Join our Mailing List

"We Tibetans are looking for a legitimate and meaningful autonomy, an arrangement that would enable Tibetans to live within the framework of the People’s Republic of China."

The CTC welcomes new leaders of the Canadian Parliamentary Friends of Tibet

January 28, 2016

January 28, 2016 – The Canada Tibet Committee (CTC) extends a warm welcome to the new executive members of the Canadian Parliamentary Friends of Tibet, elected yesterday in Ottawa during the group’s inaugural meeting of Canada’s 42nd parliament.

The new PFT executive members are: Chair - MP Arif Virani (LIB, Parkdale-High Park, ON); Vice Chairs - James Maloney (LIB, Etobicoke-Lakeshore, ON); Garnett Genuis (CPC, Sherwood Park – Fort Saskatchewan, SK); and Randall Garrison (NDP, Esquimalt-Saanich-Sooke, BC). [1]

“Canadian parliamentarians represent the people of Canada and, as such, they are important advocates for the Tibetan cause”, said Carole Samdup, Executive Director of the Canada Tibet Committee. “Canadians have been consistent in their support for human rights in Tibet and they want the Government of Canada to contribute towards a peaceful resolution of the Sino-Tibet conflict.”  

The Parliamentary Friends of Tibet was formed in 1989 as an all-party group of MPs and Senators concerned about the deteriorating human rights situation in Tibet. Among its many achievements over the past 27 years, the PFT hosted His Holiness the Dalai Lama’s first visit to Ottawa in 1990 and a conference of international parliamentarians for Tibet in 2012.

- 30 -

[1] Bios -

ARIF VIRANI: Virani came to Canada as a Ugandan-Asian refugee in 1972 and settled in Montreal.  He studied political science at McGill University and law at the University of Toronto where he now lives with his family. Before election to Canada’s 42nd Parliament, Virani worked as Counsel in the Constitutional Law Branch of the Ministry of the Attorney General of Ontario. He was a founder of the South Asian Legal Clinic of Ontario, an analyst with the Canadian Human Rights Commission in Ottawa, and an Investigator at la Commission des droits de la personne et de la jeunesse in Montreal. Virani now serves as the Parliamentary Secretary to the Canadian Minister for Immigration, Refugees, and Citizenship and is a member of Canadian Groups of the Inter-Parliamentary Union, Francophonie, and Commonwealth.

JAMES MALONEY: A successful civil trial lawyer and partner at Hughes Amys LLP, James Maloney has lived and worked in Etobicoke for nearly forty years. Maloney is the former President of the Toronto Lawyers Club and served on the Board of Directors for the local Franklin Horner Community Centre and the Catholic Children’s Aid Society of Toronto. Maloney earned his Bachelor of Arts degree from Bishop’s University in Quebec, and his Law degrees from the University of Windsor and the University of Wales in Cardiff, Wales, UK. He is the proud recipient of the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal.  Maloney is a member of the Canadian branch of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association.

GARNETT GENUIS:  Following his studies at Carleton University in Ottawa, Genuis worked as an assistant to former Prime Minister Stephen Harper and an advisor on the staff of Minister Rona Ambrose. Genuis later obtained a Master’s Degree in Public Policy from the London School of Economics, which led him into the private sector as the Vice President of a national research firm. In 2014, Genuis sought and secured the Conservative nomination for Sherwood Park – Fort Saskatchewan, winning his seat in Canada’s October 2015 federal election. Genuis is the CPC deputy critic for religious freedom.

RANDALL GARRISON: Born in the United States, Garrison moved to Canada in 1973, where he obtained a Master’s Degree in Political Science from the University of British Columbia.  He later taught criminal justice and Pacific Rim studies at Camosun College in Victoria and served as executive director of the South Pacific People's Foundation of Canada. Garrison has participated as an election observer during the East Timorese independence referendum in 1999, peace-building between religious groups in Indonesia, and an investigation of human rights issues in Afghanistan.  Garrison is NDP critic for LBGT issues and a member of the Canadian Group of the Inter-Parliamentary Union.

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Nous, les Tibétains, aspirons à une autonomie légitime et véritable, un arrangement qui permettrait aux Tibétains de vivre au sein de la République populaire de Chine. »

Le Comité Canada Tibet souhaite la bienvenue à la nouvelle direction du groupe des Amis du Tibet du Parlement Canadien

January 28, 2016

Le 28 janvier 2016 – Le Comité Canada Tibet (CCT) accueille chaleureusement les nouveaux membres exécutifs du groupe des Amis du Tibet du Parlement Canadien. Les nouveaux membres ont été lus à Ottawa le 27 janvier lors de la réunion du groupe de l’inauguration du 42e parlement canadien.

Les nouveaux membres exécutifs du groupe sont: Président - MP Arif Virani (LIB, Parkdale-High Park, ON), Vice Présidents - James Maloney (LIB, Etobicoke-Lakeshore, ON), Garnett Genuis (CPC, Sherwood Park – Fort Saskatchewan, SK) et Randall Garrison (NDP, Esquimalt-Saanich-Sooke, BC). [1]

“Les parlementaires canadiens représentent le peuple du Canada et ils sont donc d’importants porte-paroles pour la cause tibétaine”, a affirmé Carole Samdup, Directrice générale du Comité Canada Tibet. “Les canadiens ont été constants dans leur soutien des droits humains au Tibet et ils veulent que le gouvernement du Canada contribue vers une résolution pacifique du conflit sino-tibétain.” 

Le groupe des Amis du Tibet du Parlement Canadien a été fondé en 1989; il rallie des membres du parlement et des sénateurs provenant de tous les partis, préoccupés par la situation des droits humains au Tibet. Parmi ses réalisations des dernières sept années, le groupe a organisé la première visite de Sa Sainteté le Dalai Lama à Ottawa, en 1990, ainsi qu’une conférence sur le Tibet pour les parlementaires internationaux, en 2012.

- 30 –

[1] Biographies

ARIF VIRANI:

M.Virani est arrivé au Canada en tant que réfugié ougandais asiatique, en 1972, et il s’est établi à Montréal. Il détient un baccalauréat ès arts avec spécialisation en histoire et en sciences politiques de l’Université McGill et a obtenu son LL.B à l’Université de Toronto. Il y vit présentement avec sa famille. Avant d’être élu au 42e Parlement canadien, M.Virani a été conseiller en droit constitutionnel au Ministère du procureur général de l’Ontario. Il est le fondateur de la clinique d’aide juridique SALCO de Toronto, analyste à la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne à Ottawa et enquêteur de la Commission des droits de la personne et droits de la jeunesse à Montréal.

M. Virani est présentement secrétaire parlementaire du Ministère de l’Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada et membre de la Section canadienne de l’Union interparlementaire, de la Francophonie et du Commonwealth.

JAMES MALONEY:

Avocat de droit civil et partenaire prospère chez Hughes Amys LLP, James Maloney réside et travaille à Etobicoke depuis près de quarante ans.

M. Maloney est l’ancien président du Toronto Lawyers Club; il est actuellement membre du conseil de direction du centre communautaire Franklin Horner et de la Société d’aide à l’enfance de Toronto. Il détient un baccalauréat ès arts de l’Université Bishop et des diplômes en droit de l’Université de Windsor et de l’Université de Wales à Cardiff, au pays de Galles, au Royaume-Uni. M.Maloney est également le fier récipiendaire de la Médaille du jubilé de diamant de la reine Elizabeth II. Il est membre de la Section canadienne de l'Association parlementaire du Commonwealth.

GARNETT GENUIS:

Après des études à l’Université Carleton, à Ottawa, M. Genuis a travaillé en tant qu’assistant pour l’ancien Premier ministre Stephen Harper et conseiller pour la Ministre Rona Ambrose. Il a ensuite obtenu une maîtrise en politique publique à la London School of Economics, ce qui l’a amené à travailler en tant que Vice président d’une firme de recherche nationale. M. Genuis a été élu en tant que représentant de Sherwood Park – Fort Saskatchewan lors des élections fédérales de 2015. M. Genuis est le critique du PCC pour la liberté de la religion.

RANDALL GARRISON:

M. Garrison est né aux États Unis et a déménagé au Canada en 1973; il y a obtenu une maîtrise en Science politique à l’Université de la Colombie Britannique. Il a ensuite enseigné dans le domaine du droit criminel et des Études de la Côte Pacifique, au Collège Camosun, à Victoria; il a aussi travaillé en tant que Directeur exécutif de la South Pacific Peoples Foundation of Canada.

M. Garrison a coordonné la plus grande mission d’observation des droits de la personne lors du référendum des Nations Unies sur l’indépendance du Timor oriental; il a aussi participé en tant qu’observateur d’élections aux missions de paix en Indonésie, ainsi qu’en tant que recherchiste sur les droits humains en Afghanistan. M. Garrison est le critique NPD pour les questions LGBT et membre du Groupe canadien de l'Union interparlementaire.

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank