Join our Mailing List

"For a happier, more stable and civilized future, each of us must develop a sincere, warm-hearted feeling of brotherhood and sisterhood."

CTC joins national campaign for human rights ombudsperson for Canada’s extractive sector

November 02, 2016

November 2, 2016 - Today, the Canadian Network on Corporate Accountability [1] released detailed model legislation, The Global Leadership in Business and Human Rights Act: An act to create an independent human rights ombudsperson for the international extractive sector, providing the Canadian government with a blueprint for how to create an effective human rights ombudsperson for the overseas operations of Canadian extractive companies. [2] 

Human rights abuses at Canadian mining and oil and gas sites around the world are widespread and well documented.  In 2014, the Canada Tibet Committee submitted a request for review to the National Contact Point (NCP) for the OECD Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises regarding alleged human rights violations resulting from the operations of China Gold International Resources in Tibet’s Gyama Valley. [3]

Despite multiple efforts by the Government of Canada’s NCP, the company consistently declined to respond to the request for review, the information contained therein, or offers to engage dialogue with the Canada Tibet Committee via the offices of the NCP. [4]

Victims of abuse in Tibetan communities have nowhere to turn to seek justice, including here in Canada. The new model law being launched today will help the Canadian government fulfill its promise to remedy human rights abuses and prevent future harm, as well as help create a more predictable and stable operating environment where the responsible business practices of Canadian companies are recognized and rewarded. 

To date over 100,000 Canadians and 50 Canadian organizations – including the Canada Tibet Committee - have added their voice to the call for an ombudsperson. Most Canadian political parties, including the Liberal Party of Canada, New Democratic Party of Canada, Green Party and Bloc Quebecois, have committed to create an independent human rights ombudsperson for the extractive sector.

All people who have suffered negative human rights impact due to the activities of Canadian companies should have access to recourse mechanisms and effective remedy here in Canada.  The Government of Canada must create human rights ombudsperson for the overseas operations of Canadian extractive companies. Talk is not enough.

# # #

[1] The CNCA is a partner organization of the CTC: http://tibet.ca/en/about_us/our_partners

[2] To read a summary of the model legislation or to learn more about the Ombudsman campaign: https://goo.gl/axp5xr

[3] The CTC request for review is found at: http://tibet.ca/_static/NCP.CGIR.jan2014.pdf

[4] Final Statement on the Request for Review regarding the Operations of China Gold International Resources Corp. Ltd., at the Copper Polymetallic Mine at the Gyama Valley, Tibet Autonomous Region

http://www.international.gc.ca/trade-agreements-accords-commerciaux/ncp-pcn/statement-gyama-valley.aspx?lang=eng

 

 

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Je reste attaché au dialogue. Je suis en effet fermement convaincu que le dialogue et la volonté d’examiner clairement et honnêtement la réalité du Tibet peuvent nous conduire à une solution viable. »

Le CCT se joint à l'appel de créer un poste d’ombudsman des droits de la personne efficace portant sur le secteur extractif

November 02, 2016

Le 2 novembre 2016 - Aujourd’hui, le Réseau canadien sur la reddition de compte des entreprises [1] divulgue un projet de loi modèle détaillé intitulé  “The Global Leadership in Business and Human Rights Act: An act to create an independent human rights ombudsperson for the international extractive sector”  fournit au gouvernement canadien un plan directeur pour créer un poste d’ombudsman des droits de la personne efficace portant sur le secteur extractif. [2]

Les atteintes aux droits de la personne sur les sites miniers, pétroliers et gaziers canadiens partout dans le monde sont largement répandues et bien documentées.  En 2014, le Comité Canada Tibet a soumis une demande d’examen au Point de contact national (PCN) du Canada pour les Principes directeurs de l'Organisation de Coopération et de Développement Économiques concernant les allégations de violations des droits de la personne causées par les opérations de China Gold International Resources dans la Vallée Gyama, au Tibet. [3]

Malgré les multiples efforts du PCN du Gouvernement canadien, l’entreprise  a refusé, de façon répétée, de répondre à la demande d’examen et à l’information qu’elle inclut, ainsi qu’aux offres de dialoguer avec le Comité Canada Tibet, via les bureaux du PCN. [4]

Les victimes de telles violences dans les communautés tibétaines n’ont nulle part où aller pour obtenir justice, même au Canada. Le nouveau modèle législatif présenté aujourd’hui aidera le gouvernement canadien à respecter sa promesse de remédier aux préjudices et de prévenir la violence. Il aidera également à créer un environnement opérationnel plus prévisible et plus stable, dans lequel des pratiques d’affaires responsables sont reconnues et récompensées.

A ce jour, plus de 100 000 Canadiens et 50 organisations canadiennes – y compris le 
Comité Canada Tibet -
ont appelé à la création d’un poste d’ombudsman pour le secteur
extractif. La majorité des partis politiques canadiens, y compris le Parti libéral, le Nouveau
Parti démocratique et le Bloc Québécois, se sont engagés à créer un poste d’ombudsman
des droits de la personne dans le secteur extractif.  

Les personnes ayant subi un préjudice à cause des activités des compagnies minières, pétrolières et gazières canadiennes devraient avoir des recours ici au Canada pour obtenir une réparation effective. Il faut que le gouvernement du Canada crée un poste d’ombudspersonne du secteur extractif international du Canada en matière de droits humains. En parler ne suffit pas.

# # #

[1] Le RCRCE est une organisation partenaire de la CCT : http://www.tibet.ca/fr/about_us/our_partners 

[2] Un Sommaire du projet de loi ombudsman pour le secteur extractive explique comment fonctionnera ce bureau:  http://cnca-rcrce.ca/fr/campagnes-justice/ombudsman/

[3] La demande d’examen du Comité Canada Tibet est disponible à (en anglais seulement) http://tibet.ca/_static/NCP.CGIR.jan2014.pdf (en anglais seulement)

[4] Communiqué final sur la demande d’examen concernant l’exploitation de la mine polymétallique de cuivre de la vallée de Gyama par China Gold International Resources, dans la Région autonome du Tibet. http://www.international.gc.ca/trade-agreements-accords-commerciaux/ncp-pcn/statement-gyama-valley.aspx?lang=fra

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank