Join our Mailing List

"As long as human rights are violated, there can be no foundation for peace. How can peace grow where speaking the truth is itself a crime?"

Canada Tibet Lobby Days: Tibet groups from across Canada gather in Ottawa

June 05, 2017

Contact:  Max Honigmann (514) 358-3455

 Canadian Tibet Groups Gather in Ottawa:

Urge MPs to stand up for Tibet

Ottawa, June 5, 2017:  Representatives of Tibet groups from across Canada gather in Ottawa this week to meet with Members of Parliament and to urge continued parliamentary support for Tibet.

The annual “Canada Tibet Lobby Days” event is part of an international campaign to build momentum for Tibet in world parliaments.  The past year has witnessed a crackdown on human rights in Tibet, including attacks on freedom of religion, expression, and cultural rights.  At least 4 self-immolation protests have taken place since the beginning of 2017, bringing the total since 2009 to 150. [1]

“The situation in Tibet deteriorates with each passing day” said former Senator Consiglio DiNino, Chair of the Canada Tibet Committee.  “If Canada wants a closer relationship with China, then human rights in Tibet must be part of that discussion.”

“Canadian parliamentarians have a long tradition of supporting the Tibetan cause” said Kalsang Dolkar Gyaltsen, President of the Tibetan Women’s Association. “Now, more than ever, we need their help to ensure that Tibet remains front and centre in the Canada-China relationship”.

“We recognize the importance of business ties between Canada and China, but a frank dialogue on issues such As Tibet and human rights is essential as it reflects Canadian values of freedom and human rights.” said Sonam Chokey, National Director of Students for a Free Tibet Canada.

Canada Tibet Lobby Days is a project of the Canada Tibet Committee, Students for Free Tibet, the Tibetan Women’s Association, the Ottawa Tibetan Community Association, the Tibetan Cultural Association of Quebec, the Canadian Tibetan Association of Ontario, and the Alberta Tibetan Association.  The project takes place in association with the Parliamentary Friends of Tibet, and the Office of Tibet for North America.

# # #

[1] For an annotated list of self-immolations in Tibet, see https://www.savetibet.org/resources/fact-sheets/self-immolations-by-tibetans/

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Nous, les Tibétains, aspirons à une autonomie légitime et véritable, un arrangement qui permettrait aux Tibétains de vivre au sein de la République populaire de Chine. »

Les groupes de soutien au Tibet à travers le Canada se réunissent à Ottawa

June 05, 2017

Contact: Max Honigmann (514) 358-3455

Des groupes de soutien au Tibet se réunissent à Ottawa

                     pour demander aux parlementaires de prendre action pour le Tibet 

Ottawa, le 5 juin 2017: Des représentants des groupes de soutien au Tibet à travers le Canada se réunissent à Ottawa cette semaine afin de rencontrer des parlementaires et leur demander de continuer leur soutien pour le Tibet.

L’évènement annuel Journées lobby Canada Tibet sintègre dans une campagne internationale de générer le soutien de parlementaires autour du monde. L’année passée a été une année de représailles des droits humains au Tibet, incluant celui de la liberté de la religion, de l’expression et des droits culturels. Au moins 4 auto-immolations ont eu lieu, en signe de protestation, depuis le début de 2017, ce qui fait monter le nombre total de tels actes à 150 depuis 2009. [1]

“La situation au Tibet se détériore à chaque jour” affirme lex-sénateur Consiglio DiNino, président du Comité Canada Tibet. “Si le Canada désire avoir une relation plus étroite avec la Chine, alors les droits humains doivent faire partie de cette discussion.”

“Les parlementaire canadiens ont une longue tradition de soutien à la cause tibétain” affirme Tenzin Nawang, président de lAssociation des femmes tibétaines. “Maintenant, plus que jamais, nous avons besoin de leur aide afin de nous assurer que le Tibet demeure au centre des relations entre le Canada et la Chine.”.

“Nous ne sommes pas contre des relations étroites entre le Canada et la Chine” affirme Sonam Chokey, directeur national des Étudiants pour un Tibet libre. “Mais de bons amis doivent faire face à leurs différences, et le Canada doit parler avec la Chine à propos des abus des droits humains au Tibet.”.

Lévénement des Journées lobby Canada Tibet est un projet joint du Comité Canada Tibet, des organisations Étudiants pour un Tibet libre, de lAssociation des femmes tibétaines, de lAssociation communautaire tibétaine dOttawa, de lAssociation culturelle tibétaine du Québec, de lAssociation tibéto-canadienne de lOntario et de lAssociation tibétaine de lAlberta. Le projet est réalisé en collaboration avec le groupe des Amis parlementaires du Tibet et du Bureau du Tibet en Amérique du Nord.

# # #

[1] Pour une liste annotée des auto-immolations au Tibet, visitez https://www.savetibet.org/resources/fact-sheets/self-immolations-by-tibetans/

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank