Join our Mailing List

"Canada can, within a positive friendly atmosphere, ask the Chinese government to resolve the Tibetan situation."

Canada Tibet Committee announces expanded Board of Directors

April 29, 2014

Montreal, April 29, 2014 – The Canada Tibet Committee is pleased to announce the election of an expanded Board of Directors, who will provide both policy and operational oversight to the organization for a renewable two-year term effective immediately.  The Directors assume their responsibilities as the CTC completes an organizational re-structuring and substantive website update. 

New Directors include former Canadian Senator, the Hon. Consiglio DiNino, McGill University professor Lara Braitstein, and former CTC National Director Luisa Durante.  A full list of Directors with their bios is available at http://tibet.ca/en/about_us/our_team.

“It is with great pleasure that I extend a warm welcome to our new Board members” said Tenzin Lhalungpa, CTC President.  “The energy they bring to the CTC will inspire our renewed efforts on behalf of the Tibetan cause.”

“The Tibetan cause is one that I believe in deeply” Consiglio DiNino added.  “I value this opportunity to serve His Holiness the Dalai Lama by promoting his visionary Middle Way Approach and by encouraging its continued support from the Government of Canada.”

The revised CTC website, accessible in both of Canada’s official languages, features the “Talk Tibet” blog, an updated campaigns page, activist resources, and a unique searchable archive of more than 20,000 news articles dating back to 1992. 

The changes take effect at a critical moment in Tibet’s history.  China’s crackdown on religious freedom, economic rights, and freedom of expression has intensified in recent months amidst continued self-immolation protests now totalling 131 since 2009.

The Canada Tibet Committee defends and promotes human rights and democratic freedoms of the Tibetan people.  The CTC monitors developments inside Tibet and builds public awareness in Canada through its outreach activities.  The CTC encourages support for Tibet from the Government and Parliament of Canada.  

 

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Compassion et tolérance ne sont pas des signes de faiblesse mais de force. »

Le Comité Canada Tibet annonce l’élargissement de son Conseil d’administration

April 29, 2014

Montréal, 29 avril 2014 – Le Comité Canada Tibet a le plaisir d’annoncer l’élection d’un Conseil d’administration élargi, en fonction dès maintenant. Le Conseil aura la responsabilité de guider l’organisation, tant au niveau opérationnel que des politiques, pendant un mandat renouvelable de deux ans. Les membres du Conseil entrent en fonction alors que le Comité Canada Tibet (CCT) complète son processus de restructuration et de mise à jour de son site web.

Les nouveaux membres du Conseil incluent l’ancien sénateur canadien Hon. Consiglio DiNino, Dr. Lara Braitstein, professeur à l’Université McGill et Luisa Durante, ancienne directrice nationale du Comité Canada Tibet. Une liste complète des membres du Conseil et leurs biographies peut être consultée à l’adresse http://www.tibet.ca/fr/about_us/our_team.

“C’est avec grand plaisir que j’accueille les nouveaux membres du Conseil” a affirmé Tenzin Lhalungpa, Président du Comité Canada Tibet. “L’énergie qu’ils apportent au Comité va renouveler nos efforts au nom de la cause tibétaine.”

“Je crois profondément à la cause tibétaine” a ajouté Consiglio DiNino. “J’apprécie beaucoup la chance de pouvoir servir Sa Sainteté le Dalai Lama, en promouvant sa vision de la Voie médiane, et en encourageant le gouvernement canadien à soutenir cette cause.”

Le site web du CCT, nouvellement révisé, sera accessible dans les deux langues officielles du Canada. Parmi les nouveautés figurent le blog “Parlons Tibet”, une page dédiée aux campagnes, mise à jour, des ressources pour les activistes et une archive de recherche de plus de 20,000 articles datant depuis 1992.

Ces changements arrivent à un moment critique dans l’histoire du Tibet. La répression chinoise de la liberté de la religion, des droits économiques et de la liberté d’expression a été intensifiée pendant les derniers mois. Une vague d’auto-immolations a lieu, depuis 2009, au Tibet, avec déjà 131 tels actes de protestation.

Le Comité Canada Tibet a pour mission de défendre et promouvoir les droits de la personne et les libertés démocratiques du peuple tibétain. Le CCT suit de près l’évolution de la situation au Tibet et conscientise le public canadien par des activités de sensibilisation. Il appelle également les membres du gouvernement et du Parlement canadien à soutenir le Tibet.

 

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank