Join our Mailing List

"Canada can, within a positive friendly atmosphere, ask the Chinese government to resolve the Tibetan situation."

Prime Minister's Visit to China: Time to stand up for Tibet

August 22, 2016

August 22, 2016 – As Prime Minister Justin Trudeau leaves for his first official visit to China later this week, the Canada Tibet Committee (CTC) is urging his active support in efforts to re-launch the stalled Sino-Tibetan negotiation process.

In a letter sent last week, the CTC also requested that Canada formally endorse the Dalai Lama’s “Middle Way Approach” as a viable basis for the renewed dialogue.  The approach seeks genuine autonomy for Tibetans within the Chinese state [1].

“The Tibetan Administration has made a reasonable proposal upon which to base a renewed dialogue for peace in Tibet,” said Carole Samdup, Executive Director of the Canada Tibet Committee.  “And Canadians have valuable first-hand experience to contribute in several of the areas highlighted in that proposal, including language, education, and culture.”

The letter also suggested that Prime Minister Trudeau set the tone for Canada’s future partnership with China based on a firm commitment to human rights which are core Canadian values [2].

In 2016, human rights violations in Tibet continued to escalate unabated.  As Trudeau departs for China, enforced demolitions continue at Larung Gar Buddhist Institute in Serthar, eastern Tibet [3].  In February the US organization Freedom House ranked Tibet as the 2nd worse place in the world for freedom behind only Syria [4].

# # #

Notes:

[1] The Middle Way Approach is described at http://mwa.tibet.net/

[2] In May 2016, Canada announced that it would “re-invigorate” support for human rights” and make it a “core objective” of Canadian foreign policy with a special focus on religious freedom. http://www.international.gc.ca/media/aff/news-communiques/2016/05/17a.aspx?lang=eng

[3] See http://www.rfa.org/english/news/tibet/demolition-07292016161347.html

[4] Freedom in the World 2016 at https://freedomhouse.org/report/freedom-world/freedom-world-2016

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Je reste attaché au dialogue. Je suis en effet fermement convaincu que le dialogue et la volonté d’examiner clairement et honnêtement la réalité du Tibet peuvent nous conduire à une solution viable. »

Visite du premier ministre en Chine: le moment est venu de défendre le Tibet

August 22, 2016

22 août 2016 – Alors que le premier ministre Trudeau prépare sa première visite officielle en Chine, le Comité Canada Tibet (CCT) lui a demandé de soutenir activement les efforts de relancer le processus de négociations sino-tibétaines.

Dans une lettre envoyée la semaine passée, le CCT a aussi demandé que le Canada appuie officiellement l’Approche par la voie médiane du Dalai Lama, en tant que base du dialogue renouvelé entre les deux parties. Cette approche vise une réelle autonomie des Tibétains vivant à l’intérieur de l’état chinois [1].

LAdministration tibétaine a avancé une proposition réaliste sur laquelle pourrait se baser le nouveau dialogue pour la paix au Tibet, a affirmé Carole Samdup, Directrice générale du Comité Canada Tibet. “Et les canadiens ont de l’expérience pratique de grande valeur qui pourrait servir dans plusieurs aspects de cette proposition, incluant la langue, l’éducation et la culture.” 

La lettre suggère aussi que le premier ministre Trudeau établisse les bases du futur partenariat entre le Canada et la Chine, axé sur un engagement ferme envers les droits humains, une des valeurs canadiennes de base [2].

En 2016, les violations des droits humains ont continué à escalader au Tibet, sans qu’ils soient discutés. Alors que M.Trudeau part vers la Chine, les démolitions forcées continuent à l’Institut bouddhiste de Larung Gar, à Serthar, au Tibet oriental [3]. En février, l’organisation américaine Freedom House a établi le Tibet comme étant la 2e pire place, après la Syrie, en matière de liberté [4].

# # #

[1] En savoir plus sur l’Approche par la voie médiane : http://mwa.tibet.net/

[2] En mai 2016, le Canada a annoncé vouloir renouveler son soutien pour les droits humains et en faire un ‘objectif de base’ des politiques étrangères canadiennes, avec un intérêt particulier pour la liberté de la religion. http://www.international.gc.ca/media/aff/news-communiques/2016/05/17a.aspx?lang=eng

[3] Consultez http://www.rfa.org/english/news/tibet/demolition-07292016161347.html

[4] Consultez Freedom in the World 2016 à l’adresse : https://freedomhouse.org/report/freedom-world/freedom-world-2016

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank