Join our Mailing List

"On my part, I remain committed to the process of dialogue. It is my firm belief that dialogue and a willingness to look with honesty and clarity at the reality of Tibet can lead us to a viable solution."

Canada Tibet Committee "cautiously optimistic" as Tibet delegation appears before Parliamentary Committee

May 08, 2018

Ottawa, May 8, 2018 - The Canada Tibet Committee (CTC) today expressed cautious optimism that the planned testimony by Tibetan representatives of the People's Congress of Tibet Autonomous Region, marks a new openness by the Government of China to engage in constructive dialogue about the situation inside Tibet. 

The Tibet delegation, headed by Deputy Baima Wangdui, will appear before the parliamentary Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Development [1].  Wangdui's testimony is part of a series of meetings organized by the Committee to inform parliamentarians as they prepare a major study on Canada's engagement in Asia.  

As part of its study, the Standing Committee heard testimony last month from CTC spokesperson Carole Samdup [2], and from Ngodup Tsering, Representative of His Holiness the Dalai Lama in North America.  The Standing Committee had also welcomed His Holiness the Dalai Lama - who is an honourary citizen of Canada - on two previous occasions in 1990 and 2004.  

"The CTC welcomes the exchange between Canadian parliamentarians and our countrymen from inside Tibet" said Sherap Therchin, Executive Director of the Canada Tibet Committee. "However, it remains to be seen just how forthcoming these witnesses can actually be, given the realities."

The unprecedented opportunity for Tibetan delegates to speak publicly in Canada's parliament stands in stark contrast to the treatment given to Canadian diplomats in China who face multiple roadblocks when seeking permits to visit Tibet. [3] Tibet remains closed to the international community, including journalists. [4]

# # #

 
[2] CTC testifies before parliamentary committee on foreign affairs, http://tibet.ca/en/library/media_releases/437
[3] Canada must demand reciprocal diplomatic access to Tibet, http://tibet.ca/en/library/media_releases/401
[4] Human Rights Situation in Tibet 2017, Tibetan Centre for Human Rights and Democracy, at http://e.issuu.com/embed.html#33384233/61019923

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Compassion et tolérance ne sont pas des signes de faiblesse mais de force. »

Le Comité Canada Tibet "prudemment optimiste" alors que la délégation du Tibet comparaît devant le Comité parlementaire

May 08, 2018

Le Comité Canada Tibet "prudemment optimiste" alors que la délégation du Tibet comparaît devant le Comité parlementaire Ottawa, le 8 mai 2018 - Le Comité Canada Tibet (CCT) a exprimé aujourd'hui son optimisme prudent sur le fait que le témoignage prévu des représentants tibétains du Congrès du Peuple de la Région Autonome du Tibet marque une nouvelle ouverture du gouvernement chinois à engager un dialogue constructif situation à l'intérieur du Tibet.

La délégation du Tibet, menée par le député Baima Wangdui, comparaîtra devant le Comité parlementaire permanent des affaires étrangères et du développement international [1]. Le témoignage de Wangdui fait partie d'une série de réunions organisées par le Comité pour informer les parlementaires dans la préparation d'une importante étude sur l'engagement du Canada en Asie.

Dans le cadre de son étude, le Comité permanent a entendu le témoignage de Carole Samdup [2], porte-parole du CCT, et de Ngodup Tsering, représentant de Sa Sainteté le Dalaï Lama en Amérique du Nord. Le Comité permanent a également accueilli Sa Sainteté le Dalaï-Lama - qui est un citoyen honoraire du Canada - à deux reprises en 1990 et en 2004.

« Le CCT accueille favorablement les échanges entre les parlementaires canadiens et nos compatriotes au Tibet », a déclaré Sherap Therchin, directeur exécutif du Comité Canada Tibet. « Cependant, il reste à voir l’impact de ces témoignages, compte tenu des réalités. »

L'occasion sans précédent offerte aux délégués tibétains de s'exprimer publiquement au Parlement canadien contraste fortement avec le traitement réservé aux diplomates canadiens en Chine qui font face à de multiples obstacles lorsqu'ils demandent un permis pour visiter le Tibet. [3] Le Tibet reste fermé à la communauté internationale, y compris aux journalistes. [4]

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank