Join our Mailing List

"Canada can, within a positive friendly atmosphere, ask the Chinese government to resolve the Tibetan situation."

International Women's Day: Canada Tibet Committee honours Tibetan women

March 08, 2013

International Women’s Day:  Canada Tibet Committee honours Tibetan women

March 8, 2013 - As the number of self-immolation protests continues to escalate in Tibet, Tibetan women stand at the forefront of the struggle for human rights and political freedom in their homeland.   Last week, Tsering Woeser, a Beijing-based Tibetan poet and blogger who regularly speaks out about conditions in Tibet, was awarded the International Women’s Courage Award by the Government of the United States. Woeser dedicated the award to Tibetan self-immolaters.

At least 14 of the confirmed self-immolations in Tibet have been women including seventeen- year-old Wangchen Kyi who died of her burns on December 9, 2012.  Kyi lived an area of eastern Tibet where forced displacement of nomadic communities has destroyed traditional ways of life and denied their means of subsistence.  According to witnesses, before setting herself alight, Kyi called out for the long life of His Holiness the Dalai Lama.  

Tibetan women have long been at the forefront of the Tibetan struggle. On March 8, 1959, as a national uprising loomed, women from all walks of life and various parts of Tibet gathered in the nation’s capital of Lhasa to prepare an appeal for support from the international community.  More than 5000 women took to the streets in an outstanding act of defiance.  Their protest led to arrests, torture, and long prison sentences.  Several, including leader Pema Kusang, were eventually executed in a public execution near Sera Monastery in 1970.

During the UN’s Fourth World Conference on Women in Beijing in 1995, Tibetan women again organized themselves to overcome numerous obstacles limiting their right to participate in the conference. Eventually, sixteen of eighty applicants obtained entry visas to China and were able to bring critical issues facing Tibetan women inside Tibet, including forced sterilization and denial of economic rights, to the attention of the international community.

Today, Tibetan women continue to raise their voices in defiance of intimidation and the threat of sanction or arrest.  Their actions serve as an inspiration to women around the world. On International Women’s Day, the Canada Tibet Committee salutes Tibetan women and stands in solidarity with their struggle.

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Compassion et tolérance ne sont pas des signes de faiblesse mais de force. »

Journée internationale des Femmes : le Comité Canada Tibet rend hommage aux femmes tibétaines

March 08, 2013

Journée internationale des Femmes : le Comité Canada Tibet rend hommage aux femmes tibétaines

 

8 Mars 2013 – Tandis que le nombre d’auto-immolations continue à escalader au Tibet, les femmes tibétaines sont aux premiers rangs de la lutte pour les droits humains et la liberté politique dans leur pays. La semaine passée, Tsering Woeser, poète et blogger basée à Beijing qui dénonce régulièrement les conditions de vie au Tibet, a reçu le prix International Women’s Courage Award, du Gouvernement des États Unis. Woeser a dédié le prix aux tibétains qui se sont auto-immolés.

 

Au moins 14 des auto-immolations confirmées au Tibet étaient des femmes, incluant Wangchen Kyi, âgée de 17 ans, qui est décédée suite à ses brûlures, le 9 décembre 2012. Kyi vivait dans une région de l’est du Tibet ou le déplacement forcé des communautés nomades a détruit le mode de vie traditionnel et les a privé de leurs moyens de subsistence. Selon des témoins, avant de se mettre le feu, Kyi avait lancé un appel au retour du Dalai Lama.

 

Les femmes tibétaines ont été aux premiers rangs de la lutte tibétaines, depuis très longtemps. Le 8 mars 1959, alors qu’une révolte nationale était sur le point d’éclater, des femmes de tous les milieux et de plusieurs parties du Tibet se sont ralliées dans la capitale Lhasa afin de préparer un appel à l’aide à la communauté internationale. Plus de 5000 femmes sont sorties dans les rues, dans un remarquable acte de défiance. Leurs démonstrations ont mené aux arrestations, à la torture et à des peines de prison de longue durée. Plusieurs d’entre elles, incluant le leader Pema Kusang, furent exécutées lors d’une exécution publique proche du Monastère Sera en 1970.

 

Pendant la IVème Conférence Mondiale des Nations Unies de Beijing, en 1995, des femmes tibétaines ont fait tout le possible afin de surmonter les nombreux obstacles qui limitaient leur droit de participer à la conférence. Seize des quatre-vingt postulantes ont obtenu le visa d’entrée en Chine et ont pu soulever les problèmes critiques auxquels sont confrontées les femmes tibétaines au Tibet. Ceux-ci incluaient la stérilisation forcée et le refus de l’accès aux droits économiques.

 

Aujourd’hui, les femmes tibétaines continuent à faire entendre leurs voix, en défiant l’intimidation et la menace d’arrestation qui en découlent. Leurs actions sont une inspiration pour les femmes autour du monde. C’est pourquoi, lors de la Journée internationale des Femmes, le Comité Canada Tibet salue les femmes tibétaines, en solidarité avec leur lutte.

 

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank