Join our Mailing List

"For a happier, more stable and civilized future, each of us must develop a sincere, warm-hearted feeling of brotherhood and sisterhood."

Prime Minister Martin urged to publicly promote negotiations on Tibet during Hu Jintao’s visit to Canada

September 07, 2005

A majority of parliamentarians support active involvement of PM

OTTAWA, SEPTEMBER 7, 2005 - On the eve of Hu Jintao’s first visit to Canada as President of the People’s Republic of China, the Canada Tibet Committee (CTC) is urging the Prime Minister of Canada, Paul Martin, to encourage President Hu to clarify his commitment to undertake concrete measures so that the present dialogue process between envoys of the Dalai Lama and China will lead to a negotiated resolution of the Tibetan issue.

In June 2005, envoys of the Dalai Lama met with Chinese leaders in Berne, Switzerland for their first meeting outside of Tibet and China. The US and EU publicly welcomed the talks while Canada issued no statement. This is the fourth round of talks in the last four years. The Dalai Lama has conceded Tibet’s right to independence by seeking genuine autonomy for the Tibetan people within China. However the issue of Tibet remains far from resolved as reports confirmed the continual denial of fundamental rights to Tibetans in occupied Tibet.

“The latest round of talks in Switzerland reflects the tremendous support of the international community for the peaceful resolution of the Tibetan issue,” said Tenzin Dargyal, National Coordinator of the CTC. “It may also indicate a new openness from China in raising the international profile of the dialogue.”

The Parliament of Canada has repeatedly shown its support for the start of meaningful negotiations between the Chinese government and the Dalai Lama or his representatives. In both the current and previous parliament, a majority of elected Members of Parliament signed a letter in support of the "Tibet-China Negotiation Campaign". The campaign and letter requests the Prime Minister to play the role of honest broker in the process towards meaningful negotiations on the issue of Tibet. Motions supporting Tibet negotiations were also passed at both the Senate and the Human Rights subcommittee of the House of Commons in December 2004.

"Since the Dalai Lama’s visit to Canada in April 2004, the issue of Tibet continues to have demonstrable support from the Canadian Parliament and Canadian public”, said Mr. Dargyal. “Nearly a year and a half after this historic visit and in the midst of Canada’s renewed vision for foreign policy, the time has arrived for the PM and Government of Canada to take a leading global role, based on concrete actions, on the many issues facing the people of Tibet.”

In April 2004, Paul Martin became the first sitting Prime Minister of Canada to meet with the Dalai Lama. They did discuss human rights in Tibet. The Dalai Lama also requested Mr. Martin to continue discussions of human rights with China and felt that Canada might be able to bring Tibet and China together.

The Canada-Tibet Committee is a non-governmental organization of Tibetans and non-Tibetans in Canada, who are concerned about the continuing human rights violations and lack of democratic freedom in Tibet.

- 30 -

Contact:
Tenzin Dargyal, National Coordinator
CTC National Office
Tel: 514.487.0665, Cell: 514.235.0205

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Nous, les Tibétains, aspirons à une autonomie légitime et véritable, un arrangement qui permettrait aux Tibétains de vivre au sein de la République populaire de Chine. »

Le Premier Ministre Martin pressé de promouvoir publiquement des négociations sur le Tibet durant la visite de Hu Jintao au Canada

September 07, 2005

Une majorité de parlementaires sont en faveur d’une participation active du Premier Ministre
 
OTTAWA, 7 SEPTEMBRE 2005 – À la veille de la première visite au Canada de Hu Jintao à titre de Président de la République Populaire de Chine, le Comité Canada-Tibet (CCT) presse le Premier Ministre du Canada, Paul Martin, d’encourager le Président Hu à rendre clair son engagement à mettre en oeuvre des mesures concrètes pour permettre au processus de dialogue actuel entre des représentants du Dalaï Lama et la Chine de mener à une résolution négociée de la situation tibétaine.
En juin 2005, des représentants du Dalaï Lama ont rencontré des dirigeants chinois à Berne, en Suisse, pour leur première rencontre hors du Tibet et de la Chine. Les États-Unis et l’Union Européenne ont publiquement accueilli ces discussions de manière favorable, tandis que le Canada n’a émis aucune déclaration. Il s’agit de la quatrième ronde de discussions au cours des quatre dernières années. Le Dalaï Lama a renoncé au droit du Tibet à l’indépendance en demandant plutôt une véritable autonomie du peuple tibétain au sein de la Chine. Malgré cela, la question du Tibet demeure loin d’être résolue, puisque plusieurs sources confirment les violations continuelles des droits fondamentaux des Tibétains dans le Tibet occupé.
“La dernière ronde de discussions en Suisse reflète l’immense appui de la communauté internationale pour la résolution pacifique de la situation tibétaine,” a déclaré Tenzin Dargyal, Coordonnateur national du CCT. “Elle indique peut-être également une nouvelle ouverture de la part de la Chine à rendre davantage le dialogue public sur la scène internationale.”
Le Parlement du Canada a exprimé à plusieurs reprises son appui au début de négociations significatives entre le gouvernement chinois et le Dalaï Lama ou ses représentants. À la fois dans le parlement actuel et dans le précédent, une majorité de membres élus ont signé une lettre en faveur de la "Campagne de Négociations Tibet-Chine". La campagne et la lettre réclament du Premier Ministre qu’il joue le rôle de médiateur dans le processus menant à des négociations significatives sur la question du Tibet. Des motions en faveur de négociations sur le Tibet ont également été adoptées en décembre 2004 à la fois au Sénat et au sous-comité des droits de la personne de la Chambre des communes.
"Depuis la visite du Dalaï Lama au Canada en avril 2004, le Parlement canadien et la population canadienne ont continué d’exprimer clairement leur soutien au Tibet”, a fait valoir M. Dargyal. “Presque un an et demi après cette visite historique et dans le cadre de la nouvelle vision du Canada en politique étrangère, le temps est venu pour le Premier Ministre et le gouvernement du Canada de jouer un rôle global de premier plan, basé sur des actions concrètes, dans les nombreuses questions auxquelles fait face la population tibétaine.”
En avril 2004, Paul Martin est devenu le premier dirigeant canadien à rencontrer le Dalaï Lama. Ils ont discuté de la situation des droits de la personne au Tibet. Le Dalaï Lama a également demandé à M. Martin de poursuivre les discussions sur les droits de la personne avec la Chine et a laissé entendre que le Canada pourrait éventuellement favoriser un rapprochement entre le Tibet et la Chine.
Le Comité Canada-Tibet est un organisme non gouvernemental regroupant des Tibétains et des Non-Tibétains au Canada, qui sont préoccupés par les violations continuelles des droits de la personne et par le manque de liberté démocratique au Tibet.
- 30 -
Personne-ressource:
Tenzin Dargyal, Coordonnateur national
Bureau National du CCT
Tél.: 514.487.0665, Cell.: 514.235.0205
 

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank