Join our Mailing List

"On my part, I remain committed to the process of dialogue. It is my firm belief that dialogue and a willingness to look with honesty and clarity at the reality of Tibet can lead us to a viable solution."

Free Tibetan Heroes: Cases of 5 political prisoners to be highlighted on Tibetan Uprising Day

March 02, 2016

Hashtag:  #FreeTibetanHeroes

Montreal, March 2, 2016 - There are approximately 2000 documented cases of political prisoners in Tibet. At least 60 have been detained in 2015 alone.[i]  This year, during the annual Tibet National Uprising commemoration on March 10, the Canada Tibet Committee (CTC) will highlight five representative cases.

The CTC demands the immediate and unconditional release of all Tibetan heroes including the five highlighted below.  We also urge China to honour its commitment to welcome international observers including the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights, and UN Special Procedures of the Human Rights Council.

# # #

Five highlighted cases:

Druklo / Shokjang (M): Tibetan writer and blogger Druklo, also known by his pen-name Shokjang, was detained by Chinese authorities on 16 March 2015 by national security police officers in a hotel in Rebkong, Amdo, eastern Tibet (Chinese: Tongren County, Huangnan Tibetan Autonomous Prefecture, Qinghai province). On 17 February 2016 Shokjang was sentenced to 3 years by the Malho Prefecture “Middle Court”; no details of the charge against him have been released. Shokjang is a prominent Tibetan writer and blogger known for his critical and thought-provoking articles about the current situation in Tibet, including the resettlement of Tibetan nomads. Request: Details about the charges against Shokjang.


Gendhun choekyi Nyima (Panchen Lama) (m): On May 15, 1995, the Dalai Lama announced that 6 year old Gendhun Choekyi Nyima had been recognized as the 11th Panchen Lama.  The Government of China rejected the Dalai Lama statement as "illegal and invalid" and on May 17, 1995, authorities abducted the child and his family.  Neither the Panchen Lama nor his parents have been seen or heard from since.  No charges have been disclosed and no trial has been held.  On several occasions China has admitted holding the Panchen Lama including at the UN.  UN special procecdures have raised this case numerous times without response from China.  Traditionally, Panchen Lamas play a significant role in the succession process of Dalai Lamas. Request:  Immediate access for international observers.


Lhamo Kyab (F): A school teacher from Nagchu in Central Tibet, Lhamo Kyab was taken by Chinese intelligence bureau personnel sometime in 2008. Officials reportedly covered her head, took her to her residence in Nagchu, the prefectural capital, searched her home, then transferred her to a secret detention centre where she was interrogated about “alleged involvement in political activities.” In January 2010, a court sentenced Lhamo Kyab to 15 years in prison. No further information about the court, the criminal charge against her, or the location of the prison where she is serving her sentence is available.  Request: In which prison is she serving her sentence?


Khenpo Kartse (M): A highly respected Tibetan abbot and social worker, Khenpo Kartse has been in detention since December 2013.  He was reportedly sentenced to two and a half year in prison following a secret trial.  He is known to be suffering from serious medical health issues relating to his lungs and liver, for which he had sought regular medical attention prior to being detained. Recent reports state that he has been coughing up blood but appeals by his lawyers for treatment have been regularly rejected by authorities.  Request:  Immediate access by lawyers and approval of requests for medical treatment.


Yeshe Choedron (F): A 57 year old retired medical doctor, Yeshe Choedron was detained in March 2008 after protests broke out in Lhasa on 14 March. On 7 November 2008, the Lhasa People’s Intermediate Court sentenced her to 15 years’ imprisonment for allegedly providing “intelligence and information harmful to the security and interests of the state” to “the Dalai clique’s security department”. No more details are known. Sources report that she has not been able to see her children since her sentencing. Request: Permission for family visit and disclosure of charges.

 
 



[i] See Human Rights Situation in Tibet Annual Report 2015 (at page 97), Tibetan Centre for Human Rights & Democracy at http://www.tchrd.org/annual-report-2015/

 

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Nous, les Tibétains, aspirons à une autonomie légitime et véritable, un arrangement qui permettrait aux Tibétains de vivre au sein de la République populaire de Chine. »

Cinq cas de héros tibétains soulignés pendant les commémorations du 10 mars au Canada

March 02, 2016

Hashtag:  #FreeTibetanHeroes

Montréal, 2 mars 2016 - Il y a environ 200 cas documentés de prisonniers politiques au Tibet. Au moins 60 dentre eux ont été emprisonnés en 2015.[i] Cette année, pendant la commémoration des soulèvements nationaux du Tibet, le 10 mars, le Comité Canada Tibet (CCT) en soulignera cinq cas représentatifs.

Le CCT demande la libération immédiate et inconditionnelle de tous les héros tibétains, incluant les cinq cas mentionnés ci-dessous. Nous demandons en même temps à la Chine dhonorer son engagement daccueillir des observateurs, incluant le Haut Commissaire des Nations Unies aux droits de l'homme et les procédures sciales du Conseil des droits de l'homme.

Cinq cas soulignés:

Druklo / Shokjang (H): L’écrivain et bloggeur tibétain Druklo, connu aussi sous son pseudonyme Shokjang, fut arrêté par les autorités chinoises le 16 mars 2015, par des officiers de la police de sécurité nationale, dans un hôtel de Rebkong, Amdo, au Tibet Oriental (chinois: Région de Tongren, Préfecture autonome tibétaine de Huangnan, province de Qinghai). Le 17 février 2016 Shokjang a été condamné à 3 ans par la cour intermédiaire de la préfecture Malho Prefecture. Aucun détail na été publié au sujet des accusations contre lui. Shokjang est connu pour ses articles critiques et qui suscitent la réflexion sur la situation actuelle au Tibet, incluant la relocalisation des nomades tibétains.

Demande : Des détails au sujet des charges contre Shokjang.

 

Gendhun Choekyi Nyima (Panchen Lama) (H): Le 15 mai 1995 le Dalai Lama annonçait que Gendhun Choekyi Nyima, alors âgé de 6 ans, avait été reconnu comme étant le 11e Panchen Lama. Le Gouvernement de la Chine a rejeté la déclaration du Dalai Lama, comme étant ‘illégale et non-valide’ et, le 17 mai 1995, les autorités ont enlevé lenfant et sa famille. Ils nont été pas revus depuis et il n’y a pas eu de nouvelles de leur part. Il ny a pas eu daccusations ni de procès. La Chine a reconnu, à plusieurs reprises, incluant devant lONU, quelle détenait le Panchen Lama. LONU a soulevé son cas à maintes reprises, lors de procédures spéciales, sans recevoir de réponse de la part de la Chine. Traditionnellement, le Panchen Lama joue un rôle très important dans le processus de succession des Dalai Lama.

Demande:  Accès immédiat pour les observateurs internationaux.

 

Lhamo Kyab (F): Enseignante résidant à Nagchu, au Tibet central, Lhamo Kyab a été enlevée par des membres du bureau chinois du renseignement et de linformation en 2008. Elle a été amenée à sa résidence, la tête couverte, pour une perquésition, et ensuite transférée à un centre de détention secret, où elle a été interrogée sur sa présumée participation à des activités politiques. En janvier 2010 une cour la condamnée à 15 ans de prison. Aucune autre information nest disponible sur la cour, laccusation contre elle ou la prison où elle sert sa sentence.

Demande: Dans quelle prison sert-elle sa sentence?

 

Khenpo Kartse (H): Abbé et travailleur social très respecté, Khenpo Kartse est détenu depuis décembre 2013. Il a été condamné à deux ans et demie de prison, après un procès secret. Il a de sérieux problèmes médicaux reliés à ses poumons et son foie, pour lesquels il avait reçu des traitements, de façon régulière, avant sa détention. Des rapports récents signalent que dernièrement il tousse du sang, mais les appels de se avocats demandant du traitement ont été rejetés par les autorités, de façon régulière.

Demande: Accès immédiat de ses avocats et approbation de ses demandes de traitement médical.  

Yeshe Choedron (F): Docteure à la retraite, âgée de 57 ans, Yeshe Choedron a été détenue en mars 2008, après les démonstrations du 14 mars, à Lhasa. Le 7 novembre 2008, la Cour intermédiaire populaire de Lhasa la condamnée à 15 ans de prison pour avoir soi-disant donné de linformation nuisible à la sécurité et aux intérêts de létat au département de sécurité de la clique du Dalai Lama. On ignore tout autre détail. Des sources affirment quelle na pas vu ses enfants depuis son emprisonnement.

Demande dinformation: Permission de visites pour la famille et publication des accusations contre elle.

 



[i] Consultez le rapport Human Rights Situation in Tibet Annual Report 2015 (en anglais, page 97), du Centre tibétain pour les droits humains et la démocratie : http://www.tchrd.org/annual-report-2015/

 

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank