Join our Mailing List

"I believe that to meet the challenges of our times, human beings will have to develop a greater sense of universal responsibility. It is the foundation for world peace."

Canada Tibet Committee releases Parties' views on Tibet and China

April 25, 2011

The Canada Tibet Committee today released the answers of each of the five main political parties to questions posed by the Committee regarding Tibet and China policies. Their answers are posted at www.tibet.ca/elections2011.


The questions are:


  1. Will your party support a House of Commons motion advocating for freedom of expression in Tibet and China addressing particular concern for the increased arrests of Tibetan and Chinese writers, musicians, bloggers, and intellectuals?

  2. If elected government what would your party's foreign policy be in relation to China-Canada relations and how would human rights form an integral part of that policy?

  3. Over 1.4 million Tibetan nomads and farmers have been involuntarily relocated into fixed settlement homes since 2006. If your party forms government will you call on the government of China to halt to the coercive policy of removing Tibetan nomads from the high-altitude grasslands of the Tibetan Plateau?

  4. Should your party form government will you support environmentally sustainable and culturally appropriate development assistance to Tibet while promoting better water, energy and land-use policies and agreements throughout the Hindu-Kush Himalaya region including China; as well as civil society initiatives for the benefit of Tibetans inside Tibet including nomadic peoples who have been forcibly removed from high-altitude grasslands by Chinese authorities?

  5. Under what conditions, if any, would your party support or facilitate investment by Canadian companies in Tibet?

  6. If elected government, how would your party support the current dialogue between representatives of the Tibet Government-in-Exile and the government of China?

  7. If elected government would your party agree to meet regularly with officials from the Tibet Government-in-Exile as the legitimate representative of the Tibetan people?



- 30 -


For more information:

Dermod Travis

Canada Tibet Committee

514.487.0665

dermod@tibet.ca

www.tibet.ca


News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Si nous voulons contribuer à l’avènement d’un avenir plus heureux, plus stable et plus civilisé, chacun de nous doit cultiver un sentiment sincère et chaleureux de fraternité. »

Les partis politiques répondent aux 7 questions du Comité Canada-Tibet

April 25, 2011

Le Comité Canada Tibet communique aujourd'hui les réponses aux questions qu'il avait posées à chacun des 5 principaux partis politiques au sujet du Tibet et de la politique du gouvernement chinois. Les réponses se trouvent sur : www.tibet.ca/elections2011


Les questions sont les suivantes :


  1. Votre parti appuie-t-il une motion de la Chambre des Communes demandant la liberté d'expression au Tibet et en Chine et démontrant un intérêt particulier envers les arrestations qui ne cessent d'augmenter d'écrivains, musiciens, bloggers et intellectuels tibétains et chinois ?

  2. Si vous étiez élu, quelle serait la politique étrangère de votre parti en matière de relations sino-canadiennes et comment les droits de l'Homme formeraient-ils partie intégrante de votre politique ?

  3. Plus de 1,4 million de nomades et fermiers tibétains ont été, contre leur gré, relocalisés dans des regroupements fixes de maisons depuis 2006. Si votre parti est élu au gouvernement, en appellerez-vous au gouvernement chinois pour qu'il cesse d'avoir recours à cette politique coercitive qui expulse les nomades tibétains des hauts pâturages du Plateau tibétain ?

  4. Si votre parti est élu au gouvernement, appuierez-vous une aide au développement durable du Tibet, respectant la culture tibétaine et favorisant de meilleures politiques et réglementations en matière d'eau, d'énergie et d'utilisation des terres à travers toute la région himalayenne de l'Hindu-Kush y compris la région chinoise ? Appuierez-vous les initiatives de la société civile en faveur des Tibétains du Tibet y compris les populations nomades qui ont été expulsées par la force des hauts pâturages par les autorités chinoises ?

  5. Sous quelles conditions, le cas échéant, votre parti appuierait-il ou favoriserait-il les compagnies canadiennes au Tibet ?

  6. Si votre parti est élu au gouvernement, de quelle façon votre parti encouragerait-il le dialogue entre le gouvernement tibétain en exil (TGIE) et le gouvernement chinois ?

  7. Si votre parti est élu au gouvernement, votre parti accepterait-il de rencontrer régulièrement le gouvernement tibétain en exil (TGIE) en tant que représentant légitime du peuple tibétain ?


- 30 -


Pour plus d’informations :

Dermod Travis

Comité Canada Tibet

514.487.0665

dermod@tibet.ca

www.tibet.ca


Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank