Join our Mailing List

"Canada can, within a positive friendly atmosphere, ask the Chinese government to resolve the Tibetan situation."

The 59th Tibetan National Uprising Day: Tibetan Canadians ask Canada to speak out for Tibet’s human rights defenders

March 10, 2018

In a letter to Canadian Minister of Foreign Affairs, Hon. Chrystia Freeland, Tibetans and their Canadian supporters from across Canada are urging that she intervene with Chinese authorities on behalf of Tibetan human rights defenders currently languishing in China’s prisons. 

The appeal coincides with rallies and vigils taking place across Canada today in commemoration of the 59th anniversary of the Tibetan National Uprising on March 10, 1959. [1] 

The letter to Minister Freeland appeals for her direct intervention on behalf of four political prisoners: Gendhun Choekyi Nima; Shokjang; Yeshe Choedron; and Tashi Wangchuk. [2] These four are representative of the approximately 2000 documented cases of political prisoners in Tibet, many of whom linger in prison without charge or access to due process. Torture is widespread in prisons across Tibet.

“Today, Tibetan-Canadians and their supporters across Canada are standing together in solidarity with Tibetans in Tibet”, said Sherap Therchin, Executive Director of the Canada Tibet Committee. [3] “We deeply appreciate Canada's past commitment to taking action for Tibet, and Minister Freeland's interventions to press China for the release of Tashi Wangchuk and Gedhun Choekyi Nyima, the 11th Panchen Lama. We know from past experience that inquiries from foreign governments, such as Canada, can have a positive impact on the well-being of prisoners in Tibet."

The Government of Canada adopted guidelines on human rights defenders last year. [4] The guidelines emphasize the central responsibility of Global Affairs Canada and its diplomatic missions abroad to gather accurate information about human rights defenders and to intervene on their behalf. # # # 

 

Notes:

 

[1] March 10 backgrounder: http://tibet.ca/_media/PDF/en/March_10_The_Lhasa_Uprising.pdf

[2] Prisoner profiles are summarized below 

[3] List of rallies across Canada: http://tibet.ca/en/activism/events/238  

[4] Voices at risk: Canada’s guidelines on supporting human rights defenders, Global Affairs Canada, http://international.gc.ca/world-monde/world_issues-enjeux-mondiaux/rights_defenders_guide_defenseurs_droits.aspx?lang=eng

 

PRISONER PROFILES

Gendhun Choekyi Nyima (the 11th Panchen Lama) (m): On May 15, 1995, the Dalai Lama named 6-year-old Gendhun Choekyi Nyima as the 11th  Panchen Lama. On May 17, 1995, Chinese authorities abducted the child and his family. No charges have been laid  and no trial is known to have taken place. China has admitted holding the Panchen Lama on numerous occasions including at the United Nations. Despite numerous requests from UN special procedures and world governments, including Canada, there is still no information as to the whereabouts or safety of the Panchen Lama.

  • TASHI WANGCHUK: a young Tibetan businessman and language rights advocate, was detained by police in his home area of Jyegudo, Kham, (Chinese: Yushu, Qinghai) following an interview with the New York Times on Tibetan culture and language. The interview quoted him as saying that Tibet should have greater regional autonomy, especially in the issue of language, under Chinese governance. He was put on trial on January 4, 2018 and is awaiting a verdict. He could face up to 15 years in prison if found guilty. He is at risk of torture and other ill treatment. He has been charged with the very serious offence of “inciting separatism”, despite the fact that he has not advocated for Tibet’s independence.
  • Yeshe Choedron (f): The 57-year-old retired medical doctor was detained in 2008 after protests broke out in Lhasa on March 14. On November 7, 2008, the Lhasa People’s Intermediate Court sentenced her to 15 years’ imprisonment for allegedly providing “intelligence and information harmful to the security and interests of the state” to “the Dalai clique’s security department”. No additional details are known. Sources report that Choedron has not been permitted visits from her children since her sentencing.
  • Lobsang Jamyang (Lomik) is a young Tibetan writer and monk. He was detained by Chinese authorities on April 17, 2015 while attending a class at his monastery, Kirti Monastery, in Ngaba, eastern Tibet (CH: Aba Tibetan and Qiang Autonomous Prefecture, Sichuan Province). He remained ‘disappeared’ for a year, and his whereabouts and any information concerning his detention, were not released to his family until May 9, 2016, when he was sentenced to 7 years and 6 months in prison on charges of “leaking state secrets” and “engaging in separatist activities.”

 

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Le Canada peut, dans une atmosphère cordiale et constructive, demander au gouvernement chinois de résoudre la situation du Tibet. »

59ème Journée de soulèvement national tibétain: les tibéto-canadiens demandent au gouvernement canadien d’agir au nom des défenseurs tibétains des droits humains

March 10, 2018

Dans une lettre adressée à la Ministre canadienne des affaires étrangères, l’Hon. Chrystia Freeland, Les Tibétains et leurs partisans canadiens de partout au Canada lui ont demandé d’intervenir auprès des autorités chinoises au nom des défenseurs tibétains des droits humains qui périssent dans les prisons chinoises.

Cet appel coincide avec des manifestations et vigiles ayant lieu à travers le Canada aujourd’hui, lors de la 59ème commémoration de la Journée de soulèvement national tibétain, le 10 mars 1959. [1] 

La lettre à la Ministre Freeland demande son intervention directe au nom de quatre prisonniers politiques : Gendhun Choekyi Nima, Lomik, Yeshe Choedron et Tashi Wangchuk. [2] Ils sont tous représentatifs des plus de 2000 cas documentés de prisonniers politiques au Tibet, dont une grande partie périt dans les prisons sans aucune condamnation ni accès aux procédures officielles. De plus, la torture est répandue dans les prisons au Tibet.

“Aujourd’hui, les tibéto-canadiens et leurs supporters de partout au Canada sont solidaires avec les tibétains au Tibet”, a affirmé Sherap Therchin, Directeur général du Comité Canada Tibet. [3] “Nous sommes très reconnaissants pour l’engagement du Canada d’agir pour le Tibet, et pour les interventions de la Ministre Freeland qui demandaient à la Chine de libérer Tashi Wangchuk et Gedhun Choekyi Nyima, le 11e Panchen Lama. Nous avons vu, lors d’exemples passés, que l’intervention de la part de gouvernements étrangers, tels le Canada, peut avoir un impact positif sur le bien-être des prisonniers au Tibet."

Le gouvernement du Canada a adopté des lignes directrices au sujet des défenseurs des droits humains, l’année passée. [4] Ces lignes directrices mettent l’accent sur la responsabilité centrale des Affaires étrangères du Canada et des ses missions à l’étranger de recueillir des informations précises au sujet des défenseurs des droits humains, et d’agir en leur nom. # # # 

 

Notes:

[1] Fiche d’information sur le 10 mars http://tibet.ca/_media/PDF/en/March_10_The_Lhasa_Uprising.pdf 

[2] Consultez les profiles des prisonniers ci-dessous.

[3] La liste des manifestations à travers le Canada:  http://tibet.ca/en/activism/events/236 

[4] Voix à risque : Lignes directrices canadiennes pour le soutien des défenseurs des droits de la personne, http://international.gc.ca/world-monde/world_issues-enjeux-mondiaux/rights_defenders_guide_defenseurs_droits.aspx?lang=fra

PROFILES DES PRISONNIERS 

  • Gendhun Choekyi Nyima (le 11e Panchen Lama) (m): Le 15 mai 1995, le Dalai Lama nomma Gendhun Choekyi Nyima, alors âgé de 6 ans, 11e Panchen Lama. Le 17 mai 1995 les autorités chinoises enlevèrent l’enfant et sa famille. Malgré de  nombreuses requêtes issues de procédures spéciales des Nations Unies et de divers gouvernements, incluant le gouvernement du Canada, la Chine n’a toujours pas fourni d’information quant à l’endroit où se trouve le Panchen Lama, ni à son état de sécurité.  Requête au Canada: demander la permission pour des observateurs internationaux de visiter le Panchen Lama et sa famille. 

  • Yeshe Choedron (f): Médecin retraitée de 57 ans, elle fut arrêtée en 2008 après les manifestations de Lhasa, le 14 mars. Le 7 novembre 2008, la Cour intermédiaire populaire de Lhassa l’a condamnée à 15 ans de prison pour avoir donné ‘des informations nuisible à la sécurité et aux intérêts de l’État’ au ‘département de la sécurité de la Dalai-clique’.  Requête au Canada: demander la permission de recevoir des visites familiales.

  • Lobsang Jamyang (Lomik) est un jeune écrivain et moine tibétain. Il a été arrêté par les autorités chinoises le 17 avril 2015 alors qu'il assistait à un cours à son monastère, le monastère de Kirti, à Ngaba, dans l'est du Tibet (CH: Aba Tibetan et Qiang Autonomous Prefecture, province du Sichuan). Il est resté "disparu" pendant un an, et aucune information concernant sa détention n'a été divulguée à sa famille avant le 9 mai 2016, date à laquelle il a été condamné à 7 ans et 6 mois de prison pour "divulgation de secrets d'Etat". "Et" s'engager dans des activités séparatistes ".

  • Tashi Wangchuk (m): Âgé de 31ans, il fut arrêté le 27 janvier 2016, après avoir apparu dans une vidéo du New York Times intitulée “Le route d’un tibétain vers la justice”.  Dans cette vidéo, Wangchuk plaide en faveur des tibétains qui veulent apprendre et étudier dans leur langue maternelle. Il a été condamné en janvier 2017 suite à des accusations d’“incitation au séparatisme” et fait présentement face à une peine de 15 ans. Requête au Canada: demander la permission d’avoir des observateurs au procès de Tashi Wangchuk.

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank