Join our Mailing List

"I believe that to meet the challenges of our times, human beings will have to develop a greater sense of universal responsibility. It is the foundation for world peace."

Twenty-two years is enough! Canada must seek release of Tibet’s Panchen Lama

May 17, 2017

Montreal (May 17, 2017) – On the 22nd commemoration of the disappearance of Tibet’s Panchen Lama, the Canada Tibet Committee has written to the Government of Canada urging that it renew efforts to obtain information from China about his whereabouts and well-being.

Second to the His Holiness the Dalai Lama in the Gelugpa school of Tibetan Buddhism, the six year old Panchen Lama, Gendhun Choekyi Nyima, was abducted by Chinese authorities on May 17, 1995, making him the world's youngest political prisoner at the time.  Neither the Panchen Lama nor his family have been seen or heard from since. [1]

In October 2016, the Government of Canada responded to a parliamentary e-petition, affirming that “Canada has regularly requested that China provide information on the location of Gendhun Choekyi Nyima and his parents…. the Chinese government has not responded.”[2]

In its letter to Minister of Foreign Affairs, Chrystia Freeland, the Canada Tibet Committee urges Canada to renew pressure on China to allow a delegation of Canadian Parliamentarians and/or diplomats to visit Gendhun Choekyi Nyima at the earliest opportunity to ascertain his whereabouts and wellbeing.  The letter also urges Canada to demand the Panchen Lama’s early release without conditions.

Human rights bodies including the UN Committee Against Torture, the UN Committee on the Rights of the Child, and the Special Rapporteur on Freedom of Religion or Belief, have sought assurances from China that the Panchen Lama is alive and well. The Government of China has admitted holding the Panchen Lama but has refused to divulge specific information about his whereabouts. [3]  

# # #

[1] For more information about the Panchen Lama case, see: http://ppdcecc.gov/QueryResultsDetail.aspx?PrisonerNum=835; or watch the video “The Stolen Child” at https://www.savetibet.org/tibets-stolen-child/

[2] The e-petition and government response can be found at: https://petitions.ourcommons.ca/en/Petition/Details?Petition=e-431

[3] China says Panchen Lama living a ‘normal life’, The Guardian, September 6, 2015 - https://www.theguardian.com/world/2015/sep/06/china-says-panchen-lama-living-a-normal-life-20-years-after-disappearance

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Si nous voulons contribuer à l’avènement d’un avenir plus heureux, plus stable et plus civilisé, chacun de nous doit cultiver un sentiment sincère et chaleureux de fraternité. »

Vingt-deux ans, c’est assez! Le Canada doit demander la libération du Panchen Lama du Tibet

May 17, 2017

Montréal (17 mai 2017) – À loccasion de la 22e commémoration de lenlèvement du Panchen Lama du Tibet, le Comité Canada Tibet a écrit au gouvernement du Canada pour demander le renouvèlement de ses efforts pour obtenir, de la part de la Chine, de linformation sur lendroit où se trouve le Panchen Lama et sur son état.

Le Panchen Lama occupe la deuxième place après le Dalai Lama, dans l’école de bouddhisme tibétain Gelugpa. À l’âge de six ans, le Panchen Lama - Gendhun Choekyi Nyima fut enlevé par les autorités chinoises, le 17 mai 1995. Lors de son enlèvement, il était le plus jeune prisonnier politique du monde. Depuis, il ny a pas eu de nouvelles au sujet du Panchen Lama ni de sa famille. [1]

En octobre 2016, le gouvernement du Canada a répondu à une pétition électronique parlementaire, en affirmant que Le Canada requiert de manière régulière de linformation sur lendroit où se trouvent Gendhun Choekyi Nyima et ses parents le gouvernement chinois na pas répondu. [2]

Dans sa lettre adressée à la ministre des affaires étrangères du Canada, Chrystia Freeland, le Comité Canada Tibet demande au Canada de remettre de la pression sur la Chine afin de permettre à une délégation de parlementaires et/ou diplomates canadiens de visiter Gendhun Choekyi Nyima le plus tôt possible, afin de connaître son état. La lettre demande aussi la libération non-conditionnelle du Panchen Lama.

Des organisations de défense des droits humains, incluant le Comité des Nations Unies contre la torture, le Comité des Nations Unies des droits de lenfant et le Rapporteur spécial sur la liberté de religion ou de conviction, ont demandé à la Chine la garantie que le Panchen Lama est en vie et va bien. Le gouvernement chinois a reconnu détenir le Panchen Lama mais a refusé de donner des informations spécifiques sur l’endroit où il se trouve. [3]  

# # #

[1] Pour plus dinformations sur le cas du Panchen Lama visitez : http://ppdcecc.gov/QueryResultsDetail.aspx?PrisonerNum=835; ou regardez la vidéo : “The Stolen Child” at https://www.savetibet.org/tibets-stolen-child/

[2] La pétition électronique et la réponse du gouvernement sont disponibles à ladresse : https://petitions.noscommunes.ca/fr/Petition/Details?Petition=e-431

[3] Le Chine affirme que le Panchen Lama vit une vie normale - The Guardian, September 6, 2015 - https://www.theguardian.com/world/2015/sep/06/china-says-panchen-lama-living-a-normal-life-20-years-after-disappearance

 

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank