Join our Mailing List

"I believe that to meet the challenges of our times, human beings will have to develop a greater sense of universal responsibility. It is the foundation for world peace."

Montreal - Prayer service and vigil to mark Losar, Tibetan New Year

February 12, 2010

(Montreal, Friday, 12 February 2010) – The Tibetan Cultural Association of Québec, the Canada Tibet Committee and Students for a Free Tibet will hold a prayer service and vigil at Phillips Square on Sunday, 14 February, at 2:30 p.m. to mark Losar, the start of the Tibetan New Year.
 
For the second year in a row, Tibetans worldwide will spend their New Year in mourning rather than celebration. In solidarity with their compatriots, Québec Tibetans have cancelled New Year celebrations, and will hold this vigil instead
 
Event:             Prayer service and vigil
Date:                Sunday, 14 February 2010
Time:               2:30 to 3:30 p.m.
Place:              Phillips Square (across from The Bay), Ste. Catherine St.
 
Since March 2008 the situation in Tibet has remained dire. In October 2009 four Tibetans were executed by the Chinese authorities. Hundreds of Tibetans are still imprisoned, and repression on all Tibetans is extreme.
 
“Reports have emerged from Tibet of Tibetans in various parts of Tibet once again vowing to skip all festivities in mourning of the dead Tibetans and to mark their respect and solidarity for those imprisoned”
 
 
- 30 -
 
For more information:
Dermod Travis
Executive Director                     
514.487.0665 / dermod@tibet.ca

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Je reste attaché au dialogue. Je suis en effet fermement convaincu que le dialogue et la volonté d’examiner clairement et honnêtement la réalité du Tibet peuvent nous conduire à une solution viable. »

Montréal - Vigile et service de prières pour marquer Losar, le Nouvel An tibétain

February 12, 2010

(Montréal, vendredi 12 février 2010) – L'Association culturelle tibétaine du Québec, le Comité Canada Tibet et Students for a Free Tibet organisent une vigile et un service de prières au Carré Phillips, dimanche 14 février, à 14h30, pour marquer Losar, le début de la Nouvelle Année tibétaine.
 
Pour la deuxième année consécutive, le Nouvel An tibétain à travers le monde sera une journée d'hommage et de recueillement et non de festivités. En signe de solidarité avec leurs compatriotes, les Québécois d'origine tibétaine ont annulé les festivités traditionnelles du Nouvel An et participeront à la vigile.
 
Événement :  Vigile et service de prières
Date :              Dimanche 14 février 2010
Heure :            de 14h30 à 15h30
Lieu :                           Carré Phillips (en face de La Baie), rue Ste-Catherine.
 
Depuis mars 2008, la situation au Tibet demeure sombre. En octobre 2009, quatre Tibétains ont été exécutés par les autorités chinoises. Des centaines de Tibétains sont toujours incarcérés, et tous les Tibétains continuent de subir une répression d'une extrême violence.
 
'' Les nouvelles émanant du Tibet indiquent que les Tibétains de diverses régions du Tibet ont fait à nouveau le voeu cette année d'éviter toutes festivités, en mémoire à tous les Tibétains morts et en signe de respect et de solidarité envers tous ceux qui restent emprisonnés.''
 
 
- 30 -
 
Pour plus d'information :
Dermod Travis
Directeur du CCT
514.487.0665 / dermod@tibet.ca

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank