Join our Mailing List

"As long as human rights are violated, there can be no foundation for peace. How can peace grow where speaking the truth is itself a crime?"

CTC joins international coalition calling for immediate release of Tibetan prisoner Tenzin Delek Rinpoche on medical parole

July 03, 2015

Contact:  ctcofficeATtibet.ca

 Tenzin Delek Rinpoche, a highly respected Tibetan Buddhist monk, is known to be in extremely poor health with a serious heart condition.

Montreal, July 2, 2015 – The Canada Tibet Committee has joined an international coalition of Tibet groups [1] calling on world governments to press China for the immediate release of respected Tibetan Buddhist leader and long-term political prisoner, Tenzin Delek Rinpoche, on medical parole. Rinpoche has been held in detention for more than 13 years and is known to be in extremely poor health with a serious heart condition and high blood pressure [2].

 “Tenzin Delek Rinpoche has been wrongfully imprisoned by the Chinese authorities simply for championing Tibetan identity and culture,” said Carole Samdup, Executive Director of the Canada Tibet Committee.  “For this he has been denied basic human rights and is suffering the devastating effects of prolonged imprisonment in China.”

There are precedents of international diplomacy leading to medical parole for Tibetan prisoners [3].  An official application for medical parole was made by Rinpoche’s family in 2014 but to date authorities have not responded. The Canada Tibet Committee has appealed to the Government of Canada to seek a response from its Chinese counterparts.

 Tenzin Delek Rinpoche was arrested in April 2002. He was secretly detained for seven months and denied access to independent legal representation. In December 2002 he was sentenced to death with a 2-year reprieve on charges of “crimes of terror and incitement of separatism” [4]. His conviction was based on a confession obtained under torture by his alleged co-conspirator, Lobsang Dondrup, who was also found guilty and executed on 26 January 2003.

 Rinpoche’s case was commuted to a life sentence in 2005, and subsequently reduced to 20 years. During the trial, no evidence other than the confession of Lobsang Dondrup was offered into evidence and Tenzin Delek maintained his innocence throughout. To date, no court documents have been released, shrouding the proceedings in secrecy [4].

 Notes to Editors

1. The Australia Tibet Council, Canada Tibet Committee, Students for a Free Tibet, Tibet Initiative Deutschland and Tibet Society UK form the Tenzin Delek Rinpoche Campaign Working Group of the International Tibet Network, www.TibetNetwork.org
2. A report summarising Tenzin Delek Rinpoche’s case is available at http://tibetnetwork.org/tenzindelek_medicalparole.

3. Medical Parole Prisoners to 2005, Dui Hua 2005 http://duihua.org/wp/?p=2608 https://docs.google.com/document/d/1OVrL7HM3f3eBazrCCobhnmzXuZ5ZJUgqanFmSP_dH5Y/edit

4. Trials of a Tibetan Monk, Human Rights Watch, 2004 http://www.hrw.org/reports/2004/02/08/trials-tibetan-monk

 

 

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Je reste attaché au dialogue. Je suis en effet fermement convaincu que le dialogue et la volonté d’examiner clairement et honnêtement la réalité du Tibet peuvent nous conduire à une solution viable. »

Le Comité Canada Tibet rejoint la coalition appelant à la libération conditionnelle du prisonnier tibétain Tenzin Delek Rinpoché pour raison médicale

July 03, 2015

Contact : ctcofficeATtibet.ca

 Moine bouddhiste tibétain très respecté, Tenzin Delek est dans un état de santé extrêmement précaire et souffre d’une maladie cardiaque grave 

Montréal, le 2 juillet 2015 – Le Comité Canada Tibet a rejoint une coalition internationale de groupes pour le Tibet [1] appelant les gouvernements du monde entier à faire pression de toute urgence sur la Chine pour la libération conditionnelle pour raison médicale du chef bouddhiste tibétain et prisonnier politique de longue peine, Tenzin Delek Rinpoché. Rinpoché a été maintenu en détention pendant plus de 13 ans; il est dans un état de santé extrêmement précaire et souffre d’une maladie cardiaque grave, ainsi que de haute pression [2].

 “Tenzin Delek Rinpoché a été emprisonné à tort par les autorités chinoises, simplement pour avoir soutenu l’identité et la culture tibétaines”, affirme Carole Samdup, Directrice générale du Comité Canada Tibet. “C’est pour cela qu’on lui a refusé ses droits humains les plus fondamentaux et qu’il subit les effets dévastateurs de l’emprisonnement de longue durée, en Chine”.

 Il y a des précédents dans la diplomatie internationale qui ont conduit la Chine à mettre en libération conditionnelle pour raison médicale des prisonniers politiques tibétains [3]. Une demande officielle de libération conditionnelle pour raison médicale a été effectuée par la famille de Rinpoché en 2014 mais à ce jour les autorités n’y ont pas répondu. Le Comité Canada Tibet a fait appel au Gouvernement du Canada afin d’obtenir une réponse de la part de son homologue chinois.

 Tenzin Delek Rinpoché a été arrêté en avril 2002. Il a été secrètement détenu pendant sept mois et s’est vu refuser l’accès à une représentation juridique indépendante. En décembre 2002, il a été condamné à la peine de mort, avec un sursis de deux ans pour «crimes de terrorisme et incitation au séparatisme» [4]. Sa condamnation a été fondée sur des aveux obtenus sous la torture de son présumé complice, Lobsang Dondrup, qui a également été reconnu coupable et exécuté le 26 janvier 2003.

 La condamnation à mort de Tenzin Delek a été commuée en une peine à perpétuité en 2005 puis en un emprisonnement réduit à 20 ans. Durant le procès, il n’y a pas eu d’autres preuves présentées que les aveux de Lobsang Dondrup. Tenzin Delek a constamment clamé son innocence à l’audience. À ce jour, aucun document de la Cour n’a été diffusé, enveloppant ainsi la procédure dans le secret. [7]

 Notes aux rédacteurs

 1.      Australia Tibet Council, le Comité Canada Tibet, Students for a Free Tibet, Tibet Initiative Deutschland et Tibet Society forment le groupe de travail de la Campagne pour la libération de Tenzin Delek Rinpoché du Réseau International pour le Tibet – www.TibetNetwork.org

2.      Un bref rapport résumant le cas de Tenzin Delek Rinpoché est disponible à http://tibetnetwork.org/tenzindelek_medicalparole.

3.      Medical Parole Prisoners to 2005, Dui Hua 2005 http://duihua.org/wp/?p=2608 https://docs.google.com/document/d/1OVrL7HM3f3eBazrCCobhnmzXuZ5ZJUgqanFmSP_dH5Y/edit7. Human Rights Watch, les procès d’un moine tibétain. http://www.hrw.org/reports/2004/02/08/trials-tibetan-monk

4.      Trials of a Tibetan Monk, Human Rights Watch, 2004 http://www.hrw.org/reports/2004/02/08/trials-tibetan-monk

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank