Join our Mailing List

"We Tibetans are looking for a legitimate and meaningful autonomy, an arrangement that would enable Tibetans to live within the framework of the People’s Republic of China."

New organization will oversee implementation of Tibetan resettlement project in Canada

August 21, 2012

(Montreal, August 21, 2012) – The Canada Tibet Committee (CTC) is pleased to announce that its project to develop and support a Tibetan immigration program in Canada has reached its implementation phase.  Implementation activities will be overseen by a newly-formed organization, Project Tibet Society. 

The immigration program will eventually welcome 1,000 Tibetans from Arunachal Pradesh, India to Canada.  The first group is expected to arrive in early 2013.  The resettlement of displaced Tibetans in Canada was an initiative launched following a direct appeal from the Dalai Lama in 2007.

Project Tibet Society, which is based in Victoria BC, was incorporated to support and coordinate the implementation of this project across Canada. Project Tibet Society entered into a Memorandum of Understanding with Canada's Department of Citizenship and Immigration (CIC) on June 9th, 2011.

"The launch of Project Tibet Society represents a natural evolution in the CTC's effort" said Tenzin Lhalungpa, President of the CTC Board of Directors.  "Project Tibet Society will focus on the orientation of the newly arrived Tibetans and ensure that all aspects of the initiative are carried out in accordance with the Government of Canada's Public Policy."

The project has been made possible through financial and administrative support advanced by the Canada Tibet Committee and by donations provided by individual Canadians.

There are currently 6,500 Tibetans in Canada.  Approximately 100,000 Tibetan refugees live in settlements across India and Nepal. The Central Tibetan Administration estimates that up to 1,000 Tibetans continue to leave Tibet each year, making the dangerous trek across the Himalayas.  Existing settlement camps struggle to keep up with the influx and more than 14,000 Tibetans have never received relocation assistance.

For more information about Project Tibet Society or about how to become involved in the resettlement project in Canada, visit the newly-launched website at www.projecttibetsociety.ca 


Contact:
Tenzin Lhalungpa, Canada Tibet Committee, 604-328-3530

Nima Dorjee, Project Tibet Society, 778-440-4683

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Je reste attaché au dialogue. Je suis en effet fermement convaincu que le dialogue et la volonté d’examiner clairement et honnêtement la réalité du Tibet peuvent nous conduire à une solution viable. »

Une nouvelle organisation est chargée d'implémenter le projet de relocalisation de Tibétains au Canada

August 21, 2012

(Montréal, le 21 August, 2012) – Le Comité Canada Tibet a le plaisir d'annoncer que son projet de développement et support de l'immigration de Tibétains au Canada a atteint sa phase d'implémentation. Les activités d'implémentation seront gérées par le Project Tibet Society, une organisation nouvellement formée.

Ce projet d'immigration accueillera au Canada 1,000 Tibétains d'Arunachal Pradesh, en Inde. Le premier groupe est attendu au début de 2013. La relocalisation au Canada de Tibétains déplacés est une initiative créée à la suite de l'appel du Dalai Lama en 2007.

Project Tibet Society, basé à Victoria, BC, fut incorporé afin de soutenir et coordonner l'implémentation de ce projet au Canada. Project Tibet Society a établi un Mémorandum d'entente avec le Ministère de la Citoyenneté et de l'Immigration du Canada, le 9 juin 2011.

"Le lancement du Project Tibet Society représente l'évolution naturelle des efforts du Comité Canada Tibet" a affirmé Tenzin Lhalungpa, Président du Conseil d'administration du Comité Canada Tibet. "Project Tibet Society sera axé sur l'orientation des nouveaux-arrivants Tibétains et s'assurera que tous les aspects de l'initiative se déroulent en concordance avec les lignes directrices du Gouvernement canadien en matière de politique publique."

Le projet a été rendu possible grâce au support financier et administratif du Comité Canada Tibet et aux donations de particuliers canadiens.

Actuellement il y a 6,500 Tibétains au Canada. Approximativement 100,000 réfugiés Tibétains vivent dans des camps en Inde et au Népal. L'Administration Centrale Tibétaine estime que jusqu'à 1,000 Tibétains continuent à quitter le Tibet à chaque année, par la dangereuse traversée des Himalayas. Les camps de réfugiés actuels font des efforts afin de faire face à la vague de nouveaux arrivants, pendant que plus de 14,000 Tibétains n'ont jamais reçu d'allocation de relocalisation.

Pour plus d'information sur le Project Tibet Society ou pour savoir comment s'impliquer dans le projet de relocalisation au Canada, visitez le site web nouvellement lancé:
www.projecttibetsociety.ca.

Contact:
Tenzin Lhalungpa, Comité Canada Tibet, 604-328-3530
Nima Dorje, Project Tibet Society, 778-440-4683

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank