Join our Mailing List

"As long as human rights are violated, there can be no foundation for peace. How can peace grow where speaking the truth is itself a crime?"

Election survey results indicate strong support for Tibet among Canadian opposition parties

October 12, 2015

#IvoteTibet

 Canadian Federal Election 2015:

Opposition parties would promote renewal of Sino-Tibet dialogue

 Montreal, October 13, 2015 – Each of Canada’s four opposition parties would promote a renewal of the Sino-Tibet dialogue if they were to win next week’s federal election, according to a survey conducted by the Canada Tibet Committee. The governing Conservative Party of Canada declined requests to participate in the survey.

The four responding parties each affirmed that they would meet His Holiness the Dalai Lama and representatives of the Central Tibetan Administration should they visit Canada. [1]

The Green Party explicitly supports the Dalai Lama’s Middle Way Approach for a peaceful resolution of the Tibetan issue, while the Bloc Quebecois and the NDP support “autonomy” for Tibet within China.  The Liberal Party expressed no position on Tibet’s political status but reiterated support for “constructive dialogue”. [2]

All parties reject China’s interference in the succession process of Tibet’s religious leaders, with the exception of the Liberal Party which did not respond directly to the question.

“Tibet matters to Canadians,” said Carole Samdup, Executive Director of the Canada Tibet Committee.  “The pubic commitment by political parties to support the Tibetan issue will influence the way that thousands of Canadians across this country vote on October 19.”

Responses compiled below are provided as they were received, without editing. Translation of the questionnaire responses was kindly provided by CTC volunteers and the CTC assumes responsibility for any errors in those translations. The Liberal Party of Canada sent its response in both of Canada’s official languages; the Bloc Quebecois responded in French only; the Green Party and New Democratic Party responded in English only. 

The CTC is a non-partisan organization and does not endorse any political party. [3]

 ░░░░░░░

 Notes:

[1] The CTC notes that each party leader has already met the Dalai Lama on at least one occasion.  Two leaders - Elisabeth May and Tom Mulcair - have met personally with Sikyong Dr. Lobsang Sangay since his election as Tibet’s political leader in 2011.

 

[2] Parties were directed to background documents describing the Middle Way Approach.

[3] www.tibet.ca 

 

ELECTION 2015: TIBET SURVEY RESPONSES

 BQ = Bloc Quebecois; CPC = Conservative Party of Canada; GPC = Green Party of Canada; LPC = Liberal Party of Canada; NDP = New Democratic Party of Canada

Question 1: Does [your Party] support meaningful dialogue, without preconditions, leading to negotiations between the Government of China and envoys of the Dalai Lama for a peaceful resolution of the Tibet issue?

 BQ      Yes, the Bloc Québécois stands behind the Dalai Lama and Tibetans in their desire for autonomy and freedom.  All good faith efforts to find a suitable solution for the Tibetan people will have the support of the Bloc Québécois.

CPC    No response

GPC   Yes, as Elizabeth May said in the House of Commons: “Things have become a crisis for those in Tibet. In the words of his holiness, the Dalai Lama, ‘We must find a peaceful way forward.’”  The Green Party supports meaningful dialogue, without preconditions, leading to negotiations between the Government of China and envoys of the Dalai Lama for a peaceful resolution of the Tibet issue. Canada must not shy away from a frank dialogue with China about its oppression of the Tibetan People.

LPC    Yes, the Liberal Party of Canada has always been a strong advocate for human rights in China and Tibet and will continue to advocate for the respect of human and civil rights. We strongly encourage the government of China to work with the Tibetan people in a constructive way to resolve the Tibetan situation in a manner that fully respects human rights, international law and Tibet's cultural identity.

NDP    Yes, the NDP successfully proposed a parliamentary motion in 2007 calling for the PRC and Tibet's government-in-exile to continue engaging in "dialogue in a forward-looking manner that will lead to pragmatic solutions that respect the Chinese constitutional framework, the territorial integrity of China and fulfill the aspirations of the Tibetan people for a unified and genuinely autonomous Tibet”.

Question 2: Does [your Party] endorse the Dalai Lama’s “Middle Way” approach based on genuine autonomy for the Tibetan people within the framework of the constitution of the People’s Republic of China?

 BQ      Yes, the Bloc Québécois supports the Tibetan people in their quest for autonomy and hopes for a solution that pleases them. The Bloc Québécois therefore stands in support of the Dalai Lama’s proposal.

CPC    No response

GPC   Yes, the Green Party unequivocally supports the Dalai Lama’s Middle Way approach based on genuine autonomy for the Tibetan people within the framework of the constitution of the People’s Republic of China. The Tibetan People need freedom and this is a sensible path towards that goal.

LPC    We encourage the Chinese government to engage with the Tibetan political leadership in a spirit of constructive dialogue. Dialogue, not confrontation, is the key to resolving the violent situation in Tibet and neighbouring provinces.

NDP    Yes, the NDP supports the Dalai Lama’s advocacy of conflict resolution based on non-violence, compromise, and dialogue, as well as his desire for Tibetans to live freely and peacefully in an autonomous Tibet within the People's Republic of China.

Question 3:  Does [your Party] reject interference by the Government of China in the Tibetan Buddhist reincarnation process as a violation of the internationally recognized right to religious freedom?

BQ      Yes, attempts to control the reincarnation process of Tibetan Buddhism by the Government of China, in an effort to control the next Dalai Lama, is an unacceptable interference in the religious and spiritual life of Tibetans.

CPC    No response

 GPC    Yes, the Green Party believes that interference by the Government of China in the Tibetan Buddhist reincarnation process is a violation of the right of the Tibetan People to religious freedom. As Heiner Bielefeldt, United Nations Special Rapporteur on freedom of religion or belief said: China, in trying to interfere with reincarnation, is "really destroying the autonomy of religious communities, poisoning the relationship between different sub-groups, creating schisms, pitching off people against each other in order to exercise control."

LPC     We remain concerned about the condition of human rights for Tibetans on numerous issues, ranging from resource allocation to freedom of expression. We have taken diplomatic opportunities to raise human rights issues with Chinese officials at the highest levels. We would like to see China strengthen its role as an active member of the international community and improve human rights.

NDP    Yes, the Tibetan Buddhist reincarnation process and the selection of reincarnated lamas are matters for Tibetan Buddhists, not government regulation. The NDP has urged the Government of China to respect the freedoms of religion and association for Tibetans.

Question 4: If [your Party] forms the next Government of Canada, would its representatives: a) meet with His Holiness the Dalai Lama should he visit Canada and request such a meeting?  B) meet with representatives of the democratically-elected Central Tibetan Administration based in India, including with its political leader (Sikyong), should they visit Canada and request such a meeting? 

 BQ      Yes, the Bloc Québécois and its leader, Mr. Duceppe, will be very happy to repeat the experience and meet again with His Holiness the Dalai Lama or with representatives of the Central Tibetan Administration.

CPC    No response

GPC   Absolutely, Green Party leader Elizabeth May has met with His Holiness the Dalai Lama on anumber of occasions and will always welcome the opportunity to meet again.

The Green Party would be honoured to meet with representatives of the democratically-elected Central Tibetan Administration based in India, including with its political leader (Sikyong), should they visit Canada and request such a meeting.

LPC    The Liberal Party of Canada was proud to have supported His Holiness the Dalai Lama becoming Canada’s fifth honourary citizen. Liberal Prime Minister Paul Martin was the first Canadian prime minister to meet with His Holiness, and a Liberal government would continue this proud tradition of engagement. Liberals were thankful for the opportunity to meet with the Sikyong of the Tibetan People, Dr. Lobsang Sangay, when he appeared in front of the Subcommittee on International Human Rights in February of 2013. A Liberal government would look forward to further engagement of this sort with the Sikyong.

NDP    Yes, the NDP notes and respects the Dalai Lama's status as a Nobel Peace Prize Laureate and one of just five honorary Canadian citizens; his religious and personal leadership of the Tibetan people and Tibetan Buddhists worldwide; and his championship of human rights and respect for all living creatures. NDP Leader Tom Mulcair has previously met with the Dalai Lama and Sikyong during their visits to Canada. If requested an NDP government would most certainly meet with the Dalai Lama and representatives of the Central Tibetan Administration.

end

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Le Canada peut, dans une atmosphère cordiale et constructive, demander au gouvernement chinois de résoudre la situation du Tibet. »

Élections fédérales canadiennes 2015: Les partis de l’opposition soutiendraient le renouvèlement du dialogue sino-tibétain

October 12, 2015

#JeVoteTibet 

Élections fédérales canadiennes 2015

Les partis de l’opposition soutiendraient le renouvèlement du dialogue sino-tibétain

 
 

Montréal, le 13 octobre 2015 – Chacun des quatre partis de l’opposition canadienne  soutiendrait le renouvèlement du dialogue sino-tibétain, s’ils étaient élus lors de l’élection fédérale de la semaine prochaine. Le Parti Conservateur, présentement au pouvoir, a refusé de participer à notre sondage.

Tous les quatre partis qui ont répondu à notre sondage ont aussi affirmé qu’ils rencontreraient Sa Sainteté le Dalai Lama et les représentants de l’Administration Centrale Tibétaine, lors de leurs visites au Canada. [1]

Le Parti Vert soutient ouvertement l’Approche par la voie médiane du Dalai Lama pour une résolution pacifique de la situation au Tibet, tandis que le Bloc Québécois et le NPD soutiennent “l’autonomie” pour le Tibet, au sein de la Chine. Le Parti Libéral n’a pas exprimé sa position sur le statut politique du Tibet, au-delà de son emphase sur un “dialogue constructif”. [2]

Tous les partis rejettent l’interférence de la Chine dans le processus de succession des chefs spirituels tibétains, avec l’exception du Parti Libéral, qui n’a pas directement répondu à la question.

“Les Canadiens s’intéressent au Tibet et s’en soucient,” a affirmé Carole Samdup, Directrice générale du Comité Canada Tibet. “L’engagement public de la part des partis politiques de soutenir la cause tibétaine va influencer la façon dont des milliers de canadiens partout au pays voteront le 19 octobre.”

Les réponses compilées ci-dessous sont reproduites telles que reçues, sans modifications. La traduction des réponses au questionnaire a été réalisée par des bénévoles du Comité Canada Tibet et le CCT assume la responsabilité des éventuelles erreurs qui pourraient y figurer. Le Parti Libéral du Canada a envoyé ses réponses dans les deux langues officielles du Canada; Le Bloc Québécois a répondu en français seulement; le Parti Vert et le NPD ont répondu en anglais seulement.

Le CCT est une organisation non-partisane et ne soutient aucun parti politique en particulier. [3]

 ░░░░░░░

Notes:

[1] Le CCT note que chacun des chefs de parti a déjà rencontré le Dalai Lama au moins à une occasion. Deux chefs politiques - Elisabeth May and Tom Mulcair – ont personnellement rencontré Sikyong Dr. Lobsang Sangay depuis son élection en 2011 en tant que chef politique tibétain.

[2] Les partis ont eu à leur disposition des documents de présentation de l’Approche par la voie médiane.

[3]  www.tibet.ca 

 

ÉLECTIONS 2015: RÉPONSES AU SONDAGE SUR LE TIBET

 BQ = Bloc Québécois; PCC = Parti Conservateur du Canada; PVC = Parti Vert du Canada; PLC = Parti Libéral du Canada; NPD = Nouveau Parti Démocratique du Canada


Question 1: Est-ce que [parti] appuie un dialogue ouvert et sans pré-conditions, qui mène à des négociations entre le Gouvernement chinois et les envoyés du Dalai Lama, afin de trouver une solution pacifique à la question du Tibet?

BQ      Oui. Le Bloc Québécois se range derrière le Dalai Lama et les Tibétains dans leur désire d’autonomie et de liberté. Tout processus lancé de bonne foi afin de trouver une solution satisfaisante pour le peuple tibétain aura l’appui du Bloc Québécois.

PCC    Pas de réponse

PVC    Oui. Tel qu’affirmé par Elizabeth May dans la Chambre des Communes: “Les gens au Tibet vivent une crise. Dans les mots de S.S. le Dalai Lama ‘Nous devons trouver une solution pacifique pour avancer’”. Le Parti Vert soutient un dialogue sans pré-conditions qui mènerait à des négociations entre le Gouvernement chinois et les envoyés du Dalai Lama afin de trouver une solution pacifique au problème tibétain. Le Canada doit parler ouvertement avec la Chine de l’oppression du peuple tibétain.

PLC    Le Parti libéral du Canada a toujours été un ardent défenseur des droits de la personne en Chine et au Tibet et il continuera de prôner le respect des droits de la personne et des droits civils. Nous encourageons fortement le gouvernement chinois à collaborer avec le peuple tibétain de manière constructive dans le but de régler la question tibétaine en respectant intégralement les droits de la personne, le droit international et l’identité culturelle du Tibet.

NPD    Oui, le NPD a proposé une motion parlementaire en2007, appellant la RPC et le gouvernement tibétain en exil à continuer à s’engager dans un “dialogue qui vise l’avenir et qui apporterait des solutions pragmatiques qui respectent le cadre de la Constitution chinoise, l’intégrité territoriale de la Chine et les aspirations du peuple tibétain pour un Tibet unifié et véritablement autonome.”

Question 2 : Est-ce que [parti] appuie l’Approche de la Voie Médiane du Dalai Lama, basée sur une vraie autonomie du people tibétain au sein de la constitution de la République Populaire de Chine?

BQ      Oui, Le Bloc Québécois appui le peuple tibétain dans sa quête d’autonomie et souhaite une solution à leur satisfaction. Le Bloc Québécois se range donc derrière cette proposition du Dalai Lama.

PCC    Pas de réponse

PVC    Oui, le Parti Vert soutien sans équivoque l’Approche par la voie médiane du Dalai Lama, basée sur une véritable autonomie pour le peuple tibétain, dans le cadre de la Constitution de la RPC. Le peuple tibétain a besoin de liberté et cette approche est une voie pleine de sagesse vers ce but.

PLC    Oui, nous encourageons le gouvernement chinois à entamer un dialogue constructif avec les instances politiques tibétaines. C’est grâce au dialogue, et non pas à la confrontation, que nous parviendrons à mettre fin à la situation de violence qui prévaut au Tibet et dans les provinces voisines.

NPD    Oui, le NPD soutient les efforts du Dalai Lama pour une résolution du conflit, et son approche basée sur la non-violence, le compromis et le dialogue, ainsi que son désir de voir les Tibétains vivre librement et paisiblement dans un Tibet autonome, au sein de la RPC.

Question 3:  Est-ce que [parti] rejette l’interférence du Gouvernement chinois dans le processus de réincarnation du bouddhisme tibétain, comme étant une violation du droit à la liberté de religion reconnu au niveau international?

 BQ      La tentative de contrôle du processus de réincarnation du bouddhisme tibétain par le gouvernement chinois dans le but de contrôler le prochain Dalai Lama est une ingérence inacceptable dans la vie religieuse et spirituelle des Tibétains.

PCC    Pas de réponse

PVC    Oui, le Parti Vert croit que l’interférence du Gouvernement chinois dans le processus de réincarnation bouddhiste est une violation du droit du peuple tibétain à la liberté de la religion. Tel qu’affirmé par Heiner Bielefeldt, le Rapporteur spécial des Nations Unies pour la liberté de la religion et de croyance: “La Chine, en essayant d’interférer dans la réincarnation, afin d’exercer son autorité et contrôle, est “réellement en train de détruire l’autonomie des communautés religieuses, d’empoisonner la relation entre les différents sous-groupes, de créer des schismes et de monter les gens les uns contre les autres.”

PLC    Oui, nous demeurons préoccupés face à la situation des droits de la personne au Tibet, et ce, sur de nombreux plans, qu’il s’agisse de la répartition des ressources ou de la liberté d’expression. Nous avons déployé des efforts diplomatiques afin d’aborder la question des droits de la personne avec les plus hautes instances chinoises. Nous aimerions que la Chine renforce son rôle de membre actif de la communauté internationale et qu’elle respecte davantage les droits de la personne.

NPD    Oui, le processus bouddhistes tibétain de réincarnation et de sélection des lamas réincarnés regardent les bouddhistes tibétains, et ne tient pas des règlements gouvernementaux. Le NPD a demandé au Gouvernement chinois de respecter la liberté de la religion et d’association des Tibétains.

Question 4: 4. Dans l’exercice de servir les intérêts des Canadiens à Ottawa, est-ce que les représentants du [parti] : (a)Rencontreraient Sa Sainteté le Dalai Lama, s’il visitait le Canada et qu’il demandait une telle rencontre et (b)Rencontreraient les représentants de l’Administration Centrale Tibétaine, élue démocratiquement et basée en Inde? Est-ce qu’ils rencontreraient son chef politique (Sikyong), s’il visitait le Canada et qu’il demandait une telle rencontre?  

BQ      Oui, Le Bloc Québécois et son chef, M. Duceppe, seraient très heureux de répéter l’expérience et de rencontrer de nouveau sa Sainteté le Dalai Lama ou les représentants de l’Administration Centrale Tibétaine.

PCC    Pas de réponse

PVC    Absolument. Mme Elizabeth May, Chef du Parti Vert, a rencontré S.S. le Dalai Lama à plusieurs reprises et sera toujours ouverte à le rencontrer de nouveau.

Le Parti Vert serait honoré de rencontrer des représentants de l’Administration Centrale Tibétaine, démocratiquement élue et basée en Inde, incluant son chef politique (Sikyong), lors de leurs visites au Canada, s’ils demandent une telle rencontre.

 PLC    Oui, Le Parti libéral du Canada est fier d’avoir aidé Sa Sainteté le Dalaï-Lama à devenir le cinquième citoyen honoraire du Canada. Le premier ministre libéral Paul Martin fut le premier Premier ministre canadien à rencontrer Sa Sainteté, et un gouvernement libéral perpétuera cette fière tradition d’engagement. Les libéraux sont reconnaissants d’avoir pu rencontrer le Sikyong du peuple tibétain, le Dr Lobsang Sangay, lorsqu’il s’est présenté devant le Sous-comité sur les droits internationaux de la personne en février 2013. Un gouvernement libéral se réjouira à la perspective de poursuivre un tel engagement avec le Sikyong.

NPD    Oui, le NPD connait et respecte le statut du Dalai Lama en tant que lauréat du Prix Nobel de la Paix et l’un de seulement cinq citoyens honorifiques du Canada; son leadership religieux et personnel du peuple tibétain et des bouddhistes tibétains de partout au monde; et son engagement et efforts enver

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank