Join our Mailing List

"As long as human rights are violated, there can be no foundation for peace. How can peace grow where speaking the truth is itself a crime?"

Tibet's Political Leader to Visit Ottawa

February 20, 2013

Tibet’s Political Leader to Visit Ottawa

 Number of self-immolations inside Tibet rises to 104 as Sikyong Dr. Lobsang Sangay addresses Canadian Parliamentarians

 Montreal, February 20, 2013 - Tibet’s political leader, Sikyong Dr. Lobsang Sangay, will visit Ottawa next week when he will address the parliamentary Subcommittee on International Human Rights on Tuesday, February 26, in Room 237C (Centre Block) at 13:00. 

The parliamentary subcommittee is in the midst of a study entitled “The Human Rights Situation in Tibetan Areas of China.”  The study results from meetings between Canadian Members of Parliament and Tibetan officials during the World Parliamentarian Convention on Tibet which took place in Ottawa in April 2012.

A graduate of Harvard Law School, Dr. Sangay is an expert on international human rights law, democratic constitutionalism, and conflict resolution.  He was elected as political leader of the Tibetan people following the Dalai Lama’s devolution of political power in 2011.

The crisis of self-immolation in Tibet continues as the number of protests climbs steadily, reaching 104 this week.  In a December 6, 2012 letter, the Canada Tibet Committee asked Prime Minister Harper to convene an internal task force to consider a series of recommendations for Canadian action in response to the crisis.(1)

Dr. Sangay’s testimony in parliament will be followed by a media scrum at 14:10 outside the hearing room.

Information:

Eva Cirnu (Montreal), 514-632-6635

Herb Davis, (Ottawa), 613-406-1414

 (1)  CTC letter to Prime Minister Harper on the occasion of International Human Rights Day.

http://www.tibet.ca/en/newsroom/news_releases/317

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Si nous voulons contribuer à l’avènement d’un avenir plus heureux, plus stable et plus civilisé, chacun de nous doit cultiver un sentiment sincère et chaleureux de fraternité. »

Le leader politique tibétain en visite à Ottawa

February 20, 2013

Le leader politique tibétain en visite à Ottawa

 Le nombre des auto-immolations au Tibet monte à 104

Sikyong Dr. Lobsang Sangay témoignera devant les parlementaires canadiens

 Montréal, le 20 février, 2013 – Le leader politique tibétain, Sikyong Dr. Lobsang Sangay, sera en visite à Ottawa la semaine prochaine. Il prendra la parole devant le Sous-comité parlementaire sur les droits humains internationaux, mardi le 26 février, à 13hrs, Salle 237C (Bloc central).

Le sous-comité parlementaire réalise en ce moment une étude intitulée ‘La situation des droits humains dans les parties tibétaines de la Chine’. L’étude est le résultat des rencontres entre des membres du Parlement canadien et des représentants tibétains officiels, lors de la Convention parlementaire mondiale sur le Tibet, qui s’est déroulée à Ottawa en avril 2012.

Diplômé de l’École de Droit de l’Université Harvard, Dr. Sangay est un expert en droit international des droits humains, en constitutionalisme démocratique et en résolution de conflit. Il a été élu leader politique du peuple tibétain en 2011, à la suite de la dévolution du pouvoir par le Dalai Lama.

La crise des auto-immolations au Tibet continue à escalader, avec un nombre croissant de protestations; cette semaine, le nombre total s’élève à 104 immolations. Dans sa lettre en date du 6 décembre 2012, le Comité Canada Tibet avait demandé au Premier Ministre M. Harper de rassembler un comité interne de travail qui prenne en considération une série de recommendations pour l’action canadienne en réponse à la crise. (1)

Le témoignage de Lobsang Sangay devant le Parlement sera suivi par un scrum médiatique, à 14:10hrs, devant la salle d’audience.

 

Pour plus d’information:

Eva Cirnu (Montreal), 514-632-6635

Herb Davis (Ottawa), 613-406-1414

 

(1)   Lettre du CCT addressée au Premier Ministre Harper, à l’occasion de la Journée internationale des droits humains (en anglais).

http://www.tibet.ca/en/newsroom/news_releases/317

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank