Join our Mailing List

"I believe that to meet the challenges of our times, human beings will have to develop a greater sense of universal responsibility. It is the foundation for world peace."

Canada Tibet Committee enters joint submission to United Nations’ review of China’s human rights record

March 04, 2013

Montreal, March 4, 2013:  Today the Canada Tibet Committee, as part of a coalition of Tibet groups from around the world, entered a joint written submission to the United Nations Human Rights Council’s upcoming Universal Periodic Review of China.  This will be the second such review for China.  

“Since China’s first periodic review in 2008, the human rights situation in Tibet has deteriorated significantly”, said Carole Samdup, Executive Director of the Canada Tibet Committee.  “The upcoming review of China’s policies and actions will be a test for the UN human rights accountability system.”

During China’s first periodic review, Canada made recommendations related to human rights in Tibet, including that China should welcome an investigative mission by the UN Special Rapporteur on Freedom of Religion.  The Special Rapporteur has still not received permission to visit China.

The joint submission was prepared by the International Tibet Network and is available on the Network’s website at: https://www.tibetnetwork.org/sites/default/files/UPRSubmission.pdf

Information:  Carole Samdup (514) 487-0665

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Si nous voulons contribuer à l’avènement d’un avenir plus heureux, plus stable et plus civilisé, chacun de nous doit cultiver un sentiment sincère et chaleureux de fraternité. »

Le Comité Canada Tibet participe à la soumission de l'évaluation par les Nations Unies des droits humains en Chine

March 04, 2013

Montréal, le 4 mars 2013:  Aujourd'hui, le Comité Canada Tibet, en tant que participant à la coalition internationale de groupes de soutien au Tibet, a soumis un document au projet du Conseil des droits humains des Nations Unies intitulé Évaluation universelle périodique (Universal Periodic Review), portant sur la Chine. Ce sera la deuxième telle évaluation de la Chine.

“Depuis la première évaluation périodique, en 2008, la situation des droits humains en Chine s'est détériorée de façon significative”, affirme Carole Samdup, Directrice exécutive du Comité Canada Tibet.  “L'évaluation des politiques et des actions de la Chine sera un test du système de des Nations Unies pour la responsabilité en matière de droits humains.”

Lors de la première évaluation périodique de la Chine, le Canada avait avancé des recommandations au sujet des droits humains au Tibet, incluant l'accueil par la Chine d'une mission d'investigation du Rapporteur spécial des Nations Unies pour la liberté religieuse. Le Rapporteur spécial n'a toujours pas reçu la permission demandée.

La soumission jointe a été préparée par le Réseau international pour le Tibet (International Tibet Network) et est disponible sur le site web du réseau, en aglais seulement: https://www.tibetnetwork.org/sites/default/files/UPRSubmission.pdf

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank