Join our Mailing List

"I believe that to meet the challenges of our times, human beings will have to develop a greater sense of universal responsibility. It is the foundation for world peace."

Tibetan Democracy Day: Canada Tibet Committee launches “Sikyong2016” interview series

September 02, 2015

Candidate: Mr. Penpa Tsering, Speaker of the Tibetan Parliament-in-Exile

Hashtag:  #Sikyong2016

UPDATE:  Interviews with all 5 of the Sikyong candidates can be viewed at: www.youtube.com/tibetchannel

Montreal, September 2, 2015 – Today on the occasion of Tibetan Democracy Day, the Canada Tibet Committee has released the first in a series of interviews with declared candidates for the office of Sikyong, Tibet’s political leader [1].

The interview series provides an opportunity for Tibet supporters outside of the Tibetan community, including parliamentarians and journalists, to gain insights into the debates that are shaping Tibet’s leadership race. 

Today’s launch features a conversation with Mr. Penpa Tsering [2], currently Speaker of the Tibetan Parliament-in-Exile. 

“The passion with which Tibetans have engaged the race for Sikyong is a testament to the vibrancy of Tibet’s democracy-in-exile”, said Eva Cirnu, the Canada Tibet Committee’s representative in Dharamsala [3]. “It is a reflection of the culture of pluralism that has been fostered through the leadership of His Holiness the Dalai Lama. 

“The Canada Tibet Committee is proud to share Tibetan election debates with Canadians” added  Carole Samdup, Executive Director of the Canada Tibet Committee, “especially at this time when Canada’s election campaign is also in full swing.”

The Tibetan election will take place in two phases:  the first in October 2015 will narrow the field of candidates; the second in March 2016 will elect the Sikyong.  The process is overseen by the Tibetan Election Commission [4].

This interview series is produced for the Canada Tibet Committee by Eva Cirnu and Dominik Czartoryski in Dharamsala, India.  All declared candidates for the office of Sikyong were invited to interview for this series and all were asked the same questions.  The Canada Tibet Committee is a non-partisan organization [5].  While supporting Tibet’s democratic process, the CTC does not endorse any particular candidate in the Tibetan election.

░░░░░

[1] https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LUAGbtpAoM0

 [2] Mr. Penpa Tsering’s election facebook page is: https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100009703328899&fref=ts

[3] Eva Cirnu produces Dharamsala Dispatch, a cultural digest featured on the CTC’s Talk Tibet blog: http://www.tibet.ca/blog/en/

[4] Read more about the Tibet Election Commission at http://tibet.net/about-cta/election-commission/

[5] Canada Tibet Committee,  www.tibet.ca

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Le Canada peut, dans une atmosphère cordiale et constructive, demander au gouvernement chinois de résoudre la situation du Tibet. »

Journée tibétaine de la démocratie: Le Comité Canada Tibet lance la série d’entrevues “Sikyong2016”

September 02, 2015

Candidat: M. Penpa Tsering, Porte-parole du Parlement tibétain en exil

Hashtag:  #Sikyong2016

Montréal, 2 septembre, 2015 – Aujourd’hui, à l’occasion de la Journée tibétaine de la démocratie, le Comité Canada Tibet lance la première d’une série d’entrevues avec les candidats au poste de Sikyong, le chef politique tibétain [1].

Cette série d’entrevues offre aux supporters de la cause tibétaine en dehors de la communauté tibétaine, incluant les parlementaires et journalistes, la chance d’observer les débats de la course au poste de Sikyong du gouvernement tibétain en exil.

L’entrevue lancée aujourd’hui est une conversation avec M. Penpa Tsering [2], présentement le porte-parole du Parlement tibétain en exil.

“La passion avec laquelle les Tibétains participant à la course au poste de Sikyong témoigne du dynamism de la démocractie tibétaine en exil”, affirme Eva Cirnu, représentante du Comité Canada Tibet à Dharamsala [3]. “C’est en même temps un reflet de la culture de pluralisme issue du leadership de Sa Sainteté le Dalai Lama. 

“Le Comité Canada Tibet est fier de partager les débats des élections tibétaines avec les Canadiens” a ajouté Carole Samdup, Directrice générale du Comité Canada Tibet, “surtout au moment où le Canada se prépare lui-même aux élections.”

Les élections tibétaines auront lieu en deux phases: la première, en octobre 2015, qui servira à choisir les candidats qui resteront dans la course; et la deuxième, en mars 2016, l’étape finale qui déterminera le Sikyong. Le processus est supervisé par la Commission électorale tibétaine. [4].

Cette série d’entrevues est produite pour le Comité Canada Tibet par Eva Cirnu and Dominik Czartoryski, à Dharamsala, en Inde.  Tous les candidats déclarés ont été invités à participer à la série et à répondre aux mêmes questions. Le Comité Canada Tibet est une organisation non-partisane [5]. Le CCT soutient le processus démocratique tibétain mais ne soutient aucun candidat en particulier lors des élections.

░░░░░

 [1] https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LUAGbtpAoM0

[2] La page Facebook dédiée à la candidature de M. Penpa Tsering est: 

https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100009703328899&fref=ts 

[3] Eva Cirnu produit Dharamsala Dispatch, une série culturelle publiée sur le blog du Comité Canada Tibet, Parlons Tibet: http://www.tibet.ca/blog/en/

[4] Plus d’informations sur la Commission électorale tibétaine:  http://tibet.net/about-cta/election-commission/  

[5] Comité Canada Tibet, www.tibet.ca

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank