Join our Mailing List

"As long as human rights are violated, there can be no foundation for peace. How can peace grow where speaking the truth is itself a crime?"

CTC Board of Directors welcomes His Holiness the Dalai Lama to Canada; Calls upon Canadians to STAND UP for Tibet

October 20, 2014

Contact:  Carole Samdup, 514-512-4665

 

CTC Board of Directors welcomes His Holiness the Dalai Lama to Canada

Calls upon Canadians to STAND UP for Tibet

 

October 20, 2014 – The Board of Directors of the Canada Tibet Committee (CTC) [1] extends its warm welcome to His Holiness the Dalai Lama as he makes a brief stop in Vancouver this week [2] as part of a North American tour.  This will be the Dalai Lama’s 8th visit to Canada since 1980.

“The Dalai Lama is an emissary of peace in a world that is far too focused on conflict” said Tenzin Lhalungpa, CTC President [3]. “Canadians respond to his message and that is why they come in the thousands to hear him speak.”

In the past year, the Government of China has increased its anti-Dalai Lama rhetoric and pressured other governments to distance themselves from the Tibetan leader.  Meanwhile the severity of human rights violations inside Tibet has escalated and at least 133 individuals have self-immolated in protest of China’s repressive policies.

“The Dalai Lama was awarded Honorary Canadian Citizenship in 2006” said former Senator and previous Chair of the Parliamentary Friends of Tibet (PFT), Consiglio DiNino. “Now he needs Canadians to stand up and to make their voices heard so that Ottawa keeps the Tibetan issue at the top of its bilateral relationship with China.

Members of the PFT will meet with the Dalai Lama in Vancouver where it is expected that they will discuss a range of human rights issues as well as the Dalai Lama’s proposal for constructive dialogue with China, the Middle Way Approach (Tib. Umaylam) [4]. Members of Parliament are currently undertaking a study on human rights in China, including Tibet.  The Parliamentary Subcommittee on International Human Rights is expected to conclude its study within the next months including specific recommendations to Government. [5]

“The CTC supports the Government of Canada’s public commitment to the defence of human rights and particularly of the right to religious freedom” said Lara Braitstein, author and Associate Professor of Religion at McGill University. “At this difficult time in Tibet’s history, Canadians expect that commitment to be matched with action.”

* * * * *

Visit the CTC information booth at the UBC Thunderbird Arena, Vancouver Campus, 2555 Westbrook Mall on October 23 between 08:00-16:00 to meet our representatives and to discuss what you can do for Tibet.

* * * * *

[1] The list of CTC Directors with their bios is found at http://tibet.ca/en/about_us/our_team

[2] For information about the Dalai Lama’s visit to Canada, see www.dalailamavancouver.com

[3] For a short bio of the Dalai Lama, see, http://tibet.ca/_media/PDF/en/Dalai_Lama.pdf

[4] The Middle Way Approach is described at http://mwa.tibet.net/

[5] Subcommittee testimony by the Tibetan Prime Minister, Dr. Lobsang Sangay, is found at http://www.parl.gc.ca/HousePublications/Publication.aspx?DocId=6005528&Language=E&Mode=1&Parl=41&Ses=1

 

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Je reste attaché au dialogue. Je suis en effet fermement convaincu que le dialogue et la volonté d’examiner clairement et honnêtement la réalité du Tibet peuvent nous conduire à une solution viable. »

Le Conseil d’administration du CCT salue l’arrivée de Sa Sainteté le Dalai Lama au Canada et fait appel aux Canadiens de se lever debout pour le Tibet

October 20, 2014

Contact:  Eva Cirnu, 514-632-6635  

Le Conseil d’administration du CCT salue l’arrivée de

Sa Sainteté le Dalai Lama au Canada

et fait appel aux Canadiens de se lever debout pour le Tibet

Le 20 octobre 2014Le Conseil d’administration du CCT [1] salue l’arrivée de Sa Sainteté le Dalai Lama au Canada. Il sera à Vancouver cette semaine [2] pendant sa tournée nord-américaine. Ce sera sa huitième visite au Canada depuis 1980.

Depuis un an, le Gouvernement de la Chine a accru sa rhétorique anti-Dalai Lama et a fait de la pression sur les autres gouvernements afin qu’ils prennent de la distance du leader tibétain. En même temps, au Tibet, les violations des droits humains ont augmenté, ce qui a poussé au moins 133 Tibétains à s’immoler, en signe de protestation contre les politiques repressives chinoises.

“Le Dalai Lama est un émissaire de la paix dans un monde très axé sur des conflits”, a affirmé Tenzin Lhalungpa, Président du CCT [3]. “Les Canadiens répondent à son message et c’est pourquoi ils viennent par des milliers pour l’entendre parler.”

“Le Dalai Lama a reçu la Citoyenneté Honorifique Canadienne en 2006” affirme l’ancien Sénateur et Chef du groupe des Amis parlementaires du Tibet (APT), Consiglio DiNino. “Maintenant il a besoin que les Canadiens se lèvent et fassent entendre leurs voix, pour qu’Ottawa garde le sujet du Tibet en haut de la liste de sa relation billatérale avec la Chine”.

Les membres du APT rencontreront le Dalai Lama à Vancouver afin de discuter la situation des droits humains et la proposition du Dalai Lama pour un dialogue constructif avec la Chine: l’Approche par la voie du milieu [4]. Les membres du parlement sont présentement en cours de rédiger une étude des droits humains en Chine, incluant au Tibet. Le Sous-comité parlementaire sur les droits humains internationaux devrait conclure l’étude dans les prochains mois. Celle-ci incluera des recommendations pour le Gouvernement.[5]
“Le CCT soutient l’engagement publique du Gouvernement canadien de défendre les droits humains, et particulièrement le droit à la liberté de la religion”, a affirmé Lara Braitstein, auteur et Professeur Associé de religion à l’Université McGill. “À ce moment difficile dans l’histoire du Tibet, les Canadiens s’attendent à ce que cet engagement soit refleté par des actions.”

* * * * *

Visitez le kiosque d’information du CCT à l’Aréna UBC Thunderbird, Campus Vancouver, 2555 Westbrook Mall, le 23 octobre, entre 8hrs et 16hrs, pour y rencontrer nos représentants et apprendre ce que vous pouvez faire pour le Tibet.

* * * * *

[1] La liste des membres du Conseil d’administration du CCT et leurs biographies se trouve sur http://www.tibet.ca/fr/about_us/our_team
[2] Pour de l’information sur la visite au Canada du Dalai Lama consultez www.dalailamavancouver.com

[3] Pour une courte biographie du Dalai Lama visitez http://tibet.ca/_media/PDF/en/Dalai_Lama.pdf

[4] L’Approche par la voie du milieu est présentée à l’adresse http://mwa.tibet.net/

[5] Le témoignage du Premier Ministre tibétain, Dr. Lobsang Sangay se trouve à l’adresse: http://www.parl.gc.ca/HousePublications/Publication.aspx?DocId=6005528&Language=E&Mode=1&Parl=41&Ses=1

 

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank