Join our Mailing List

"As long as human rights are violated, there can be no foundation for peace. How can peace grow where speaking the truth is itself a crime?"

CTC urges United Nations to question China's commitment to human rights in Tibet

March 30, 2018

Canada Tibet Committee, March 30, 2018: In a written submission made to the United Nations this week, the Canada Tibet Committee (CTC) highlighted failures by the Government of China to implement commitments it made in 2013 to improve the economic, social, and cultural well-being of the Tibetan people.

The CTC written submission is a contribution to China's third Universal Periodic Review (UPR) currently in the planning phase and scheduled to take place in the fall of 2018.[1]  Each UN member is required to undergo a review of its human rights compliance once every five years.

"It's clear that China's policies in Tibet have failed to deliver on commitments made during the last UPR, including commitments to fight poverty"  said Sherap Therchin, Executive Director of the Canada Tibet Committee.   "As a result, the Tibetan people are struggling to maintain their cultural identity in the face of overwhelming obstacles."

Tibetan areas of China experience the highest levels of poverty in China, according to the UN Development Programme. Within Tibet, rural areas (where the majority of Tibetans live) are the most disadvantaged.[2]  In urban centres, Tibetans are disadvantaged because of discriminatory policies including language policy.
 
In its written submission, the Canada Tibet Committee noted restrictions imposed by the Government of China on human rights monitoring in Tibet, and called for reciprocal diplomatic access for international observers. The submission also included examples of harassment and intimidation of human rights defenders here in Canada.

# # #

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Nous, les Tibétains, aspirons à une autonomie légitime et véritable, un arrangement qui permettrait aux Tibétains de vivre au sein de la République populaire de Chine. »

Le CCT fait appel aux Nations Unies à questionner l’engagement de la Chine envers les droits humains au Tibet

March 30, 2018

Comité Canada Tibet, le 30 mars 2018: Dans une soumission écrite faite aux Nations Unies cette semaine, le Comité Canada Tibet (CCT) a soulevé les échecs du gouvernement chinois d’implémenter les engagements pris en 2013 afin d’améliorer le bien-être économique, social et culturel du peuple tibétain.

La soumission écrite du CCT est une contribution à l’Examen périodique universel, qui est présentement à l’état de planification et censé avoir lieu à l’automne 2018.[1] Chaque membre de l’ONU doit être soumis à un examen de son respect  des droits humains, à tous les cinq ans.

"Il est clair que les politiques chinoises au Tibet n’ont pas eu les résultats promis afin de lutter contre la pauvreté", affirme Sherap Therchin, directeur général du Comité Canada Tibet. "Ainsi, le peuple tibétain doit lutter pour préserver son identité culturelle, devant des obstacles accablants."

Les régions tibétaines de la Chine ont les taux de pauvreté les plus élevés de la Chine, selon le Programme de développement des Nations Unies. Au Tibet, les régions rurales (où vivent la majorité des tibétains) sont les plus désavantagées. [2] Dans les centres urbains, les tibétains sont désavantagés à cause des politiques discriminatoires, incluant les politiques linguistiques.

Dans sa soumission écrite, le Comité Canada Tibet a aussi noté les restrictions imposées par le gouvernement chinois sur les projets d’observation des droits humains au Tibet, et a demandé l’accès diplomatique réciproque pour les observateurs internationaux. La soumission incluait aussi des exemples de harcèlement et d’intimidation des défenseurs des droits humains, ici, au Canada.

# # #

[1]  Pour de l’information sur le déroulement de l’examen périodique universel visitez  http://www.ohchr.org/EN/HRBodies/UPR/Pages/UPRMain.aspx[2]

[2] China Human Development Report, UNDP-China, 2016 http://www.cn.undp.org/content/china/en/home/presscenter/pressreleases/2016/08/22/launch-of-china-national-human-development-report-2016.html

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank