Join our Mailing List

"Canada can, within a positive friendly atmosphere, ask the Chinese government to resolve the Tibetan situation."

Parliamentary Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Development host Sikyong Dr. Lobsang Sangay in Ottawa

June 12, 2018

Ottawa, June 12th 2018 – The Tibetan political leader, Sikyong Dr Lobsang Sangay and a delegation of Tibetan parliamentaries have appeared today in front of the Canadian Parliament’s Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Development.

The hearing included a presentation by Dr Lobsang Sangay and an extensive question and answer period from the committee members. 

‘This delegation truly represents Tibet’, said Sikyong Dr. Sangay, refering to last week’s hearing of a delegation from the so-called ‘Tibet Autonomous Region’ (TAR), whose remarks were received with skepticism and criticism by the same hearing committee. The previous delegation ‘served as a smoke screen for the grave human rights violations that are going on in Tibet’, he added.

Dr. Sangay mentioned the Freedom House reports ranking Tibet the least free place on earth, after Syria, as well as Reporters without Borders and other official reports, when describing the situation in Tibet.

Given the nature of the commitee, the hearing dealt with the relationship China has with the international community and with Canada in particular. When dealing with China, countries have two choices, argued Dr.Sangay : ‘Transform China to be more like you, or China will transform you to be more like it’. 

The hearing also touched upon Canada’s support in Tibet, through aid and development organizations, in spite of the lack of reciprocity when it comes to access and entry in Tibet, for Canadian officials. 

The hearing also touched upon recent case of Tibetan activist Tashi Wangchuk, and Canada’s overt support for him and his advocacy; the question of Tibetan language and cultural assimilation was addressed. The committee also discussed issues related to religious freedom, the demolition of Larung Gar, the Panchen Lama, and the CCP’s intent to control the reincarnation process in the Tibetan monastic realm. Another subject the committee elaborated on was Tibet’s autonomy. ‘What we seek is support for the Middle Way Approach’, said Dr. Sangay, mentioning that its implementation would only entail the implementation of the Chinese law and Constitution.

‘Tibet is a litmus test for China and for Canada’, Dr. Sangay concluded. It is crucial that ‘money and morals go together and one is not exchanged with the other’, when dealing with China, warned Dr.Sangay.

Sikyong Dr Lobsang Sangay is in Ottawa during a pan-Canadian series of events titled ‘Thank you Canada’. 2018 marks 60 years in exile for the Tibetan diaspora.

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Le Canada peut, dans une atmosphère cordiale et constructive, demander au gouvernement chinois de résoudre la situation du Tibet. »

Le Dr Sikyong Lobsang Sangay et la délégation parlementaire tibétaine comparaissent devant le Comité permanent des affaires étrangères et du développement international du Canada

June 12, 2018

Ottawa, le 12 juin 2018 - Le chef politique tibétain, Sikyong Lobsang Sangay, et une délégation de parlementaires tibétains ont comparu aujourd'hui devant le Comité permanent des affaires étrangères et du développement international du Parlement canadien.

L'audition comprenait une présentation par le Dr Lobsang Sangay et une longue période de questions et réponses des membres du comité.

«Cette délégation représente vraiment le Tibet», a déclaré Sikyong Sangay, évoquant l'audition d'une délégation de la «Région Autonome du Tibet» (RAT) la semaine dernière, dont les remarques ont été accueillies avec scepticisme et critique par le même comité d'audience. La délégation précédente "a servi de paravent aux graves violations des droits de l'homme qui se produisent au Tibet", a-t-il ajouté.

Le Dr Sangay a mentionné que Freedom House rapportait que le Tibet était l'endroit le moins libre du monde, après la Syrie, ainsi que Reporters sans frontières et d'autres rapports officiels, lorsqu'il décrivait la situation au Tibet.

Compte tenu de la nature du comité, l'audience a porté sur les relations que la Chine entretient avec la communauté internationale et avec le Canada en particulier. En traitant avec la Chine, les pays ont deux choix, a déclaré le Dr.Sangay: «Transformer la Chine pour qu'elle ressemble davantage à vous, ou la Chine vous transformera pour qu'elle ressemble davantage à elle».

L'audience a également porté sur le soutien du Canada au Tibet, par l'intermédiaire des organismes d'aide et de développement, malgré le manque de réciprocité en matière d'accès et d'entrée au Tibet pour les responsables canadiens.

L'audience a également abordé le cas récent de l'activiste tibétain Tashi Wangchuk et le soutien manifeste du Canada à son égard et à son plaidoyer; la question de la langue tibétaine et de l'assimilation culturelle a été abordée. Le comité a également discuté de questions liées à la liberté religieuse, à la démolition de Larung Gar, au Panchen Lama et à l'intention du PCC de contrôler le processus de réincarnation dans le royaume monastique tibétain. Un autre sujet sur lequel le comité s'est penché était l'autonomie du Tibet. "Ce que nous recherchons, c'est un soutien à l'approche de la voie du milieu", a déclaré le Dr Sangay, mentionnant que sa mise en œuvre ne ferait qu'impliquer la mise en œuvre de la loi et de la Constitution chinoises.

«Le Tibet est un test décisif pour la Chine et le Canada», a conclu le Dr Sangay. Il est crucial que "l'argent et la morale vont de pair et que l'un ne soit pas échangé avec l'autre", a-t-il averti le Dr.Sangay.

Le Dr Sikyong Lobsang Sangay est à Ottawa au cours d'une série d'événements pancanadiens intitulée «Merci Canada». 2018 marque 60 ans d'exil pour la diaspora tibétaine.

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank