Join our Mailing List

"On my part, I remain committed to the process of dialogue. It is my firm belief that dialogue and a willingness to look with honesty and clarity at the reality of Tibet can lead us to a viable solution."

Death in custody: Respected Tibetan leader Tenzin Delek Rinpoche

July 13, 2015

CTC calls upon Government of Canada to urge release of body to family members


Contact:  ctcofficeATtibet.ca

Canada Tibet Committee, July 13, 2015 – Charismatic Tibetan community leader, Tenzin Delek Rinpoche, has died in prison according to reports from Tibet.  The Canada Tibet Committee extends its heartfelt sympathy to Rinpoche’s family and community.

Reliable sources inside Tibet report that authorities have refused to release Rinpoche’s body to his family and that he will be cremated inside prison walls.  Rinpoche’s supporters have been gathering in and around Othok village in Nyakchuka County (ch: Yajiang) and security forces have been deployed in the area.  There are unconfirmed reports of police shooting into the crowd of mourners.

The CTC appeals to the Government of Canada to communicate with its Chinese counterparts urging the immediate release of Rinpoche’s body to his family and for restraint in the use of armed security forces.

Rinpoche, who had been an active promoter of Tibetan culture and language, spent thirteen years in prison for a crime which he did not commit.[1] Human rights organizations around the world have waged a year-long campaign to secure Rinpoche’s release on medical parole. [2]  

“The failure to win medical parole for Tenzin Delek Rinpoche represents a failure of the international community’s human rights strategy with China,” said Carole Samdup, Executive Director of the Canada Tibet Committee.  “This case is a clear indicator that quiet negotiation will not compel China to comply with basic human rights standards”.

-30-

[1] A short brief of Tenzin Delek Rinpoche’s case history is found at: http://www.tibet.ca/public/_static/TenzinDelekMedicalParole2015.pdf

[2] Information about the campaign for medical parole is found here: http://freetibetanheroes.org/take-action/

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Le Canada peut, dans une atmosphère cordiale et constructive, demander au gouvernement chinois de résoudre la situation du Tibet. »

Le grand maître tibétain Tenzin Delek Rinpoche est décédé en prison

July 13, 2015

Le CCT fait appel au Gouvernement du Canada

pour demander la remise de sa dépouille aux membres de sa famille

 

Contact:  ctcofficeATtibet.ca

Comité Canada Tibet, le 13 juillet 2015 – Tenzin Delek Rinpoche, leader communautaire aimé et respecté, est décédé en prison, selon des rapports provenant du Tibet. Le Comité Canada Tibet transmet ses condoléances les plus sincères à sa famille et communauté.

Des sources de confiance à l’intérieur du Tibet relatent que les autorités ont refusé de remettre la dépouille de Rinpoche à sa famille et planifient une crémation à l’intérieur de la prison. Les supporters de Rinpoche se sont rassemblés à l’intérieur et autour du village Othok du Comté Nyakchuka (ch: Yajiang) et les forces de sécurité y ont été déployées. Selon des rapports non-confirmés, la police a tiré dans la foule.

Le CCT fait appel au Gouvernement du Canada afin de communiquer avec ses homologues chinois et demander la remise immediate de la dépouille de Rinpoche à sa famille, ainsi que pour restreindre l’intervention des forces de sécurité.

Rinpoche, connu pour sa lutte pour la promotion de la culture et de la langue tibétaines, a passé treize ans en prison pour un crime qu’il n’a pas commis.[1] Des organisations de défense des droits humains de partout au monde avaient organisé une campagne d’un an qui visait la libération conditionnelle de Rinpoche pour des raisons médicales.

“Le fait de ne pas avoir obtenu la libération de Tenzin Delek Rinpoche pour raisons médicales représente un échec de la stratégie de la communauté internationale envers la Chine en matière des droits humains” a affirmé Carole Samdup, Directrice générale du Comité Canada Tibet. “Ce cas démontre clairement que des négociations tacites avec la Chine ne réussiront pas à la faire respecter des standards de base en matière des droits humains”.

-30-

[1] Un résumé du cas de Tenzin Delek Rinpoche se trouve à l’adresse:

http://www.tibet.ca/public/_static/TenzinDelekMedicalParole2015.pdf

[2] Pour plus d’informations sur la campagne de libération conditionnelle de Rinpoche: http://freetibetanheroes.org/take-action/

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank