Join our Mailing List

"As long as human rights are violated, there can be no foundation for peace. How can peace grow where speaking the truth is itself a crime?"

Canada Condemns the Sentencing of Tibetan Language Advocate, Tashi Wangchuk

May 24, 2018

Ottawa, May 23, 2018 – In response to the May 22 sentencing of Tibetan language advocate, Mr. Tashi Wangchuck, Canada’s Embassy to China tweeted an unequivocal response, calling upon the Chinese Government to release him ‘immediately and unconditionally’. Canada’s Embassy urged the Chinese government to ‘uphold its own Constitution’, and affirmed Canada’s support for the February 2018 United Nations Special Rapporteurs statement, condemning the detention of Tashi Wangchuk as ‘the criminalisation of linguistic and cultural rights advocacy’ [1][2].

“CTC applauds the Canadian government for its principled position, and its advocacy on behalf of Tashi Wangchuk”, said Mati Bernabei, Vice Chair of the Canada Tibet Committee. “It is deeply alarming that Mr. Wangchuk has been branded a criminal for his efforts to assert Tibetan people’s Constitutional rights to language education and cultural practices.”

Tashi Wangchuck was detained in 2016, following an interview with the New York Times in which he emphasized the importance of Tibetan language education and regional autonomy. On May 22, 2018, in Qinghai Province, he was sentenced to five years in prison for ‘inciting separatism’ [3].

[1] The Embassy of Canada to China’s statement - English: https://twitter.com/CanadaChina/status/999149223437393920
[2] The Embassy of Canada to China’s statement - French: https://twitter.com/CanadaChine/status/999151375501156352
[3] New York Times: https://www.nytimes.com/2018/05/22/world/asia/tibetan-activist-tashi-wangchuk-sentenced.html

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Le Canada peut, dans une atmosphère cordiale et constructive, demander au gouvernement chinois de résoudre la situation du Tibet. »

Le Canada dénonce la condamnation du défenseur de la langue tibétaine Tashi Wangchuk

May 24, 2018

Ottawa, 23 mai 2018 – Suite à la condamnation, le 22 mai, du défenseur de la langue tibétaine, M. Tashi Wangchuck, l’Ambassade du Canada en Chine a affiché sur compte Twitter une déclaration sans équivoque. Dans son tweet, l’Ambassade canadienne demande au gouvernement chinois de le libérer ‘immédiatement et sans conditions’. L’Ambassade du Canada demande aussi au gouvernement chinois de ‘respecter sa propre Constitution’. L’Ambassade déclare aussi que le Canada soutient la déclaration des rapporteurs spéciaux des Nations Unies, faite en février 2018, qui dénonçait la détention de Tashi Wangchuk et la considérait comme un acte de ‘criminalisation de la défense des droits linguistiques et culturels’[1][2].

‘Le Comité Canada Tibet félicite le gouvernement canadien pour sa position basée sur de solides principes, ainsi que pour sa défense de Tashi Wangchuk’, a affirmé Mati Bernabei, vice-présidente du Comité Canada Tibet. ‘Il est très alarmant que M. Wangchuk soit considéré un criminel pour avoir essayé d’assurer les droits du peuple tibétain à l’éducation de leur langue et à leurs pratiques culturelles, qui sont d’ailleurs des droits constitutionnels.’

Tashi Wangchuck a été détenu en 2016, suite à une entrevue pour le New York Times, dans laquelle il soulevait l’importance de l’éducation de la langue tibétaine et de l’autonomie régionale. Le 22 mai 2018, dans la province Qinghai, il a été condamné à 5 ans de prison pour avoir ‘incité au séparatisme’[3].

[1] La déclaration de l’Ambassade du Canada en Chine - en anglais: https://twitter.com/CanadaChina/status/999149223437393920
[2] La déclaration de l’Ambassade du Canada en Chine – en français: https://twitter.com/CanadaChine/status/999151375501156352
[3] Article du New York Times: https://www.nytimes.com/2018/05/22/world/asia/tibetan-activist-tashi-wangchuk-sentenced.html

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank