Join our Mailing List

"Canada can, within a positive friendly atmosphere, ask the Chinese government to resolve the Tibetan situation."

Dalai Lama Representative to visit to Ottawa

November 25, 2013

November 25, 2013 – The newly-appointed Representative of His Holiness the Dalai Lama to the Americas, Mr. Kelsang Aukatsang, will make his first visit to Ottawa on December 4, 2013.  Mr. Aukatsang’s mandate covers both North and South America.  He is based in New York.

While in Ottawa, Mr. Aukatsang will address a meeting of the Canadian Parliamentary Friends of Tibet (PFT), an all-party grouping of more than forty members of parliament and senators.  The PFT was created in 1989 in the wake of a mass uprising in Tibet.  Among its activities, the PFT has hosted Dalai Lama visits to Ottawa, organized parliamentary hearings, run an internship program for young Tibetans, and hosted the World Parliamentarian Convention on Tibet in 2012.

“The people of Canada have always been strong supporters of the Tibetan struggle for human rights,” said Carole Samdup, Executive Director of the Canada Tibet Committee.  “It’s fitting that Mr. Aukastang meets with our representatives in Ottawa and that he encourages them to continue speaking out for Tibet.”

Mr. Aukatsang’s visit comes as the first wave of new Tibetan immigrants is set to arrive in Canada as part of a program that will welcome 1000 displaced Tibetans now living in the Indian state of Arunachal Pradesh.  There are currently approximately 7000 Tibetans in Canada.

*    *    *    *

Kelsang (Kaydor) Aukatsang:

Mr. Kelsang Aukatsang assumed the post of Representative of His Holiness the Dalai Lama to the Americas in September 2013.

Before taking up the post, Mr Aukatsang served as a Special Adviser to the Honorable Sikyong Dr. Lobsang Sangay, the democratically elected leader of the Tibetan people. Prior to that, Mr Aukatsang was President of the Tibetan Association of Northern California; Development Director at the Natural Capital Institute; and Philanthropic Adviser with the Tides Foundation.

Mr. Kaydor Aukatsang holds BA degree from St. Stephen’s College, University of Delhi, India, and MA degree in International Business and Politics from the Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy, Tufts University, Boston, USA.

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Nous, les Tibétains, aspirons à une autonomie légitime et véritable, un arrangement qui permettrait aux Tibétains de vivre au sein de la République populaire de Chine. »

Visite du représentant du Dalai Lama à Ottawa

November 25, 2013

25 novembre 2013 – Le nouveau représentant de Sa Sainteté le Dalai Lama sur le continent américain, M. Kelsang Aukatsang, fera sa première visite à Ottawa le 4 décembre 2013. Le mandat de M. Aukatsang couvre à la fois l’Amérique du Nord et l’Amérique du Sud. Il est basé à New York. 

Lors de sa visite à Ottawa, M. Aukatsang prendra la parole à l’occasion d’une rencontre de l’Association canadienne des parlementaires amis du Tibet (PFT), un groupe de plus de quarante députés et sénateurs issus de partis différents. Le PFT a été créé en 1989 au lendemain de soulèvements massifs au Tibet. Dans le cadre de ses activités, le PFT a accueilli le Dalai Lama à Ottawa, organisé des audiences parlementaires, dirigé un programme de stages à l’intention de jeunes Tibétains, et organisé la Convention mondiale des parlementaires pour le Tibet en 2012.  

« Le peuple canadien a toujours été fervent défenseur de la lutte tibétaine pour les droits de l’homme », a déclaré Carole Samdup, directrice exécutive du Comité Canada Tibet. « Il est donc approprié que M. Aukatsang rencontre nos représentants à Ottawa et les encourage à continuer de plaider pour la cause tibétaine. » 

La visite de M. Aukatsang intervient alors qu’une première vague d’immigrants tibétains devrait arriver au Canada dans le cadre d’un programme qui accueillera 1000 réfugiés tibétains vivant pour le moment dans l’état indien de l’Arunachal Pradesh. Environ 7000 Tibétains vivent actuellement au Canada.

- - - - - - - - - - - - -

M. Kaydor Aukatsang:

M. Kaydor Aukatsang a été nommé au poste de représentant de Sa Sainteté le dalaï-lama pour les Amériques en septembre 2013.

Avant d’accéder à ce poste, M. Aukatsang a été conseiller spécial auprès de l’honorable Sikyong Dr. Lobsang Sangay, chef démocratiquement élu du peuple tibétain.

Auparavant, M. Aukatsang a successivement été président de l’Association tibétaine de la Californie du Nord, directeur du développement au Natural Capital Institute et conseiller philanthropique de la Fondation Tides.

M. Kaydor Aukatsang est titulaire d’un baccalauréat du St. Stephen’s College, Université de Delhi, en Inde, et d’une maîtrise en Commerce international et politique de la Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy, Tufts University, Boston (É.-U.).

 

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank