Join our Mailing List

"I believe that to meet the challenges of our times, human beings will have to develop a greater sense of universal responsibility. It is the foundation for world peace."

Canada Tibet Committee 2009 Annual Report

April 07, 2010

Canada Tibet Committee 2009 Annual Report
 
Each year, hundreds of you give generously both in time and money to support Tibet and the work of the Canada Tibet Committee.
 
Your gifts are critical to the Tibetan people and the CTC and we hope this report details how your generosity has been put to use.
 
Secret government documents
 
In January, the CTC released 68 pages of declassified Canadian government documents related to Tibet. Fifty years after many of them were first written, these documents made news globally in 2009.
 
Most notable among them was the 1950 legal opinion from the External Affairs department which concluded: “I am of the opinion that Tibet is, from the point of view of international law, qualified for recognition as an independent state.”
 
Or as another Canadian diplomat put it:
 
“…if China owned Tibet…there would certainly be no point in sending an army to conquer it.”
 
Government relations
 
Much of the CTC’s work takes the form of raising issues with MPs, senators, premiers, and government officials.
 
It would be presumptuous of the CTC to take credit for all these results, but whether it’s political prisoners, human rights issues, preparing for the Prime Minister’s visit to China, environmental concerns or economic development within Tibet, the CTC advocated regularly with the Canadian government to advance the Tibet cause in 2009.
 
Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA)

The CTC works with CIDA to foster a greater understanding of Tibet-related issues and to promote funding of relevant programs.
 
CIDA funded two initiatives through the World Bank, implemented by non-governmental organizations.
 
The first – Legal Aid for Tibetan Farmers/Herders – provides access to legal aid for migrant workers in Tibet. The program is run by the Tibet Yanglin Legal Aid Center.

The second project – Rights Protection for Minority Street Children – helps minority children in Urumqi, Xinjiang Province and is run by the Center for Protection of the Rights of Disadvantaged Citizens at Wuhan University and the Legal Aid Center at Xinjiang University.
 
As well, CIDA supports the Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency (ACOA) efforts to promote and protect the rights of ethnic minorities living in Gannan and Garze Tibetan Autonomous Prefectures by drawing on Canadian expertise and approaches to maintaining the social and cultural fabric of communities.
 
Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (DFAIT)
 
In 2009, the CTC communicated and worked regularly with officials from the Department of Foreign Affairs on issues ranging from February’s UN Universal Periodic Review of China to political prisoners, human rights issues and logistics related to the visit of His Holiness the Dalai Lama to Canada.
 
We also called for a resumption of the Canada-China Human Rights Dialogue because the CTC believes that Canada must have an accountable and transparent human rights dialogue with the Chinese government to ensure that each government’s voice is heard and that mutual issues of concern are addressed in a meaningful and respectful manner.
 
National Lobby Day
 
On March 9, the CTC helped organize an unprecedented lobby day on Parliament Hill. Over 25 Tibetan-Canadians from across Quebec and Ontario met close to 40 MPs and senators to discuss Tibet issues on the eve of the 50th anniversary of the Tibetan National Uprising.
 
50th Anniversary of the Tibetan National Uprising
 
On March 10th, the largest ever gathering of Tibetans took place on Parliament Hill to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the Tibetan National Uprising. Canada’s five major political parties spoke in support of the Tibetan people and the Dalai Lama’s Middle Way approach.
 
Prime Minister Harper’s visit to China
 
In December, the Prime Minister visited China for the first time. In advance of his trip, the CTC undertook initiatives including a detailed letter to the Prime Minister outlining the issues we hoped he would raise with Chinese leaders, an op/ed for Canadian newspapers and, with our partners in the Canadian Coalition on Human Rights in China, a second follow-up letter.
 
Human Rights
 
Tragically, over 1,000 Tibetans still languish in Chinese jails for alleged political activities during the 2008 uprising. Two were executed and the nephew of a Canadian was beaten to death by local police in 2009.
 
These cases are raised continuously by the CTC with our government and the Government of China.
 
Many of you also joined with us in writing the Prime Minister and your MP when we requested. We know your voice was heard.
 
In April, the CTC’s executive director Dermod Travis attended a CORIM luncheon in Montreal where Ambassador of the People’s Republic of China to Canada H.E. Lan Lijun spoke. Mr. Travis posed a question on human rights directly to the Ambassador.
 
In August, the CTC released an open letter to Chinese president Hu Jintao signed by close to 30 Canadian filmmakers on behalf of Dhondup Wangchen, the director of Leaving Fear Behind.
 
Corporate Social Responsibility
 
As the Chinese government opens Tibet up to more and more economic development, the CTC is taking the lead with Canadian corporations to ensure that the highest standards of corporate social responsibility are met in all their Chinese operations and that the Tibetan people are extended their right to free, prior and informed consent regarding projects in Tibet.
 
In 2009, these efforts took two directions: engaging with Canadian mining companies and our “When do you draw the line?” campaign which calls on members of the Canada China Business Council (CCBC) to adopt the UN’s Global Compact on corporate social responsibility.
 
The CTC mining campaign included four initiatives in 2009: a questionnaire that was sent to all Canadian mining corporations with operations in Tibet, attendance at Continental Minerals’ Annual General Meeting, the release of an internal Continental Minerals report revealing that photos of Victoria’s Butchart Gardens were used with local Tibetans to illustrate what a reclaimed mine allegedly site looks like, and our formal support of Bill C300.
 
In the fall, the CTC launched its “When do you draw the line campaign?” to coincide with the CCBC’s Business Forum. After the CTC’s registration as a participant at the Forum was rejected by the CCBC, we called on the Forum’s guest speaker, the Hon. Stockwell Day, Minister of International Trade, to decline the invitation. Due to other commitments Mr. Day did not attend.
 
Finally, we helped change the terms of the debate regarding Canada’s relations with China. Despite overwhelming evidence that raising human rights issues with the Chinese government does not hurt trade, many corporate leaders continued with this misleading argument in advance of the Prime Minister’s visit to China. With other NGOs, the CTC undertook the necessary statistical analysis to prove that Canadian trade with China does not suffer when our government stands up for human rights.
 
2009 calendar highlights
 
January
 
Visit of Mr. Lobsang Nyandak, Representative of His Holiness the Dalai Lama to the Americas, to Ottawa, Montreal and Toronto.
 
March
 
The City of Vancouver proclaimed March ‘Tibet Month’ at the request of the CTC Vancouver branch.
 
May
 
In May, the CTC assisted in coordinating an audience for Ernest Reid’s family with His Holiness the Dalai Lama in New York City. Ernest’s wife, son and daughter met His Holiness to present a retrospective of photos that Ernest had taken in Tibet in 1947.
 
CTC executive director Dermod Travis spoke at the Canadian Archivists Conference in Calgary, Alberta.
 
September & October
 
The CTC provided logistical support to the visit of His Holiness the Dalai Lama to Canada, including as principal liaison with the Canadian government.
 
November
 
In its 20th year the CTC relocated the annual Montreal Tibetan Bazaar to its largest ever location.
 
 
This report only highlights part of our work. The CTC’s success in 2009 is due to the commitment of our volunteers, donors and supporters who continuously prove that they’re ready to support Tibet when events demand. We truly appreciate your commitment.
 
To learn more about any of the above activities, please visit www.tibet.ca
 
And please know that we treat your gifts with great care. Every dollar you generously give is stretched as far as we can for Tibet.

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Compassion et tolérance ne sont pas des signes de faiblesse mais de force. »

Comité Canada Tibet - Rapport annuel 2009

April 07, 2010

Comité Canada Tibet - Rapport annuel 2009
 
Chaque année, vous êtes des centaines à donner généreusement de votre temps et de votre argent pour soutenir la cause du Tibet et le travail du Comité Canada Tibet.
 
Vos dons sont essentiels pour le peuple tibétain et le CCT et nous espérons que ce rapport vous montrera en détail les objectifs atteints grâce à votre générosité.  
 
Documents secrets du dossier canadien
 
En janvier 2009, Le Comité Canada Tibet a publié aujourd’hui 66 pages de documents déclassés du gouvernement fédéral concernant le Tibet. Cinquante ans après que la plupart d’entre eux été écrits, ces documents ont fait le tour du monde en 2009.
 
En 1950, le ministère canadien des Affaires étrangères diffusait l’un des plus importants avis juridiques portant sur le statut international du Tibet et concluant ainsi : « mon opinion est que le Tibet réunit, d’un point de vue du droit international, les conditions prescrites pour être reconnu en tant qu’État indépendant. »
 
Un Haut-Commissaire du Canada déclarait aussi :
«…si la Chine possédait le Tibet,…elle n’aurait nul besoin d’y envoyer une armée pour le conquérir. »
 
Relations gouvernementales
 
Une partie importante du travail du CCT consiste à soulever ces questions critiques auprès des députés, sénateurs, premiers ministres et hauts fonctionnaires du gouvernement.
 
Le CCT n’a pas la prétention de s’approprier les résultats de ces démarches, cependant que ce soit sur les questions des prisonniers politiques, des droits de la personne, de la visite du premier Ministre en Chine, des préoccupations en matière d’environnement ou de développement économique au Tibet, le CCT s’est fait l’ardent défenseur de la cause du Tibet auprès du gouvernement canadien en 2009.
 
Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI)
 
Le CCT travaille de concert avec l’ACDI afin de favoriser une meilleure compréhension des questions reliées au Tibet ainsi que le financement de programmes pertinents.
 
L’ACDI a versé à la Banque mondiale le financement de deux initiatives mises en place par des ONG :
La première initiative porte sur l’Aide juridique pour les agriculteurs et les éleveurs tibétains : elle contribue à élargir l’accès à une aide juridique pour les travailleurs migrants au Tibet et elle est mise en œuvre par le Centre d’aide juridique Yanglin du Tibet.
 
La seconde initiative porte sur la protection des droits des enfants de la rue issus de minorités. Elle vise à protéger les droits des enfants issus de minorités à Urumqi, dans la province de Xinjiang. Elle est mise en œuvre par le Centre pour la protection des droits des citoyens défavorisés de l'Université de Wuhan et le Centre d'aide juridique de l'Université de Xinjiang.
 
La contribution de l'ACDI permet à l'Agence de promotion économique du Canada atlantique (APECA) de promouvoir les droits des minorités ethniques vivant dans les préfectures tibétaines autonomes Gannan et Garze. L'expertise et les approches canadiennes contribuent à développer les capacités de ces régions à conserver l'identité sociale et culturelle de leurs communautés.
 
Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du commerce international (MAECI)
 
En 2009, le CCT a travaillé et communiqué sur une base régulière avec les fonctionnaires du ministère des Affaires étrangères autant sur les questions de l’Examen périodique universel (EPU) de la Chine en février que celles des prisonniers politiques et des droits de la personne ou que sur les questions de logistique liées à la visite du Dalaï Lama au Canada.
 
Le CCT a également appelé à la reprise du Dialogue Canada-Chine car nous croyons que le Canada doit engager un dialogue transparent et responsable sur les droits de la personne avec le gouvernement chinois afin de garantir que la voix de chaque gouvernement soit entendue et que toutes les préoccupations mutuelles sur les droits de la personne soient considérées de façon respectueuse et significative.
 
Journée nationale de lobbying
 
Le 9 mars 2009, à la veille de la commémoration du 50e anniversaire du Soulèvement national tibétain, le CCT a contribué à organiser une exceptionnelle journée de lobbying sur la Colline parlementaire. 25 Canadiens d’origine tibétaine venus du Québec et de l’Ontario ont rencontré près de 40 députés et sénateurs pour discuter des questions liées au Tibet.
 
50e anniversaire du Soulèvement national tibétain
 
Le 10 mars 2009, le plus grand rassemblement de Tibétains jamais vu s’est déroulé sur la Colline parlementaire pour commémorer le 50e anniversaire du Soulèvement national tibétain. Des représentants des cinq principaux partis politiques se sont prononcés en faveur de la cause du peuple tibétain et de l’approche de la Voie du Milieu du Dalaï Lama
 
Visite en Chine du Premier Ministre Harper
 
En décembre, le Premier Ministre s’est rendu en visite officielle en Chine pour la première fois. Avant son départ, le CCT a entrepris de lui adresser une lettre détaillée soulevant les questions que nous souhaitions le voir aborder avec les autorités chinoises, il a également publié un article d’opinion dans les journaux canadiens et, en partenariat avec la Coalition canadienne pour les droits de la personne en Chine, a adressé au Premier Ministre une deuxième lettre de suivi.
 
Droits de la personne
 
Il est tragique de constater que plus de 1000 Tibétains dépérissent encore dans les prisons chinoises, accusés de soi-disantes activités politiques durant le soulèvement de 2008. Deux Tibétains ont été exécutés et le neveu d’un Canadien a été battu à mort par la police locale en 2009.
 
Le CCT met continuellement ces cas à l’ordre du jour devant notre gouvernement et le gouvernement chinois.
 
Un grand nombre d’entre vous s’est joint à nous en écrivant au Premier Ministre et à vos députés lorsque nous vous l’avons demandé. Nous savons que vos voix ont été entendues.
 
En avril, le directeur exécutif du CCT, Dermod Travis, a participé à un déjeuner-causerie organisé par le Conseil des relations internationales de Montréal (CORIM) où l’Ambassadeur de la RPC au Canada, S.E. Lan Lijun, a fait une déclaration. M. Travis a pu poser une question sur les droits de la personne directement à l’ambassadeur.
 
En août, le CCT a publié une lettre ouverte au président chinois Hu Jintao, signée par près de 30 cinéastes canadiens en faveur de Dhondup Wangchen, le réalisateur de « Leaving Fear Behind. »
 
Responsabilité sociale d’entreprise (RSE)
 
Au fur et à mesure que le gouvernement chinois pousse de plus en plus le développement économique au Tibet, le CCT mène avec des entreprises canadiennes une série d’actions visant à s’assurer que les normes les plus élevées en matière de responsabilité sociale d’entreprise soient respectées dans toutes les opérations de la Chine et que la population tibétaine peut exercer librement son droit de regard et de consentement éclairé envers tout projet au Tibet.
 
En 2009, ces efforts ont été dirigés dans deux directions : l’engagement des compagnies minières canadiennes et la campagne Quand faut-il établir les limites ?When do you draw the line? Le Comité Canada Tibet a demandé instamment aux compagnies canadiennes membres du Canada China Business Council (CCBC) d’adopter les Dix Principes du Pacte Mondial des Nations Unies sur la responsabilité sociale d’entreprise.
 
Quatre initiatives ont été menées dans le cadre de la campagne minière du CCT en 2009 : l’envoi d’un questionnaire adressé à toutes les compagnies minières canadiennes exploitant le sol du Tibet, la participation à l’assemblée générale annuelle de Continental Minerals, la publication d’un rapport interne de Continental Minerals révélant que des photos des Jardins Butchart de Victoria prises avec des Tibétains avaient été utilisées pour illustrer à quoi ressemble soi-disant un site d’exploitation minière remis en état, et notre soutien officiel du projet de loi C-300.
 
A l’automne, le CCT a lancé sa campagne Quand faut-il établir les limites ? When do you draw the line? de façon à ce qu’elle coïncide avec le Forum d’affaires du CCBC. L’inscription du CCT au forum en tant que participant ayant été rejetée par le CCBC, nous en avons appelé au conférencier invité, l’Honorable Stockwell Day, ministre du Commerce international, pour qu’il décline l’invitation. En raison d’autres engagements, M. Day n’a pas assisté au Forum.
 
Enfin, le CCT a contribué à changer les termes du débat concernant les relations du Canada avec la Chine. Malgré toutes les preuves indiquant que soulever la question des droits de la personne avec le gouvernement chinois n’a aucune incidence sur le commerce, bon nombre de chefs d’entreprise ont continué à se laisser induire en erreur par cet argument trompeur avant la visite du Premier Ministre en Chine.
 
Avec la participation d’autres ONG, le CCT a effectué les analyses statistiques nécessaires démontrant que les relations commerciales entre le Canada et la Chine ne souffrent absolument pas lorsque le gouvernement canadien se lève pour défendre les droits de la personne.
 
Faits saillants de l’année :
 
Janvier
 
Visite de Mr. Lobsang Nyandak, représentant de Sa Sainteté le Dalaï Lama pour les Amériques, à Ottawa, Montréal et Toronto.
 
Mars
 
La Ville de Vancouver a proclamé mars « le mois du Tibet » à la demande du bureau de Vancouver du CCT.
 
Mai
 
En mai, le CCT a contribué à la coordination d’une audience de la famille d’Ernest Reid avec Sa Sainteté le Dalaï Lama à New York L’épouse d’Ernest Reid, son fils et sa fille ont présenté à Sa Sainteté une rétrospective de photos qu’Ernest Reid avait pris au Tibet en 1947.
 
Le directeur exécutif du CCT, Dermod Travis, a parlé lors de la Conférence des archivistes canadiens à Calgary, Alberta.
 
Septembre et octobre
 
Le CCT a fourni son soutien logistique pour l’organisation de la visite de Sa Sainteté le Dalaï Lama au Canada, et a assuré la liaison avec le gouvernement fédéral en tant qu’interlocuteur principal.
 
Novembre
 
Le CCT a organisé la 20e édition du Bazar tibétain de Montréal dans un nouveau centre beaucoup plus spacieux.
 
Ce rapport ne souligne qu’une partie de notre travail. Le succès du CCT en 2009 est dû à l’engagement de nos volontaires, donateurs et sympathisants qui démontrent continuellement qu’ils sont prêts à soutenir le Tibet lorsque les événements le demandent. Nous apprécions sincèrement votre engagement.
 
Pour en savoir plus au sujet des activités mentionnées ci-dessus, cliquez sur notre site www.tibet.ca.
 
Soyez assurés que chaque dollar que vous donnez généreusement est utilisé avec le plus grand soin pour servir la cause du Tibet. 

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank