Join our Mailing List

"On my part, I remain committed to the process of dialogue. It is my firm belief that dialogue and a willingness to look with honesty and clarity at the reality of Tibet can lead us to a viable solution."

Tibetan Minister of International Relations to visit Ottawa

February 17, 2016

February 15, 2016 – The Minister of International Relations of the Central Tibetan Administration (government in exile), Kalon Dicki Chhoyang, will visit Ottawa on February 16, 2016. [1] The purpose of Ms. Chhoyang’s visit is to meet with the newly-elected Chair and Vice Chairs of the Canadian Parliamentary Friends of Tibet.

This is the first visit to Ottawa by a representative of Tibet’s exile administration since Canada’s new government was elected in October.  The Minister will brief MPs on the current status of Sino-Tibet negotiations and her administration’s proposals for resolution of the conflict in Tibet.

“Working with Members of Parliament is an important way to keep the Tibet issue front and centre within the Canada-China relationship” said Carole Samdup, Executive Director of the Canada Tibet Committee.  “We are confident that the Parliamentary Friends will continue to be strong advocates of human rights in Tibet within the Canadian parliament.”

New executive members of the Parliamentary Friends of Tibet are: Arif Virani (Chair); James Maloney (Co-Chair); Garnett Genuis (Co-Chair); and Randall Garrison (Co-Chair).

###

Notes:

[1] Kalon Dicki Chhoyang was born in India and grew up in Montreal, Canada. In September 2011, she was appointed as Head of the Department of Information and International Relations for the Central Tibetan Administration. Prior to her appointment as Kalon (Minister), Dicki Chhoyang served as the Community Liaison Officer for the construction project of the University of Montreal-affiliated mega-hospital.  From 1999 to 2003, she worked on community development projects in Tibet. Dicki Chhoyang completed her undergraduate degree in international business and marketing at McGill University.  She holds an M.A. in Central Eurasian studies from the Indiana University and an M.Sc. in planning and international development from the University of Guelph.  She is fluent in Tibetan, English, French and has a working knowledge of Mandarin. 

[2] The Canadian Parliamentary Friends of Tibet is an all-party group of Members of Parliament and Senators established in 1990. The PFT seeks to strengthen Canadian government support for a principled policy approach to the issue of Tibet. The group and its members actively encourage greater respect for the fundamental human rights and freedoms of the Tibetan people. They support efforts to achieve genuine autonomy for Tibetans through negotiations with the People’s Republic of China.

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Si nous voulons contribuer à l’avènement d’un avenir plus heureux, plus stable et plus civilisé, chacun de nous doit cultiver un sentiment sincère et chaleureux de fraternité. »

La Ministre tibétaine des Relations internationales en visite à Ottawa

February 17, 2016

15 février 2016 - La Ministre des Relations internationales de l'Administration centrale tibétaine (Gouvernement en exil), Kalon Dicki Chhoyang, visitera Ottawa le 16 février 2016. [1] L'objectif de sa visite est de rencontrer le president ainsi que les vice-presidents nouvellement élus des Amis parlementaires du Tibet.[2]

 Ceci est la première visite à Ottawa par un représentant de l'Administration en exil du Tibet depuis l'élection du nouveau gouvernement du Canada en Octobre dernier. La ministre informera les députés sur l'état actuel des négociations Sino-Tibet et les propositions de son administration pour la résolution du conflit au Tibet.

 "Travailler avec des membres du Parlement est un moyen important de maintenir la question du Tibet en priorité dans les relations entre le Canada et la Chine", a dit Carole Samdup, Directrice exécutive du Comité Canada-Tibet. "Nous sommes convaincus que les Amis parlementaires continueront à être d'ardents défenseurs des droits de l'homme au Tibet au sein du Parlement canadien."

 Les nouveaux membres de la haute direction des Amis parlementaires du Tibet sont : Arif Virani (président); James Maloney (co-président); Garnet Genuis (co-président); et Randall Garrison (co-président).

 ###

 [1] Dicki Chhoyang est née en Inde et a grandi à Montréal. En septembre 2011, elle était nommée Kalon (équivalent de ministre) responsable de l’Information et des Relations internationales. Avant d’être nommée Kalon, Dicki Chhoyang occupait le poste d’agent de liaison avec la communauté pour le projet de construction du nouveau CHUM, le méga-hôpital affilié à l’Université de Montréal. De 1999 à 2003, elle a travaillé à divers projets de développement communautaire au Tibet. Dicki Chhoyang est diplômée de l’Université McGill où elle a obtenu son baccalauréat en commerce international. Elle détient également une maîtrise en études eurasiennes de l’Université de l’Indiana et une maîtrise en  aménagement et développement international de l’Université de Guelph en Ontario. Elle parle couramment le tibétain, le français, l’anglais et possède une connaissance pratique du mandarin. 

 

[2] Constitué en 1990 par des parlementaires inquiets de la situation au Tibet, le groupe des Amitiés parlementaires pour le Tibet réunit des députés et des sénateurs de tous les partis. Le groupe des Amitiés parlementaires pour le Tibet s’attache aussi à obtenir du gouvernement canadien davantage de soutien à une politique juste, basée sur des principes, sur la question du Tibet. Ils appuient les efforts d’obtenir une autonomie véritable pour les Tibétains par des négociations.

 

 

 

 

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank