Join our Mailing List

"On my part, I remain committed to the process of dialogue. It is my firm belief that dialogue and a willingness to look with honesty and clarity at the reality of Tibet can lead us to a viable solution."

CTC joins international appeal to G7 Ministers: work together for Tibet

May 23, 2014

The Canada Tibet Committee has joined an international network of Tibet groups who are appealing to the G7 Ministers as they meet in Brussels.  The International Tibet Network is asking that G7 countries work together in support of the Tibetan issue.  Here is our letter:

                                                                             

May 21, 2014

Rt Hon William Hague, Secretary of State for Foreign & Commonwealth Affairs, UK;

Mr John Kerry, Secretary of State, United States of America;
Hon. Frank-Walter Steinmeier, Minister for Foreign Affairs of the Federal Republic of Germany;
Hon. Laurent Fabius, Minister of Foreign Affairs, France;
Hon. John Baird, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Canada;
Ms Federica Mogheri
ni, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Italy;
His Excellency Fumio Kishida, Minister for Foreign Affairs, Japan;
cc. Baroness Catherine Ashton, High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy
 
Dear Ministers,

We are writing prior to next month's G7 Summit to urge that you, as representatives of the world's most influential countries, address the deteriorating human rights situation in Tibet in both your internal discussions and final public statement.  

 
When the G8 Foreign Ministers met in April 2013 it was agreed that the G8 would take “collective responsibility and opportunity to use its influence to address some of the most pressing issues in the world”. While the final summit statement did include reference to some of the world's most pressing issues and cited instances of human rights abuses across the globe, it failed to make any reference to Tibet. This was greatly disappointing, all the more so given Tibetans in Tibet are enduring a worsening crackdown which has now seen more than 130 Tibetans setting themselves on fire as a means of protest.
 
As you know China recently faced scrutiny of its actions during its second Universal Periodic Review at the UN Human Rights Council. However, even in the light of strong criticisms and concerns arising from its review, the Chinese leadership continues to intensify its grip on Tibet by imposing severe limitations on freedom of expression and opinion, by detaining non-violent protesters without judicial process, and by interfering with cultural expression and religious tradition to the point where Tibetans believe their very existence as a people is at risk.
 
We believe this situation can be resolved only if the world’s most influential governments work together to maintain pressure on China to recognise and uphold universal values. 


]We appeal to you as G7 Ministers, based on your shared principles and responsibility to protect vulnerable populations wherever they may be.  In March this year, the original G7 nations responded to Russia’s annexation of Crimea by voting to temporarily suspend Russia from the G8. This was a clear instance of standing by your principles.

We therefore call on you to seize the Brussels meeting as an opportunity to propose collective action for Tibet and to persuade China to end the current crackdown on the Tibetan people and to re-enter negotiations with representatives of the Dalai Lama in order to find a peaceful resolution for the Tibetan people.

 
Yours sincerely,
 
Alison Reynolds

Executive Director, International Tibet Network on behalf of the following G7 and EU Member Groups:

 
CANADA:

Canadian Tibetan Association of Ontario

Canada Tibet Committee

Ottawa Tibetan Association

Students for a Free Tibet Canada

Tibetan Cultural Association of Quebec

 
EUROPEAN UNION:

Austrian Committee for Tibet

Les Amis du Tibet-Belgique

Students for a Free Tibet, Denmark

Students for a Free Tibet, Poland

The Tibet Support Committee, Denmark

Vrienden van Tibet Belgium

 
FRANCE:

Aide aux Réfugiés Tibétains

Association Drome-Ardeche Tibet

France-Tibet
NICETIBET
Objectif-Tibet

Students for a Free Tibet, France

 
GERMANY:

Tibet Initiative Deutschland

 
JAPAN:

Students for a Free Tibet, Japan

 
ITALY:

Associazione Italia-Tibet

 
UNITED KINGDOM:
Free Tibet

Students for a Free Tibet, UK

Tibetan Community in the UK

Tibet Society
 

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA:

Bay Area Friends of Tibet

Committee of 100 for Tibet

Philadelphia Tibetan Association

Students for a Free Tibet International

Tibetan Association of Southern California

Tibet Committee of Fairbanks, Alaska

Tibet Justice Centre

TIBET Michigan

United Nations for a Free Tibet

US Tibet Committee

 

The International Tibet Network is a global coalition of 185 Tibet related non-governmental organizations representing over one million individuals. Network Member organisations regard Tibet as an occupied country and are dedicated to ending human rights violations in Tibet, and to working actively to restore the Tibetan people's right under international law to determine their own political, economic, social, religious, and cultural status. See www.TibetNetwork.org

 

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Compassion et tolérance ne sont pas des signes de faiblesse mais de force. »

Lettre aux ministres des Affaires étrangères du G7: proposer une action collective en faveur du Tibet

May 23, 2014

21 Mai 2014   

                       

Monsieur  William  Hague,  secrétaire  d’Etat  aux  Affaires  étrangères  et  au Commonwealth, Grande-Bretagne ;

Monsieur John Kerry, secrétaire d’Etat, Etats-Unis ;

Monsieur  Frank-Walter  Steinmeier,  ministre  des  Affaires  étrangères, République fédérale d’Allemagne ;

Monsieur Laurent Fabius, ministre des Affaires étrangères, France ;

Monsieur John Baird, ministre des Affaires étrangères, Canada ;

Madame Federica Mogherini, ministre des Affaires étrangères, Italie ;

Son excellence Fumio Kishida, ministre des Affaires étrangères, Japon ;

Cc :  Madame  la  baronne  Catherine  Ashton,  haut-représentant  de  l’Union européenne pour les Affaires étrangères et la politique de sécurité.

 

Madame et Messieurs les ministres,

 

En  vue  du  sommet  du  G7  qui  aura  lieu  le  mois  prochain,  nous  nous adressons  à  vous,  qui  représentez  les  pays  les  plus  puissants  de  la planète,  pour  vous  demander  instamment  de  traiter,  tant  dans  vos discussions  internes  que  dans  votre  déclaration  publique  finale,  de  la situation au Tibet où les droits de l’homme ne cessent de se détériorer

 

Lorsque  les  ministres  des  Affaires  étrangères  du  G8  s’étaient rencontrés  en  avril  2013,  il  avait  été  convenu  que  les  pays  du  G8 s’engageraient  « collectivement  à  user  de  leur  influence  pour  s’attaquer à  quelques-uns  des  problèmes  mondiaux  les  plus  urgents ».  Mais,  alors que  la  déclaration  finale  du  sommet  rappelait  effectivement  certains  des problèmes mondiaux les plus cruciaux en mentionnant quelques exemples de non-respect flagrant des droits de l’homme dans le monde, il ne fut fait aucune allusion au Tibet. Cela fut d’autant plus décevant que les Tibétains subissaient au Tibet une répression accrue, ce qui a poussé au moins cent trente d’entre eux à s’immoler par le feu, en signe de protestation.

 

Comme vous le savez, Madame et Messieurs les ministres, les actions de la Chine  viennent d’être  examinées par le Conseil des droits de l’homme des Nations unies, au cours de la Revue périodique universelle. Pourtant, malgré  de  sévères  critiques, malgré  les  vives  inquiétudes    suscitées  par la  revue,  le  gouvernement  chinois  continue  à  resserrer  son  étau  sur  le Tibet  en  jugulant  la  liberté  d’expression  et  d’opinion,  en  procédant  à des  arrestations  arbitraires  de  contestataires  pacifiques  sans  le  moindre jugement,  et  en  interférant  tellement  dans  leur  expression  culturelle  et leur  tradition  religieuse  que  les  Tibétains  craignent  pour  l’identité même de leur peuple.

 

Nous  sommes  convaincus que  cet état de  fait ne pourra être  stoppé que si  les  gouvernements  les  plus  puissants  de  la  planète  s’unissent  enfin pour  exercer  une  pression  sur la Chine  afin  d’obliger  cette  dernière  à  se conformer aux valeurs universelles.

 

Nous nous adressons à vous qui, en tant que ministres du G7 partageant les mêmes valeurs, avez la responsabilité de protéger les populations les plus vulnérables où qu’elles soient. En mars de cette année, les nations du G7 originel ont réagi à l’annexion de la Crimée par la Russie en votant une exclusion temporaire de la Russie du G8. Cette mesure claire et nette était à la hauteur de vos principes.

 

Voilà  pourquoi  nous  vous  demandons  de  mettre  à  profit  la  réunion  de Bruxelles  pour  proposer  une  action  collective  en  faveur  du  Tibet  et  pour persuader la Chine de cesser sa répression actuelle à l’encontre du peuple tibétain,  en  reprenant  les  négociations  avec  les  représentants  du  dalaï-lama afin de trouver une solution pacifique à ce conflit.

 

Nous  vous  prions  de  croire,  Madame  et  Messieurs  les  ministres,  en l’assurance de notre haute considération.

 

 

Alison Reynolds

Executive Director, International Tibet Network on behalf of the following G7 and EU Member Groups:

 

CANADA:

Canadian Tibetan Association of Ontario

Canada Tibet Committee

Ottawa Tibetan Association

Students for a Free Tibet Canada

Tibetan Cultural Association of Quebec

 

EUROPEAN UNION:

Austrian Committee for Tibet

Les Amis du Tibet-Belgique

Students for a Free Tibet, Denmark

Students for a Free Tibet, Poland

The Tibet Support Committee, Denmark

Vrienden van Tibet Belgium

 

FRANCE:

Aide aux Réfugiés Tibétains

Association Drome-Ardeche Tibet

France-Tibet

NICE TIBET

Objectif-Tibet

Students for a Free Tibet, France

 

GERMANY:

Tibet Initiative Deutschland

 

JAPAN:

Students for a Free Tibet, Japan

 

ITALY:

Associazione Italia-Tibet

 

UNITED KINGDOM:

Free Tibet

Students for a Free Tibet, UK

Tibetan Community in the UK

Tibet Society

 

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA:

Bay Area Friends of Tibet

Committee of 100 for Tibet

Philadelphia Tibetan Association

Students for a Free Tibet International

Tibetan Association of Southern California

Tibet Committee of Fairbanks, Alaska

Tibet Justice Centre

TIBETMichigan

United Nations for a Free Tibet

US Tibet Committee

 

 

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank