Join our Mailing List

"For a happier, more stable and civilized future, each of us must develop a sincere, warm-hearted feeling of brotherhood and sisterhood."

CTC Board Member to serve on Tibetan “Education Advisory Committee”

August 28, 2012

The Canada Tibet Committee is pleased to announce that Board of Directors member, Mati Bernabei, has accepted an invitation from the Tibetan Department of Education to serve on its newly-convened “Education Advisory Committee”.

The goal of the Advisory Committee is to improve the standard of education within the exile Tibetan school system. The committee will be tasked with evaluating the current school system and with proposing a related action plan. The Tibetan Department of Education (Sherig) currently oversees 73 Tibetan schools in India and Nepal under different autonomous administrative bodies. There are approximately 24,000 students and 2,200 staff members in these schools. 

“Education is a key priority for Lobsang Sangay, newly-elected political leader of the Central Tibetan Administration”, Bernabei said from Vancouver. “The fact that Dr. Sangay personally heads the Department of Education is an indication of how important this objective is for the Tibetan administration and I look forward to contributing to its success.”

Ms. Bernabei has been an active member of Canada Tibet Committee’s Vancouver Chapter since Sept 1990 and was appointed to its Board of Directors in 2009.  Both her Master’s and PhD theses focus on Tibetan education.  From 2008 to 2011, Ms. Bernabei worked with the Tibetan Department of Education and Sambhota Tibetan Schools Society (STSS) to develop and implement a program that brought Canadian student teachers to India for a semester, to partner with Tibetan school teachers.  Ms. Bernabei is the recipient of the Michel Laferrier Award from the Comparative and International Education Society of Canada.  

Contact: Carole Samdup, 514-487-0665

For more information about the Tibetan Department of Education, see www.sherig.org

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Je reste attaché au dialogue. Je suis en effet fermement convaincu que le dialogue et la volonté d’examiner clairement et honnêtement la réalité du Tibet peuvent nous conduire à une solution viable. »

Une des membres du Conseil d'administration du Comité Canada Tibet va siéger sur le 'Comité de conseil sur l'éducation' de l'administration tibétaine

August 28, 2012

Le Comité Canada Tibet a le plaisir d'annoncer que Mati Bernabei, membre du Conseil de directeurs du CTC, a accepté l'invitation du Ministère de l'Éducation tibétain de siéger sur son nouveau 'Comité de conseil sur l'éducation'.

Le but du Comité de conseil est d'améliorer le standard du système d'éducation tibétain en exile. Le Comité aura à évaluer le système scolaire actuel et à proposer un plan d'action. Le Ministère de l'Éducation tibétain (Sherig) supervise présentement 73 écoles tibétaines en Inde et au Népal, sous différentes tutelles administratives. Ces écoles accueillent approximativement 24,000 étudiants et 2,200 membres du personnel.

''L'éducation est une priorité pour Lobsang Sangay, le nouveau leader politique de l'Administration Tibétaine Centrale'', affirme Bernabei, à Vancouver. ''Le fait que Dr. Sangay soit lui-même en charge du Ministère de l'Éducation est une indication de l'importance que l'Administration tibétaine accorde à cet objectif, et je souhaite pouvoir contribuer à son succès''.

Mme Bernabei est une membre active du Chapitre de Vancouver du Comité Canada Tibet, depuis septembre 1990, et siège sur le Conseil d'administration depuis 2009. Ses thèses de maîtrise et de doctorat sont axées sur l'éducation tibétaine. De 2008 à 2011, Mme Bernabei a travaillé avec le Ministère de l'Éducation tibétain et la Tibetan Schools Society (STSS) sur le développement et l'implémentation d'un programme qui a amené des enseignants du Canada en Inde, pour un partenariat avec les enseignants tibétains. Mme Bernabei a reçu le Prix Michael Laferrier, de la part de la Société d'éducation comparative et internationale du Canada.

Contact: Carole Samdup, 514-487-0665

Pour plus de renseignements sur le Ministère de l'Éducation tibétain visitez le www.sherig.org

 

 

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank