Join our Mailing List

"We Tibetans are looking for a legitimate and meaningful autonomy, an arrangement that would enable Tibetans to live within the framework of the People’s Republic of China."

Canada Tibet Committee releases letter to Canadian athletes

August 04, 2008

Media Advisory
For Immediate Release
 
Canada Tibet Committee releases letter to Canadian athletes
 
(Montreal, Monday, 4 August 2008) – The Canada Tibet Committee today released a letter that it has sent individually to members of Canada’s Olympic Team in advance of the Beijing Games.
 
“Canadian athletes who choose to do so have a unique opportunity while in Beijing to promote Canadian values in a positive and constructive manner,” said CTC Executive Director Dermod Travis today. “Whether they do this through personal contact with Chinese fans or through a bolder manner is up to each athlete while fully respecting IOC regulations.”
 
The letter is reprinted below:
 
“May I extend to you, on behalf of the Canada Tibet Committee, our congratulations for having earned a spot on Canada’s 2008 Olympic team. We know that you will do Canada proud.
 
As you are aware, there has been some controversy surrounding the IOC’s decision to award the Olympic Games to Beijing. The issue of Tibet has been at the forefront of this debate. We want you to know that our Committee has never called for an athlete boycott of the Games. In fact, not a single Tibet organization anywhere in the world has called for a boycott.
 
You’ve worked hard for this chance, harder than most people can ever imagine and you deserve to compete. The Chinese people also deserve to celebrate this momentous occasion freely. But there is no escaping the fact that the Beijing Games may represent a turning point in China’s political development.
 
I want to underline that the differences the Canada Tibet Committee has are with the policies of the Chinese government and not with the Chinese people. This distinction is important. Many Chinese seek the same rights and freedoms for their country that we have in Canada. And sadly some Chinese reformers are imprisoned for it.
 
Recently, Canadian gold medallist Kyle Shewfelt on his blog criticized Prime Minister Harper for his decision not to attend the Opening Ceremonies of the Olympic Games. We support Prime Minister Harper’s decision, but we also commend Kyle for his courage and right to dissent.
 
It’s important for you to know that if Kyle were a Chinese citizen criticizing the President of China in the same manner, he would risk imprisonment.
 
In 2003, prior to the U.S. invasion of Iraq, former Canadian Olympian and NBA player Steve Nash wore a T-Shirt at the NBA All-Star Weekend that read "No War. Shoot for Peace."
 
According to Steve, the reaction was “unbelievably” positive compared to negative. At the time he was quoted as saying: "I'm not embarrassed by America. I'm embarrassed by humanity. More than embarrassed, I think it's really unfortunate in the year 2003 that we're still using violence as a means of conflict resolution. That's what I'm speaking out against."
 
These rights – enjoyed by Kyle and Steve – to speak out and speak up are the rights that we hope will soon be enjoyed by all Chinese citizens, regardless of their ethnic origin.
 
We know that this may not be your battle. You’ve worked most of your life for this Olympic opportunity. But you also have a chance to plant a very important seed in Beijing. You can help advance the cause of freedom for over one billion people.
 
There are many things that you can do to support human rights in China while you’re representing Canada at the Olympic Games. First and foremost, of course, is to come home with the Gold. But you can also talk to a Chinese citizen about Canadian values, about what it’s like to live in Canada. Nothing more, nothing less. Just engage with ordinary fans. Some times the simplest acts travel the furthest.
 
But if you want to take a stronger stand at the games, we're ready to help you take your message further to promote human rights in an appropriate and respectful manner. Visit our website www.tibet.ca for more background information and contact us for details about our Olympics campaign.”
 
- 30 -
 
For more information:
Dermod Travis
Executive Director
514.487.0665
 

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Si nous voulons contribuer à l’avènement d’un avenir plus heureux, plus stable et plus civilisé, chacun de nous doit cultiver un sentiment sincère et chaleureux de fraternité. »

Letter ouvert du Comité Canada Tibet aux athletes canadienne

August 04, 2008

Votre persévérance vous a valu une place dans l’équipe canadienne qui va bientôt participer aux Jeux Olympiques. Le Canada peut être fier de vous et le Comité Canada Tibet vous adresse ses plus chaleureuse félicitations.
 
Comme vous le savez, la décision du CIO d’accorder les Jeux Olympiques à Pékin a fait l’objet d’une longue controverse et la problématique du Tibet est à l’origine de ce débat. Nous tenons à souligner et à vous faire savoir que le Comité Canada Tibet n’a jamais appelé les athlètes à un boycott des JO. De fait, il n’y a pas pas une seule organisation au monde qui soutient la cause du Tibet et qui ait appelé au boycott.
 
Vous avez accompli un immense travail pour atteindre ce niveau, vous avez travaillé plus dur que tout ce que nous pouvons imaginer et vous méritez de participer à cette compétition. Le peuple chinois mérite aussi de célébrer librement cette occasion capitale. Mais il n’en demeure pas moins que les Jeux de Pékin représentent un virage incontournable dans l’évolution politique de la Chine.
 
Il est extrêmement important de souligner que les différends du Comité Canada Tibet concernent les politiques du gouvernement chinois et non pas le peuple chinois. Cette distinction est essentielle. De nombreux Chinois tentent d’obtenir les mêmes droits et libertés que ceux que nous possédons au Canada. Il ne faut pas oublier que de nombreux Chinois convaincus de la nécessité d’une réforme sont emprisonnés pour leurs convictions.
 
Récemment, Kyle Shewfelt, médaillé d’or canadien, a critiqué sur son blog le Premier Ministre du Canada, Stephan Harper, quant à sa décision de ne pas assister à la cérémonie d’ouverture des Jeux Olympiques. Nous appuyons la décision du Premier Ministre, et nous respectons également le courage de Kyle et son droit à exprimer son désaccord.
 
Il est capital que vous sachiez que si Kyle était un citoyen chinois critiquant le président chinois de la même manière, il aurait été emprisonné.
 
En 2003, avant l’invasion américaine en Iraq, Steve Nash, joueur du NBA et participant aux Jeux Olympiques, a porté, durant le week-end All-Star du NBA, un tee-shirt sur lequel on pouvait lire « Pas de guerre. Tirez au panier pour la Paix » ("No War. Shoot for Peace.")
 
Selon Steve, les réactions ont été « incroyablement positives » et il a déclaré alors : « Ce n’est pas l’Amérique qui porte atteinte à mon intégrité, mais l’humanité. Ce qui est encore pire, c’est qu’en 2003, nous utilisions encore la violence comme moyen pour résoudre les conflits. C’est contre cela que je m’élève. »
 
Ces droits d’expression et de protestation, dont jouissent Kyle et Steve, sont ceux dont devraient jouir bientôt, nous l’espérons, tous les citoyens chinois quelle que soit leur origine ethnique.
 
Nous savons que cette lutte n’est peut-être pas la vôtre et que vous avez travaillé toute votre vie pour ce défi olympique. Cependant, vous avez aussi la possibilité maintenant de planter une graine essentielle à Pékin. Vous pouvez faire avancer la cause de la liberté pour plus d’un milliard de personnes.
 
Il y a plusieurs choses que vous pouvez faire pour soutenir les droits de l’homme en Chine lorsque vous allez représenter le Canada aux Jeux Olympiques. D’abord et avant tout, c’est de ramener l’Or à votre pays. Ensuite, vous pouvez discuter avec des citoyens chinois des valeurs canadiennes et du mode de vie qui est le nôtre au Canada. Rien de plus, rien de moins. Entrez simplement en contact avec vos supporters. Souvent, l’acte le plus simple aboutit le plus loin.
 
Mais si vous souhaitez adopter une position plus radicale, nous sommes prêts à vous aider à diffuser votre message pour la promotion des droits de l’homme d’une façon appropriée et respectueuse. N’hésitez pas à visiter notre site Internet pour recueillir plus d’informations sur le contexte actuel et à nous contacter pour plus de détails sur notre campagne olympique.
 
Dermod Travis
 
 
 

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank