Join our Mailing List

"As long as human rights are violated, there can be no foundation for peace. How can peace grow where speaking the truth is itself a crime?"

Canada Tibet Committee appeals for government action to secure release of Tibet's Panchen Lama

April 24, 2013

CANADA TIBET COMMITTEE

Media release:  April 25, 2013

Contact:

Carole Samdup (English): 514-487-0665

Eva Cirnu (Français): 514-632-6635

 

Canada Tibet Committee appeals for government action

to secure the release of Tibet’s Panchen Lama

 

Montreal, April 25, 2013 – The Office of Religious Freedom should leverage Canada’s bilateral relationship with China to secure the unconditional release of Gendun Choekyi Nyima, the 11th Panchen Lama of Tibet and Tibet’s second highest spiritual leader, the Canada Tibet Committee said today (1).

 April 25, 2013 marks the 24th birthday of the Panchen Lama of Tibet who was abducted from his home in Nagchu District in May 1995 at age six.  Neither he nor his parents have been seen or heard from since. Chinese authorities have admitted holding the boy “for his own protection” (2).  Given the Panchen Lama’s senior position in Tibetan Buddhism, his continued detention violates religious freedom in Tibet.

 “The Government of Canada has made religious freedom its human rights priority,” said Carole Samdup, Executive Director of the Canada Tibet Committee.  “Efforts by the new Ambassador for Religious Freedom to visit Tibet and to press for release of the Panchen Lama will be a clear indication that Canada is serious about its commitment.”

 Traditionally the Panchen Lama has been described as the “moon to the Dalai Lama’s sun” and together they form the spiritual center of Tibetan Buddhism.  Throughout history, the Panchen Lama and the Dalai Lama have played key roles in the selection of each other’s reincarnations. 

 “By controlling the Panchen Lama, China hopes to control the naming of the next Dalai Lama and consequently the spiritual lineage of Tibet” Samdup said.  “This will only exacerbate tensions in Tibet and set the stage for more conflict.”

 The Government of Canada has raised the Panchen Lama case with Chinese authorities on several occasions since 1995, including by delivering 1000 birthday cards from Canadian children in 1998 (3).  To date, Chinese authorities have not provided any verifiable information to Canada about the boy’s safety or whereabouts.

 -30-

 Notes:

 (1)   An online petition for the Panchen’s Lama’s release is found here: http://www.freepanchenlama.org/take-action/

 (2)   In May 1996 Chinese delegates at the United Nations Committee on the Rights of the Child admitted that the boy and his family were being held in custody “for their own protection”. 

 In September 1996, delegates of the Chinese “Ethnic Affairs Commission” confirmed in a meeting held at the Canadian Human Rights Foundation in Montreal, that Chinese authorities were holding Gendun Choekyi Nyima and his family saying that he was “healthy and that he is studying to become a monk”.  

 In 2000, during a bilateral dialogue meeting on human rights, European Union and British officials were shown 2 photographs of a young boy allegedly proving that he was alive and well.  Forensic analysis later indicated that the photographs were not Gendun Choekyi Nyima. 

 In August 2001, Chinese authorities promised photographs to a Polish delegation to Tibet but the delegation was later told that the boy was "far away" from Lhasa and so the pictures could not be obtained immediately.

 In October 2001, an Australian delegation was told that the parents of Gendun Choekyi Nima were insisting that no foreign delegations be allowed to meet with him.  According to Chinese authorities, the parents have said that "they want their privacy respected, that they don't particularly want people to have access to the child and they want him to live a normal life and they don't want to be bothered by people". 

(3)   In response to a Canada Tibet Committee campaign in 1998, the Government of Canada agreed to deliver over 1000 birthday cards addressed to Gendun Choekyi Nyima to authorities in Beijing.  The cards were signed by children from across Canada.   Canadian Minister of Foreign Affairs, Lloyd Axworthy, wrote to the CTC on May 7, 1998 saying, “I have agreed to forward the birthday cards to the Chinese authorities through our embassy in Beijing… we cannot be assured that the cards will be delivered, but the fact that Canadians have not forgotten the Panchen Lama will be noted.”

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Le Canada peut, dans une atmosphère cordiale et constructive, demander au gouvernement chinois de résoudre la situation du Tibet. »

Le Comité Canada Tibet demande au gouvernement canadien d’agir en faveur de la libération du Panchen Lama du Tibet

April 24, 2013

COMITÉ CANADA TIBET

 Contact:

Eva Cirnu (Français): 514-632-6635

Carole Samdup (English): 514-487-0665

 
 Le Comité Canada Tibet demande au gouvernement canadien

d’agir en faveur de la libération du Panchen Lama du Tibet

 

Montréal, le 25 avril 2013 – ‘Le Bureau de la liberté de religion devrait utiliser ses relations bilatérales avec la Chine afin d’assurer le liberation inconditionnelle de Gendun Choekyi Nyima, le 11e Panchen Lama du Tibet, le 2e plus haut chef spirituel du Tibet’, a affirmé aujourd’hui le Comité Canada Tibet (4).

 Le 25 avril 2013 marque le 24e anniversaire du Panchen Lama, enlevé de sa résidence du District Nagchu en mai 1995, à l’âge de 6 ans. Ni lui ni sa famille n’ont été revus depuis. Les autorités chinoises ont reconnu avoir enlevé l’enfant ‘pour sa propre protection’(5). Étant donné sa haute position dans le bouddhisme tibétain, sa détention constitue une violation de la liberté de religion du Tibet.

 ‘Le Gouvernement du Canada a fait de la liberté de religion sa priorité en matière de droits humains’, a affirmé Carole Samdup, Directrice Exécutive du Comité Canada Tibet. ‘Des efforts du nouvel Ambassadeur de la liberté de religion de visiter le Tibet et d’insister pour que le Panchen Lama soit libéré seraient une indication claire du fait que le Canada est sérieux dans son engagement’.

 De façon traditionnelle, le Panchen Lama a été décrit comme ‘la Lune pour le Soleil du Dalai Lama’, et ensemble, ils forment le centre spirituel du bouddhisme tibétain. À travers l’histoire, le Panchen Lama et le Dalai Lama ont joué des rôles clé dans la sélection des réincarnations respectives.

 ‘En contrôlant le Panchen Lama, la Chine espère contrôler la nomination du prochain Dalai Lama et donc de la lignée spirituelle du Tibet’ a affirmé Samdup. ‘Ceci ne fera qu’exacerber les tensions au Tibet et ouvrira la voie à un conflit grandissant’.

 Le Gouvernement du Canada a soulevé le cas du Panchen Lama auprès des autorités chinoises à plusieurs reprises depuis 1995. Ainsi, le gouvernement avait envoyé 1000 cartes de souhaits venant de la part d’enfants canadiens, en 1998 (6). Jusqu’à présent, les autorités chinoises n’ont pas fourni d’information vérifiable au Canada, au sujet de la sécurité ou de l’endroit ou se trouve le garçon.

 -30-

 Notes:

 (1)               Une pétition internationale pour la libération du Panchen Lama est disponible en ligne : http://www.freepanchenlama.org/take-action/

 (2)               En mai 1996 des délégués chinois ont admis au Comité des Nations Unies sur les droits des enfants que le garçon et sa famille étaient détenus ‘pour leur propre protection’.

En septembre 1996, des délégués de la Commission des affaires ethniques chinoise ont confirmé, lors d’une rencontre à la Fondation canadienne des droits de la personne, à Montréal, que les autorités chinoises détenaient Gendun Choekyi Nyima et sa famille. Ils ont ajouté qu’il était ‘en santé et qu’il étudiait afin de devenir moine’.

En 2000, lors d’une rencontre de dialogue sur les droits de la personne, des représentants britanniques et de l’Union européenne ont reçu des photos d’un jeune garçon censées prouver qu’il allait bien. L’analyse ultérieure a démontré qu’il ne s’agissait pas de photos de Gendun Choekyi Nyima. 

En août 2001, les autorités chinoises ont promis des photographies à une délégation polonaise, mais plus tard ont affirmé que le garçon se trouvait ‘loin de Lhasa’ et que des photos ne pourraient pas être obtenues immédiatement.

 En octobre 2011, les autorités chinoises ont déclaré aux membres d’une délégation australienne que les parents de Gendun Choekyi Nyima insistaient que l’on ne permette pas aux délégations étrangères de le rencontrer. Selon les autorités chinoises, ses parents ont affirmé qu’ils ‘voulaient que leur vie privée soit respectée, qu’ils ne voulaient pas nécessairement que les gens aient accès à l’enfant, qu’ils voulaient avoir une vie normale, sans être dérangés’.

 3)               Suite à la campagne du Comité Canada Tibet, en 1998, le gouvernement canadien a accepté de livrer aux autorités de Beijing 1000 cartes de souhaits adressées à Gendun Choekyi Nyima. Les cartes étaient signées par des enfants de partout au Canada. Le Ministre canadien des Affaires étrangères, Lloyd Axworthy, avait écrit au Comité Canada Tibet le 7 mai 1998 : ‘J’ai accepté d’envoyer les cartes de souhaits aux autorités chinoises, par notre ambassade à Beijing…nous ne pouvons pas nous assurer qu’elles seront livrées, mais le fait que les Canadiens n’ont pas oublié le Panchen Lama sera noté’.

 

 

 

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank