Join our Mailing List

"We Tibetans are looking for a legitimate and meaningful autonomy, an arrangement that would enable Tibetans to live within the framework of the People’s Republic of China."

International Human Rights Day: Canada must speak up for religious freedom at Tibet's Larung Gar Buddhist Academy

December 10, 2016


#StandWithLarungGar

December 10, 2016 - Canada must press China for an immediate end to the ongoing violations of religious freedom at Tibet's Larung Gar Buddhist Academy, said the Canada Tibet Committee on the occasion of International Human Rights Day.             

In a letter written to Canadian Minister of Foreign Affairs Stephane Dion, the CTC urged his immediate intervention with Chinese authorities in an effort to halt the demolitions and forced evictions at Larung Gar, which is the world's largest Buddhist learning centre. [1]

Last week video emerged showing some of the evicted monks and nuns undergoing re-education drills, including the recitation of political obedience slogans, while others were compelled to dance on a public stage. [2]

"Events at Larung Gar are an egregious violation of religious freedom" said Carole Samdup, Executive Director of the Canada Tibet Committee. "The Government of Canada has a long tradition of defending religious freedom around the world and now is the time to act on that commitment - not after Larung Gar has been destroyed."

In August 2016, Liberal MP Arif Virani, Chair of the Parliamentary Friends of Tibet, issued a statement calling for the end of demolitions at Larung Gar.  On November 23, 2016, Tibetan Political Leader, Sikyong Dr. Lobsang Sangay, appeared before the 34th session of the Parliamentary Subcommittee on International Human Rights and appealed for a Canadian fact-finding mission to investigate events at Larung Gar. [3]

As well as the destruction of dwellings and expulsion of religious students, Chinese authorities have increased surveillance in the area surrounding Larung Gar.  New management committees, with government officials in majority, have been created to govern the institution. [4]

# # #

[1] For background on Larung Gar, see New York Times, Nov.28, 2016: "China takes a chain saw to the center of Tibetan Buddhism". http://www.nytimes.com/2016/11/28/world/asia/china-takes-a-chain-saw-to-a-center-of-tibetan-buddhism.html?smid=tw-nytimesworld&smtyp=cur 

[2] https://www.facebook.com/robbie.barnett.14

[3] For an audio transcript, visit: http://parlvu.parl.gc.ca/XRender/en/PowerBrowser/PowerBrowserV2/20161123/-1/26230?globalstreamId=23&useragent=Mozilla/5.0%20(iPhone;%20CPU%20iPhone%20OS%208_1_3%20like%20Mac%20OS%20X)%20AppleWebKit/600.1.4%20(KHTML,%20like%20Gecko)%20GSA/20.3.136880903%20Mobile/12B466%20Safari/600.1.4

[4] Chinese Authorities Block Reporting From Larung Gar as Demolition Proceeds; Radio Free Asia, August 2016: http://www.rfa.org/english/news/tibet/proceeds-08032016134518.html     

 

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Si nous voulons contribuer à l’avènement d’un avenir plus heureux, plus stable et plus civilisé, chacun de nous doit cultiver un sentiment sincère et chaleureux de fraternité. »

Journée internationale des droits de l’homme: le Canada doit défendre la liberté de la religion de l’Académie bouddhiste Larung Gar

December 10, 2016

#DeboutPourLarungGar

10 décembre 2016 – Le Canada doit faire de la pression auprès de la Chine afin d’arrêter les violations de la liberté de la religion à l’Académie bouddhiste Larung Gar, au Tibet, affirme le Comité Canada Tibet, à l’occasion de la Journée internationale des droits de l’homme.

Dans une lettre adressée au Ministre canadien des affaires étrangères, Stéphane Dion, le CCT a demandé son intervention immédiate auprès des autorités chinoises afin de mettre fin aux démolitions et évacuations forcées de Larung Gar, au Tibet Oriental (Ch: Préfecture autonome tibétaine Ganzi, Province de Sichuan). [1]

La semaine passée, une vidéo a révélé des images de nonnes et moines évacués de l’institut, en train de faire des exercices de rééducation, incluant la récitation de slogans politiques, habillés en uniformes de camouflage et non pas en robes monastiques. [2]

 "Les évènements de Larung Gar sont une flagrante violation de la liberté de la religion", affirme Carole Samdup, Directrice générale du Comité Canada Tibet. "Le gouvernement du Canada a une longue tradition de défense de la liberté de la religion autour du monde et le moment est venu d’agir selon cette conviction : maintenant, et non pas après la destruction de Larung Gar."

 En août 2016, le député libéral Arif Virani, Président du groupe des Amis parlementaires du Tibet, a demandé, lors d’un déclaration, la fin des démolitions à Larung Gar.  Le 23 novembre 2016, le chef politique tibétain, Sikyong Dr. Lobsang Sangay, a pris la parole devant la 34ème session du Sous-comité parlementaire sur les droits humains internationaux et a demandé l’envoi d’une mission d’enquête canadienne à Larung Gar. [3]

Au-delà de la destruction de résidences et l’expulsion des étudiants, les autorités chinoises ont aussi augmenté la surveillance dans la région de Larung Gar. De nouveaux comités de gestion, composés en majorité de représentants du gouvernement, ont été créés afin de diriger l’institution. [4]

# # #

[1] Pour plus d’information sur Larung Gar, consultez l’article du New York Times, du 28 nov. 2016 (en anglais seulement): "China takes a chain saw to the center of Tibetan Buddhism". http://www.nytimes.com/2016/11/28/world/asia/china-takes-a-chain-saw-to-a-center-of-tibetan-buddhism.html?smid=tw-nytimesworld&smtyp=cur  

[2] https://www.facebook.com/robbie.barnett.14

[3] Pour une transcription audio visitez: http://parlvu.parl.gc.ca/XRender/en/PowerBrowser/PowerBrowserV2/20161123/-1/26230?globalstreamId=23&useragent=Mozilla/5.0%20(iPhone;%20CPU%20iPhone%20OS%208_1_3%20like%20Mac%20OS%20X)%20AppleWebKit/600.1.4%20(KHTML,%20like%20Gecko)%20GSA/20.3.136880903%20Mobile/12B466%20Safari/600.1.4

[4] Les autorités chinoises bloquent les informations sortant de Larung Gar, pendant la démolition; Radio Free Asia, August 2016: http://www.rfa.org/english/news/tibet/proceeds-08032016134518.html   

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank