Join our Mailing List

"For a happier, more stable and civilized future, each of us must develop a sincere, warm-hearted feeling of brotherhood and sisterhood."

Trade Mission to China should include Human Rights Assessment

April 08, 2013

Montreal, April 8, 2013:  Minister of International Trade Ed Fast should assess the human rights risk of promoting information and communications technology (ICT) exports to China, the Canada Tibet Committee said today.

Minister Fast is currently on a trade mission to China and Japan, with a focus on promoting Canadian ICT expertise.  The delegation includes a number of business leaders from Canada’s ICT sector.

“There are numerous examples of how the Government of China uses sophisticated communications technology to identify and arrest human rights activists in Tibet” said Carole Samdup, Executive Director of the Canada Tibet Committee. “Canada has an obligation to ensure that Canadian exports do not undermine the efforts of Tibetans to monitor and report human rights violations.”

The situation in Tibet is particularly sensitive at the moment as the number of confirmed self-immolation protests has reached at least 115.   Chinese authorities have reacted to the continuing trend by destroying communications equipment used to send information to monitoring organizations outside Tibet, and by increasing electronic surveillance of cell phone and Internet activity in Tibet.

The Canada Tibet Committee does not object to trade with China.  It recommends, however, that the Government of Canada carry out due diligence, particularly in sensitive economic sectors such as ICTs.  Canada has a duty to avoid inadvertently contributing to the security apparatus of an authoritarian state with a long-standing record of human rights violations.

-30-

Selected examples of reports documenting how ICTs undermine human rights in Tibet:

1.       Alarming new surveillance, security in Tibet:  Human Rights Watch 2013. http://www.hrw.org/news/2013/03/20/china-alarming-new-surveillance-security-tibet

2.       Satellite clampdown in Malho, Radio Free Asia, 2013: http://www.rfa.org/english/news/tibet/satellite-dishes-01092013180134.html

3.       Android Trojan Found in Targeted Attack, Kapersky Lab, 2013

http://www.kaspersky.com/about/news/virus/2013/Kaspersky_Lab_identifies_targeted_attack_utilizing_malware_for_Android_devices

4.       Tracking GhostNet: Investigating a cyber-espionage network, University of Toronto, 2009: http://www.infowar-monitor.net/2009/09/tracking-ghostnet-investigating-a-cyber-espionage-network/

5.       Tracking Dissent on the High Plateau:  Communications technology on the Gormo-Lhasa railway (in “Human Rights Impact Assessments for Foreign Investment Projects”, p.59-80). Rights & Democracy, 2007: http://publications.gc.ca/collections/collection_2007/dd-rd/E84-21-2007E.pdf

 

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Nous, les Tibétains, aspirons à une autonomie légitime et véritable, un arrangement qui permettrait aux Tibétains de vivre au sein de la République populaire de Chine. »

La mission de commerce en Chine devrait inclure une évaluation des droits humains

April 08, 2013

1.       Montréal, le 8 avril 2013:  Le Ministre du Commerce Extérieur, M. Ed Fast, devrait évaluer le risque relié à l’exportation des TIC (technologies de l’information et des communications) en Chine, selon le Comité Canada Tibet.

M. Fast est présentement en mission de commerce en Chine et au Japon, visite qui met l’accent sur la promotion de l’expertise canadienne dans le domaine des TIC. La delegation inclut plusieurs chefs d’entreprise du secteur canadien des TIC.

 

‘Il y a de nombreux exemples de la manière dont le gouvernement chinois utilise des technologies de communication sophistiquées afin d’identifier et d’arrêter des activistes des droits humains au Tibet’, a déclaré Carole Samdup, directrice exécutive du Comité Canada Tibet. ‘Le Canada a l’obligation de s’assurer que les exportations canadiennes ne briment pas les efforts des Tibétains de monitoriser et de reporter sur les violations des droits humains’.

 

La situation au Tibet est particulièrement sensible présentement, avec au moins 115 auto-immolations confirmées. Les autorités chinoises ont réagi à cette vague d’immolations en détruisant de l’équipement de communications qui servait à envoyer des infomations aux organizations en dehors du Tibet, et en augmentant la surveillance électronique des téléphones cellulaires et des activités sur l’internet, au Tibet.

 

Le Comité Canada Tibet n’a pas d’objection envers le commerce avec la Chine. Par contre, l’organisation recommande au gouvernement canadien de faire preuve de diligence, surtout dans des domaines aussi sensibles que celui des TIC. Le Canada a le devoir d’éviter de contribuer, de façon inadvertente, à l’appareil sécuritaire d’un état autoritaire qui a un long historique de violations des droits humains.

 

-30-

 

Exemples de rapports qui documentent les façons dont les TIC nuisent aux droits humains au Tibet (en anglais):

 

1.       Alarming new surveillance, security in Tibet:  Human Rights Watch 2013. http://www.hrw.org/news/2013/03/20/china-alarming-new-surveillance-security-tibet

2.       Satellite clampdown in Malho, Radio Free Asia, 2013: http://www.rfa.org/english/news/tibet/satellite-dishes-01092013180134.html

3.       Android Trojan Found in Targeted Attack, Kapersky Lab, 2013

http://www.kaspersky.com/about/news/virus/2013/Kaspersky_Lab_identifies_targeted_attack_utilizing_malware_for_Android_devices

4.       Tracking GhostNet: Investigating a cyber-espionage network, University of Toronto, 2009: http://www.infowar-monitor.net/2009/09/tracking-ghostnet-investigating-a-cyber-espionage-network/

5.       Tracking Dissent on the High Plateau:  Communications technology on the Gormo-Lhasa railway (in “Human Rights Impact Assessments for Foreign Investment Projects”, p.59-80). Rights & Democracy, 2007: http://publications.gc.ca/collections/collection_2007/dd-rd/E84-21-2007E.pdf

 

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank