Join our Mailing List

"Canada can, within a positive friendly atmosphere, ask the Chinese government to resolve the Tibetan situation."

Martin to attend Interfaith Event with the Dalai Lama

April 15, 2004

Montreal, April 15, 2004:  Canadian Prime Minister Paul Martin will attend an interfaith event organized on the occasion of His Holiness the Dalai Lama's visit to Ottawa next week.  The event will be hosted by His Excellency Marcel Gervais, the Roman Catholic Archbishop of Ottawa.

The interfaith event - a private meeting of community and religious leaders - will take place on Friday, April 23 at 17:00 at the Ottawa residence of Archbishop Gervais, 143 St. Patrick Street.

This afternoon, Canadian Tibetans and their supporters welcomed the announcement, hailing it as an historic decision by the Government of Canada.

"I extend my thanks to all Canadians from across this country, who have consistently supported our efforts on behalf of the Tibetan people" said Thubten Samdup, National President of the Canada Tibet Committee.  "I would also like to express my heartfelt appreciation to Prime Minister Martin for making this important and significant decision".

The Canada Tibet Committee is seeking active Canadian involvement in the fledgling dialogue between Chinese authorities and representatives of the Dalai Lama. During his visit to Ottawa, the Dalai Lama will meet with parliamentarians, non-governmental organizations and academics to discuss what role Canadian civil society and government could play in his efforts to protect human rights and democratic freedoms in Tibet.

- end -

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Si nous voulons contribuer à l’avènement d’un avenir plus heureux, plus stable et plus civilisé, chacun de nous doit cultiver un sentiment sincère et chaleureux de fraternité. »

Paul Martin participera à un événement oecuménique avec le Dalaï Lama

April 15, 2004

Montréal, le 15 avril 2004 : Le Premier ministre canadien Paul Martin assistera à un événement oecuménique organisé à l’occasion de la visite de Sa Sainteté le Dalaï Lama à Ottawa la semaine prochaine et qui se tiendra sous l’égide de Monseigneur Marcel Gervais, archevêque de l’Église romaine catholique d’Ottawa.
 
L’événement oecuménique – une réunion privée de chefs communautaires et religieux – aura lieu le vendredi 23 avril à 17h00 à la résidence de Monseigneur Gervais à Ottawa, au 143 rue St-Patrick.

Cet après-midi, la communauté tibétaine et ses supporters ont bien accueilli l’annonce, qu’ils qualifient de décision historique du gouvernement du Canada.

« Je remercie toutes celles et tous ceux qui, d’un bout à l’autre du Canada, ont toujours soutenu nos efforts en vue d’aider le peuple tibétain » a déclaré Thubten Samdup, président national du Comité Canada Tibet. « J’aimerais aussi exprimer au Premier ministre notre gratitude pour avoir pris cette décision importante et marquante. »

Le Comité Canada Tibet demande au gouvernement canadien de s’engager de façon active dans le dialogue balbutiant entre les autorités chinoises et les représentants du Dalaï Lama. Durant sa visite à Ottawa, le Dalaï Lama rencontrera des membres du Parlement et d’organisations non gouvernementales ainsi que des universitaires. Il discutera avec eux du rôle que peuvent jouer la société civile et le gouvernement du Canada pour l’aider à protéger les droits de la personne et les libertés démocratiques au Tibet.
 
 
-30-
 
Contact: M. Thubten Samdup (514) 867-6770

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank