Join our Mailing List

"On my part, I remain committed to the process of dialogue. It is my firm belief that dialogue and a willingness to look with honesty and clarity at the reality of Tibet can lead us to a viable solution."

Canada must demand reciprocal diplomatic access to Tibet

October 03, 2016

Montreal, October 3, 2016 – China actively discourages Canadian requests for diplomatic visits to Tibet even though delegations from Tibet are welcomed to Canada whenever they request permission [1]. The admission is made in a Government of Canada response last week to an order paper question submitted in June 2016 [2].

The question was submitted by Member of Parliament Randall Garrison (Esquimalt – Saanich – Sooke) who is currently Vice-Chair of the Canadian Parliamentary Friends of Tibet.

According to the response, officials in the Tibet Autonomous Region (TAR) commonly delay approval of travel permits for Canadian diplomats citing insufficient staff or by imposing convoluted application procedures.  In some cases, permits have been denied even when the visit purpose is to monitor Canada-funded projects.  If a permit is provided, according to the response, visits by Canadian diplomats are “tightly managed by local authorities” with little or no opportunity to interact with local residents.

Conversely, the Government of Canada has approved all visa requests from TAR officials seeking to visit Canada and no restrictions have been imposed on their activities in Canada.  Since 2008, at least 8 TAR delegations have visited Canada including for the purpose of governmental and parliamentary exchanges. 

“Reciprocity is a fundamental principal of diplomatic practice” said Carole Samdup, Executive Director of the Canada Tibet Committee [3]. “Until Government of Canada officials can visit Tibet freely and without restrictions, diplomatic delegations from the TAR should not be welcomed here in Canada.”

# # #

[1] Any foreigner visiting Tibet is required to have up to 3 special permits plus a regular Chinese visa. The permits are for entry, for travel outside of Lhasa, and for travel to “military sensitive” areas, according to www.tibettravel.org

[2] The government response, “Answer to Order Paper Question 337”, can be viewed at http://randallgarrison.ndp.ca/sites/default/files/multisite/149171/field_content_files/order_paper_question_q-337_-_tibet_-_june_15_2016.pdf.  The original question (no. 337) is posted in English and French at http://www.parl.gc.ca/HousePublications/Publication.aspx?Language=E&Mode=1&Parl=42&Ses=1&DocId=8380771&File=9  

[3] A by-partisan bill demanding reciprocal access is currently pending in the US Congress.  H.R.1112 - Reciprocal Access to Tibet Act of 2015 is sponsored by Rep. James McGovern. https://www.congress.gov/bill/114th-congress/house-bill/1112

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Si nous voulons contribuer à l’avènement d’un avenir plus heureux, plus stable et plus civilisé, chacun de nous doit cultiver un sentiment sincère et chaleureux de fraternité. »

Le Canada doit demander l’accès diplomatique réciproque au Tibet

October 03, 2016

Montréal, le 3 octobre 2016 – La Chine décourage de manière active les requêtes canadiennes pour des visites diplomatiques au Tibet, même si les délégations du Tibet sont les bienvenues au Canada lorsqu’elles en font la demande [1]. C’est ce qu’à avoué le Gouvernement canadien la semaine dernière, dans sa réponse à une demande de reseignement datée de juin 2016 [2].

La question a été soumise par le membre du Parlement Randall Garrison (Esquimalt – Saanich – Sooke) qui est présentement le vice-président du groupe des Amis du Tibet du Parlement canadien.

Selon cette réponse, les représentants de la Région Autonome du Tibet (RAT) retardent de manière courante l’approbation des permis de voyage des diplomates canadiens, en raison de manque de personnel ou en leur imposant des procédures d’application complexes. Dans certains cas, les permis de voyage ont été refusés même lorsque le but des visites était de monitoriser des projets financés par le Canada. Et, si les permis sont accordés, les visites des diplomates canadiens sont “dirigées étroitement par les autorités locales” avec peu ou pas de chances d’intéragir avec les résidents.

De son côté, le Gouvernement canadien a approuvé toutes les demandes de visa pour les représentants du TAR, sans leur imposer de restrictions sur leurs activités au Canada. Depuis 2008, au moins 8 délégations venant du TAR ont visité le Canada, incluant des visites dont le but était l’échange parlementaire et gouvernemental.

“La réciprocité est la base fondamentale de la diplomatie”, a affirmé Carole Samdup, directrice générale du Comité Canada Tibet [3]. “Tant que les représentants du Gouvernement canadien ne peuvent pas visiter le Tibet librement et sans restrictions, les délégations diplomatiques de la Région Autonome du Tibet ne devraient pas être les bienvenues ici, au Canada.”

# # #

[1] Tous les étrangers désirant visiter le Tibet doivent faire application pour un permis spécial, au-delà du visa chinois. www.tibettravel.org

[2] La résponse à  la demande de reseignement au governement (bilingue) http://randallgarrison.ndp.ca/sites/default/files/multisite/149171/field_content_files/order_paper_question_q-337_-_tibet_-_june_15_2016.pdf.

La question (Q.337) est disponible à:  http://www.parl.gc.ca/HousePublications/Publication.aspx?Language=E&Mode=1&Parl=42&Ses=1&DocId=8380771&File=9

[3] Une loi bipartisane demandant l’accès réciproque est présentement en processus d’évaluation dans le Congrès américain. H.R.1112 - Reciprocal Access to Tibet Act of 2015 est représentée par le Rep. James McGovern. https://www.congress.gov/bill/114th-congress/house-bill/1112 

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank