Join our Mailing List

"On my part, I remain committed to the process of dialogue. It is my firm belief that dialogue and a willingness to look with honesty and clarity at the reality of Tibet can lead us to a viable solution."

Canada Tibet Committee launches resource centre for Buddhists with message from Dalai Lama

January 20, 2010

News Release
For Immediate Release
 
Canada Tibet Committee launches resource centre for Buddhists with message from Dalai Lama
 
(Montreal, Wednesday, 20 January 2010) – “Unless there is freedom in Tibet, then a flourishing Buddhism in Tibet is impossible” is the message that His Holiness the Dalai Lama brings to a new resource centre for Canadian Buddhists launched today by the Canada Tibet Committee (CTC).
 
The CTC spoke at length with the Dalai Lama last October on the critical role Buddhists can play in helping to bring religious freedom to Tibet. The CTC’s resource centre hopes to respond to a misconception among a few that Buddhism is incompatible with political activities.
 
Resources on the CTC website include a short video presentation and the full audio of the CTC’s interview with the Dalai Lama, and reports and news articles on the dire state of religious freedom in Tibet today. The centre is at www.tibet.ca/dharma
 
“With organizations like the CTC and other similar groups, every Buddhist in Canada has a shared duty with us to help bring religious freedom to Tibet,” said CTC executive director Dermod Travis today.
 
“Six million Tibetan Buddhists deserve no less from us. Whether it’s attending a vigil, helping to organize an event, speaking at a temple or writing your MP, Tibetans desperately need to hear our collective voice now.”
 
This month, Reuters reported that the Chinese government plans to keep “Buddhist monks on a tight leash” in 2010.
 
And in 2009, the U.S. State Department’s International Religious Freedom Report detailed the extent to which Chinese authorities interfere in the depth of study of Tibetan Buddhism, including limiting the number of monks at monasteries, limiting where monks can travel for religious training, co-opting the education of young reincarnated lamas and pressuring government employees to withdraw their children from all forms of religious education.
 
It detailed severe restrictions on religious freedom for ordinary Tibetans, including sanctions against people for displaying spiritual devotion to the Dalai Lama, or to the 11th Panchen Lama, and the numerous cases of monks, nuns and lay people, who were “subjected to extrajudicial punishments, such as beatings and deprivation of food, water, and sleep for long periods.”
 
The Canada Tibet Committee is an independent non-governmental organisation of Tibetans and non-Tibetans living in Canada, who are concerned about the continuing human rights violations and lack of democratic freedom in Tibet.
 
- 30 -
 
For more information:
Dermod Travis
Executive Director                     
514.487.0665 / dermod@tibet.ca

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Nous, les Tibétains, aspirons à une autonomie légitime et véritable, un arrangement qui permettrait aux Tibétains de vivre au sein de la République populaire de Chine. »

Le Comité Canada Tibet lance un Centre de ressources pour les bouddhistes accompagné du message du Dalai Lama

January 20, 2010

(Montréal, mercredi 20 janvier 2010) – ''Tant qu'il n'y aura pas de liberté au Tibet, la pratique du bouddhisme tibétain restera impossible au Tibet...'' Tel est le message que Sa Sainteté le Dalai Lama apporte au nouveau Centre de ressources pour les Bouddhistes canadiens que le Comité Canada Tibet (CCT)a lancé aujourd’hui.
 
Le CCT a longuement discuté avec le Dalai Lama en octobre dernier sur le rôle essentiel que les bouddhistes peuvent jouer en contribuant à ramener la liberté de religion au Tibet. Le CCT espère pouvoir remédier à une certaine idée fausse selon laquelle le bouddhisme serait incompatible avec les activités politiques.
 
Les ressources sur le site Internet du CCT présentent la vidéo de l’interview du Dalai Lama ainsi que les rapports et les articles sur l’état réel de la liberté religieuse au Tibet à l’heure actuelle. Vous le trouverez en cliquant sur www.tibet.ca/dharma
 
« Tous les bouddhistes canadiens partagent un même devoir avec les organismes tels que le CCT et les autres groupes de soutien au Tibet pour contribuer à amener la liberté de religion au Tibet », a déclaré aujourd’hui Dermod Travis, le directeur exécutif du CCT.
 
« Six millions de bouddhistes tibétains n’en attendent pas moins. Ils ont désespérément besoin d’entendre maintenant notre voix collective ».
 
Ce mois-ci, un article de Reuters rapporte que le gouvernement chinois a prévu de « tenir en laisse courte et museler les moines bouddhistes » en 2010.
 
En 2009, le Rapport international du département d’État américain sur la liberté religieuse met en lumière les interférences des autorités chinoises dans l’étude du bouddhisme tibétain en limitant le nombre de moines dans les monastères, leurs voyages à des fins de formation religieuse, en récupérant les réincarnations de jeunes lamas pour les ‘éduquer’ et en harcelant les employés du gouvernement pour qu’ils retirent à leurs enfants toute forme d’éducation religieuse.
 
Ce rapport fait ressortir en détail les graves restrictions auxquelles les Tibétains sont soumis, y compris de sévères sanctions contre ceux qui démontrent leur dévotion spirituelle pour le Dalai Lama ou pour le 11e Panchen Lama, ainsi que les innombrables cas de moines, de nonnes et de personnes laiques qui « ont subi des sanctions extra judiciaires et qui ont été battus, privés de nourriture, d’eau et de sommeil pendant de longues périodes ».   
 

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank