Join our Mailing List

"We Tibetans are looking for a legitimate and meaningful autonomy, an arrangement that would enable Tibetans to live within the framework of the People’s Republic of China."

Canada Tibet Committee Welcomes Student Research Team

June 06, 2016

Montreal, June 6, 2016 – The Canada Tibet Committee (CTC) is pleased to welcome three university-level researchers who will contribute their time and expertise in support of the Tibet cause.

The researchers are Max Honigmann (Concordia University), Manon Tsering (McGill University), and Ty Cary, (McGill University).  Short bios are provided below.

Working in close collaboration, the researchers will develop recommendations for the Government of Canada related to specific elements of Tibetan autonomy that find common cause in the Canadian experience.  These elements include environmental protection, cultural rights, religious freedom, and economic rights.

“I am thrilled to welcome such wonderfully enthusiastic supporters of the Tibetan cause” said Carole Samdup, Executive Director of the Canada Tibet Committee. “Their contribution will enable the CTC to be more effective in its outreach work for Tibet.”

As part of their work experience, the research team will participate in an exchange program with the 2016 Parliamentary Friends of Tibet interns.

BIOGRAPHICAL NOTES:

Max Honigmann:  Max is a MA student in Concordia University’s Master’s of Public Policy and Public Administration program. His academic interests lie in issues of civil liberties, corruption, transparency, and human rights.

Ty Cary:  Ty is an undergraduate student at McGill University where he studies anthropology with a specific focus on ecological anthropology.  His research interests lie in the consideration of how Tibetan traditions are affected by external policies.

Manon Tsering:  Manon is pursuing a Bachelor of Arts degree in Political Science and Religious Studies at McGill University.  Manon takes an interest in feminist studies, identity politics, animal rights and the impact of global dynamics on the environment. 

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Le Canada peut, dans une atmosphère cordiale et constructive, demander au gouvernement chinois de résoudre la situation du Tibet. »

Le Comité Canada Tibet accueille une équipe de chercheurs universitaires

June 06, 2016

Montréal, le 6 juin 2016 – Le Comité Canada Tibet (CCT) a le plaisir daccueillir trois chercheurs universitaires qui contribueront leur temps et expertise au soutien de la cause tibétaine.

Les chercheurs sont Max Honigmann (Université Concordia), Manon Tsering (Université McGill) et Ty Cary (Université McGill). De courtes notes biographiques sont fournies pour chacun, ci-dessous.

Les chercheurs travailleront en étroite collaboration et développeront des recommandations pour le Gouvernement du Canada reliées à des éléments spécifiques de lautonomie tibétaine, qui se retrouvent reflétés dans lexpérience canadienne. Ces éléments incluent des considérations environnementales, des droits culturels, la liberté de la religion et des droits économiques.

Je suis ravie daccueillir des supporters si enthousiastes de la cause tibétaine” affirme Carole Samdup, directrice générale du Comité Canada Tibet. Leur contribution permettra au CCT d’être plus efficace dans son travail de sensibilisation sur le Tibet.

Léquipe des chercheurs travaillera aussi en collaboration avec les stagiaires du groupe des Amis du Tibet du Parlement canadien.

 

NOTES BIOGRAPHIQUES:

Max Honigmann est étudiant à la Maîtrise à l’Université Concordia, dans le programme de Politique et administration publique. Ses intérêts académiques sont centrés sur les libertés civiles, la corruption, la transparence et les droits humains.

Ty Cary est étudiant en anthropologie à l’Université McGill ; il se concentre particulièrement sur l’anthropologie écologique. Ses intérêts de recherche portent sur les façons dont les traditions tibétaines sont affectées par des politiques externes.

Manon Tsering étudie dans les programmes de Science politique et Études des religions de lUniversité McGill. Elle sintéresse particulièrement aux études féministes, aux politiques de lidentité, aux droits des animaux et à limpact des dynamiques globales sur lenvironnement.

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank