Join our Mailing List

"For a happier, more stable and civilized future, each of us must develop a sincere, warm-hearted feeling of brotherhood and sisterhood."

Tibet’s Political Leader to visit Canada

February 23, 2014

Contact:  Carole Samdup (514) 512-4665

 

Tibet’s Political Leader to visit Canada

Vancouver, February 24, 2014:  Tibet’s political leader, Dr. Lobsang Sangay, will make his second visit to Canada since being elected as the head of the Central Tibetan Administration in 2011. 

Dr. Sangay will visit Vancouver and Calgary from February 25-28, 2014.  He is scheduled to meet with local Tibetan communities and with the first Tibetans to arrive under a Government of Canada program that will welcome up to 1000 displaced Tibetans from the Indian state of Arunachal Pradesh.[1] While in Vancouver and Calgary, Sangay will also have the opportunity to meet with academics and other prominent Canadians.

Exactly one year ago, on February 26, 2013, Dr. Sangay testified in the Canadian Parliament about the deteriorating situation in Tibet.  The Parliamentary Subcommittee on International Human Rights, which hosted the hearing as part of its study entitled “Human Rights in Tibetan Areas of China”, has yet to issue a concluding statement or report. [2]

“During the past year, repression in Tibet has escalated to an alarming degree” said Carole Samdup, Executive Director of the Canada Tibet Committee. “New limitations on religious freedom accompanied by a harsh crackdown on political dissent demand increased pressure from the international community, particularly as China prepares its response to the recent UN review of its human rights record.” [3]

Dr. Sangay is in North America to accompany His Holiness the Dalai Lama on a three-week visit to the United States.

-30-

[1]        For more information about the Government of Canada immigration program for Tibetans, visit www.projecttibetsociety.ca

[2]        Dr. Sangay’s testimony at the Parliamentary hearing is available at: http://www.parl.gc.ca/HousePublications/Publication.aspx?DocId=6005528&Language=E&Mode=1&Parl=41&Ses=1  The Canada Tibet Committee’s written submission to the Parliamentary study is available at: http://tibet.ca/en/newsroom/news_releases/324

[3]        Canada Tibet Committee recommendations to the Government of Canada ahead of China’s Universal Periodic Review are found here: http://tibet.ca/en/newsroom/news_releases/336

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Si nous voulons contribuer à l’avènement d’un avenir plus heureux, plus stable et plus civilisé, chacun de nous doit cultiver un sentiment sincère et chaleureux de fraternité. »

Le dirigeant politique du Tibet visiterait le Canada

February 23, 2014

Contactez: Carole Samdup (514) 512-4665

 

Le dirigeant politique du Tibet visiterait le Canada

Vancouver, le 24 février 2014 : Le dirigeant politique du Tibet, Dr. Lobsang Sangay fera sa deuxième visite au Canada depuis son élection à la tête de l’administration centrale Tibétaine en 2011.

Dr. Sangay visitera Vancouver et Calgary du 25 au 28 février 2014. En premier lieu il est prévu que le Dr. Sangay rencontre les communautés locales Tibétaines  et ensuite avec les premiers Tibétains à arriver grâce à un programme du gouvernement Canadien qui accueillera près de 1000 Tibétains déplacés de l’état Arunachal Pradesh en Inde. Lors de son séjour à Vancouver et à Calgary, Sangay aura également l’opportunité de rencontrer d’autres professeurs et membres influents de la société Canadienne.

Il y a exactement un an, le 26 février 2013, Dr. Sangay a témoigné auprès du Parlement Canadien de la détérioration des droits de l’homme au Tibet. Le sous-comité du parlement sur les droits de l’homme internationaux, qui a accueilli la séance comme une partie de leur étude intitulée « Droits de l’homme dans les régions Tibétaines de la Chine », n’a pas encore formulé de déclaration finale ou de conclusion sur la séance.

« Lors de la dernière année, la répression au Tibet s’est aggravée de façon alarmante », confirme Carole Samdup, Directrice exécutive du Comité Canadien pour le Tibet. « Les nouvelles limitations sur la liberté religieuse, accompagné de la répression sévère sur les dissidents politiques exige plus d’attention de la part de la communauté internationale, particulièrement maintenant que la Chine prépare sa réponse au dernier examen que les Nations Unies ont performé sur leur dossier des droits de l’homme. »

Dr. Sangay est en Amérique du Nord pour accompagner sa Sainteté le Dalai Lama pour une visite de trois semaines aux États-Unis.

1.      Pour plus d’information sur le programme du gouvernement Canadien sur l’immigration des Tibétains, visitez www.projecttibetsociety.ca

2.      Le témoignage du Dr. Sangay est disponible au http://www.parl.gc.ca/HousePublications/Publication.aspx?DocId=6005528&Language=E&Mode=1&Parl=41&Ses=1  . La déposition écrite soumise au dossier du Parlement par le Comité Canadien pour le Tibet est disponible au http://tibet.ca/en/newsroom/news_releases/324

3.      Les recommandations à propos de l’Étude périodique universelle de la Chine qui arrive prochainement ont étés soumises au Gouvernement Canadien, de la part du Comité Canadien pour le Tibet. Le contenu peut être trouvé ici :

http://tibet.ca/en/newsroom/news_releases/336

 

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank