Join our Mailing List

"I believe that to meet the challenges of our times, human beings will have to develop a greater sense of universal responsibility. It is the foundation for world peace."

CTC welcomes renown Tibetan singer for Montreal appearance

March 11, 2014

Renowned Tibetan singer Techung to perform in Montreal

Montreal, March 11, 2014:  Tibetan folk and freedom singer/songwriter Techung will perform in Montreal at a benefit dinner for the Lhasa classical music recording project. The event takes place Saturday, March 15 at 7pm, at OM Tibetan Restaurant, 4382 St-Laurent Blvd.

Techung’s Montreal appearance follows shortly after his performance in New York City alongside Philip Glass, Iggy Pop and other music icons. His visit to Montreal is a rare opportunity to hear traditional and contemporary Tibetan music live. In the context where the Tibetan music and performing arts are under siege in Tibet, Techung’s talent is a valuable contribution to the preservation of the fascinating Tibetan culture.

In addition to being looked upon as one of the key keepers of traditional Tibetan musical traditions, Techung is also respected for his original solo and collaborative world music. He has had the honour of opening for the Dalai Lama's public events on numerous occasions, as well as performing in the Tibetan Freedom Concert series, alongside the Beastie Boys, U2, REM and others.

The aim of the the Lhasa traditional classical music recording project is to release a double album of traditional Tibetan music that will be freely distributed to schools, monastic and artistic institutions, as well as made freely available for download. 

The event is organized by the Canada Tibet Committee and the Tibetan Cultural Association of Quebec. The dinner will be followed by a party, also at OM. This is a great opportunity for those who cannot attend the dinner to meet Techung, get CD copies signed, and contribute to the fundraiser.

Dinner: 20$
plus voluntary contribution for the fundraiser

-  30 -  

Techung is available for interviews in Montreal: March 15 through March 20, 2014.

For more information: www.techung.com

 

Contact:

Eva Cirnu – eva.cirnu@tibet.ca

Carole Samdup – 514-512-4665

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Si nous voulons contribuer à l’avènement d’un avenir plus heureux, plus stable et plus civilisé, chacun de nous doit cultiver un sentiment sincère et chaleureux de fraternité. »

Le fameux chanteur tibétain Techung en concert à Montréal

March 11, 2014

                       Le fameux chanteur tibétain Techung en concert à Montréal
 

Montréal, le 11 mars 2014: Le chanteur et compositeur tibétain Techung fera une prestation à Montréal lors du Souper bénéfice pour le Projet d’enregistrement de musique classique de Lhassa. L’évènement aura lieu le 15 mars, 19hrs, au Restaurant tibétain OM, 4382 Boul. St-Laurent.

Peu avant sa visite, Techung sera en concert avec Philip Glass, Iggy Pop et autres, à New York. Son concert à Montréal, dans un cadre convivial et intime, sera une belle occasion de découvrir la musique traditionnelle et contemporaine tibétaine. Dans le contexte où la musique tibétaine est menacée au Tibet, la carrière de Techung est une importante contribution à la préservation de la fascinante culture tibétaine.

Techung est considéré comme l’un des porteurs des traditions musicales tibétaines. Il a su aussi se remarquer par sa carrière solo et collaborative, encrée autant dans son propre héritage que dans d’autres traditions musicales du monde. Il a eu l’honneur de jouer lors des conférences du Dalai Lama, à de nombreuses reprises; il a aussi participé à tous les concerts de la série Tibetan Freedom, avec les Beastie Boys, U2, REM et d’autres.

 

Le but du Projet d’enregistrement de musique classique de Lhassa est de lancer un double album de musique traditionnelle tibétaine qui sera distribué gratuitement dans les écoles, institutions artistiques, monastères et communautés culturelles tibétaines. L’album sera aussi disponible gratuitement en téléchargement.

 

L’évènement est organisé par le Comité Canada Tibet en collaboration avec l’Association culturelle tibétaine du Québec. Le souper sera suivi par un ‘party’, toujours au Restaurant OM. Ce sera une belle occasion de rencontrer Techung, d’acheter et faire signer ses CDs ou de contribuer au projet de levée de fonds.

 

15 mars 2014 – 19hrs

Souper: 20$
Contribution volontaire pour la levée de fonds

Restaurant OM, 4382 Boul. St-Laurent, Montréal

 

 

-          30 –

 

 

Techung est disponible pour des entrevues, à Montréal, du 15 mars au 20 mars 2014.

Pour plus d’informations: www.techung.com

 

Contact:

Français : Eva Cirnu – eva.cirnu@tibet.ca

English : Carole Samdup – 514 487 0665

www.tibet.ca

 

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank