Join our Mailing List

"On my part, I remain committed to the process of dialogue. It is my firm belief that dialogue and a willingness to look with honesty and clarity at the reality of Tibet can lead us to a viable solution."

Tibetan National Uprising Day: Rallies, demonstrations across Canada to highlight political prisoners

March 10, 2016

#CanadaStandsWithTibet

OTTAWA, March 10, 2016 - Tibetans and their supporters in cities across Canada will rally today in commemoration of the 57th anniversary of the Tibetan National Uprising on March 10, 1959. [1]

In Ottawa, a rally will begin on Parliament Hill at 12:30. Members of Parliament will speak between 13:00 – 13:30.  Participants will then march to the Chinese Embassy where a vigil for Tibetan prisoners of conscience will take place.

This year five political prisoners are profiled: Shokjang; Yeshe Choedron; Lhamo Kyab; Khenpo Kartse; and Gendhun Choekyi Nima. [2] There are approximately 2000 documented cases of political prisoners in Tibet. At least 60 have been detained in 2015 alone.

“Today, people across this country are raising their voices in a collective declaration that #CanadaStandsWithTibet” said Carole Samdup, Executive Director of the Canada Tibet Committee.[3] “We appeal for the immediate release of all Tibetan heroes languishing in China’s prisons.”

The annual Uprising Day statement issued by the Central Tibetan Administration (government in exile) is posted at www.tibet.net

# # #

[1] Issue backgrounder: http://tibet.ca/_media/PDF/en/March_10_The_Lhasa_Uprising.pdf

[2] Prisoner Profiles: http://www.tibet.ca/en/library/media_releases/388  

[3] List of rallies across Canada:  http://www.tibet.ca/en/activism/events/232

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Compassion et tolérance ne sont pas des signes de faiblesse mais de force. »

Jour du soulèvement national tibétain: Manifestations à travers le Canada pour mettre en évidence les prisonniers politiques

March 10, 2016

#DeboutPourLeTibet

OTTAWA, le 10 mars 2016 – Les tibétains et leurs partisans dans des villes à travers le Canada se rallieront aujourd’hui à l’occasion du 57e anniversaire du soulèvement national tibétain le 10 mars 1959. [1]

À Ottawa, un rassemblement commencera sur la Colline du Parlement à 12h30. Des membres du Parlement prendront la parole entre 13h00 - 13h30. Par la suite, les participants marcheront jusqu’à l’ambassade de la Chine, où une veillée pour les prisonniers d’opinion tibétains aura lieu.

Cette année, cinq prisonniers politiques sont profilés : Shokjang; Yeshe Choedron; Lhamo Kyab; Khenpo Kartse; et Gendhun Choekyi Nima. [2] Il y a environ 2000 cas documentés de prisonniers politiques au Tibet. En 2015 seulement, au moins 60 personnes ont été arrêtées.

“Aujourd’hui, des gens de partout à travers notre pays élèvent leurs voix dans une declaration collective que le Canada se tient avec le Tibet” a déclaré Carole Samdup, Directrice générale du Comité Canada Tibet. [3] “Nous lançons un appel pour la libération immédiate de tous les héros tibétains qui dépérissent dans les prisons de la Chine.”

La declaration annuelle au sujet du soulèvement, émise par l’Administration centrale tibétaine (gouvernement en exil), est affichée au www.tibet.net

 

# # #

[1] Document contextual (anglais) : http://tibet.ca/_media/PDF/en/March_10_The_Lhasa_Uprising.pdf

[2] Profils des prisonniers : http://www.tibet.ca/fr/library/media_releases/388

[3] Liste des rassemblements au Canada: http://www.tibet.ca/fr/activism/events/232

 

 

 

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank