations chroniques des droits humains et l’absence de liberté démocratique au Tibet.
 
 
- 30 –
 
Pour de plus amples informations :
Dermod Travis : 514.487.0665
 
 

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank