Join our Mailing List

"We Tibetans are looking for a legitimate and meaningful autonomy, an arrangement that would enable Tibetans to live within the framework of the People’s Republic of China."

Remembering Hon. Warren Allmand – first Chair of Canada’s Parliamentary Friends of Tibet

December 09, 2016

Montreal, December 8, 2016 - We were deeply saddened today to learn that Honourable Warren Allmand, Canadian MP for 32 years, has passed away in Montreal at the age of 84.  Mr. Allmand was a longstanding friend of Tibet and tireless defender of human rights in Canada and around the world.  The Board and Staff of the Canada Tibet Committee extend sincere condolences to Mr. Allmand’s family and friends at this difficult time.

“Warren Allmand was a staunch and effective advocate of human rights in Tibet” said former Canadian Senator Consiglio DiNino now Chair of the Canada Tibet Committee. “His efforts to stand up for Tibet in Canada's Parliament brought much-needed attention to the issue at a time when it had been largely forgotten by our policy makers.”

In 1989, at the request of the Canada Tibet Committee, MP Warren Allmand agreed to establish a cross-party “Canadian Parliamentary Friends of Tibet” and to serve as its first Chair.  The fledgling PFT issued an invitation to His Holiness the Dalai Lama to visit Ottawa to meet with parliamentarians. The resulting visit in 1990 included meetings with opposition leaders, an appearance before the Standing Committee on External Relations and International Trade, and the inauguration of Ottawa’s Monument to Human Rights on Elgin Street. 

Following the Dalai Lama’s visit to Ottawa, Mr. Allmand continued to be an active defender of the Tibetan cause.  Until his retirement from Parliament, he spoke at numerous Tibet rallies on the Hill and led PFT initiatives to highlight the Tibetan cause in Parliament.

During his political career, Warren Allmand was celebrated as the MP who tabled the 1976 Bill that abolished the death penalty in Canada.  He later served as a member of Prime Minister Pierre Trudeau’s cabinet with the portfolios of Minister of Northern and Indigenous Affairs, Minister of Consumer and Corporate Affairs, and Solicitor General.  Upon retirement from parliament, he was appointed as President of the International Centre for Human Rights & Democratic Development (Rights & Democracy) where he continued to advocate on behalf of the Tibet issue.

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Nous, les Tibétains, aspirons à une autonomie légitime et véritable, un arrangement qui permettrait aux Tibétains de vivre au sein de la République populaire de Chine. »

Décès de l’honorable Warren Allmand - premier Président des Amis parlementaires du Tibet au Canada

December 09, 2016

Montréal, 8 décembre 2016 - Nous sommes profondément attristés aujourd'hui d'apprendre que l'Honorable Warren Allmand, député canadien pendant 32 ans, est décédé à Montréal à l'âge de 84 ans. M. Allmand était un ami de longue date du Tibet et un infatigable défenseur des droits de la personne au Canada et dans le monde. Le conseil d’administration et le personnel du Comité Canada Tibet offrent leurs sincères condoléances à la famille et aux amis de M. Allmand en ces temps difficiles.

« Warren Allmand était un ardent défenseur des droits de la personne au Tibet », a déclaré l'ancien sénateur canadien Consiglio DiNino, maintenant président du Comité Canada Tibet. « Ses efforts pour défendre le Tibet au Parlement du Canada ont attiré l'attention sur cette question à un moment où elle avait été largement oubliée par nos décideurs politiques. »

En 1989, à la demande du Comité Canada Tibet, le député Warren Allmand a accepté de créer un groupe interparlementaire des « Amis parlementaires canadiens du Tibet » et de présider le comité. La jeune organisation a lancé une invitation à Sa Sainteté le Dalaï-Lama à visiter Ottawa pour rencontrer les parlementaires. La visite en 1990 a donné lieu à des rencontres avec des leaders de l'opposition, à une allocution devant le Comité permanent des affaires étrangères et du commerce international et à l'inauguration du Monument aux droits de la personne, situé sur la rue Elgin, à Ottawa.

Après la visite du Dalai Lama à Ottawa, M. Allmand a continué d'être un défenseur actif de la cause tibétaine. Jusqu'à sa retraite du Parlement, il a pris la parole lors de nombreux rassemblements pour la cause tibétaine sur la Colline et a initié plusieurs actions des Amis parlementaires canadiens du Tibet pour mettre en valeur la cause tibétaine au Parlement.

Au cours de sa carrière politique, Warren Allmand a été le Solliciteur général instigateur du projet de loi de 1976 qui abolissait la peine de mort au Canada. Il a ensuite été membre du cabinet du premier ministre Pierre Elliot Trudeau avec les portefeuilles du ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien et du ministère de la Consommation et des Corporations. Au moment de sa retraire parlementaire, M. Allmand a été nommé président du Centre international des droits de la personne et du développement démocratique (Droits et Démocratie) où il a continué à plaider en faveur du Tibet.

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank